We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Boutique Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #196 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Boutique Hotel Experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Marriott SoHo is a gem. Had a room on 3rd floor above the entrance, and it was still quiet -- even though hotel is located a few blocks from entrance to Holland Tunnel. Anyway, I don't go to New York for the quiet. The room was quite elegant, not much different than the room I had a couple weeks ago at the Ritz Carlton Battery Park. (Also, Marriott SoHo have real hangars, not the anti-theft post kind. And I was relieved there was no free continental breakfast served as that would have ruined the vibe me.) The staff is jovial, concerned, and make one feel quite welcome. Being so close to Ground Zero, I was worried about catching a cab on the morning of the 10th anniversary of 9/11, but one of the staff easily waved one down while others stood on the street still attempting to hail one. But I really had to write because I dashed out of the hotel en route to the airport only to discover at the ticket counter that I'd left my wallet in the safe. Luckily, I had my license on me. From LGA, I immediately called the hotel; the nice person said that they would send it. When I tried to give him my FedEx acct. number, he said, "Oh, we usually just send things left behind on us." That was Sunday. Today is Tuesday, and I belatedly discovered that I'd also left an entire outfit hanging in the closet. Somehow, I didn't worry about it. And a few hours ago, the FedEx man showed up with a package that also contained my clothing. That's service! Thank you, Russell. I am recommending your hotel to everyone I know. P.S. I love the easy accessibility to SoHo, Tribeca, and the Financial district. The subway is 1/2 a block away, too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirenCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    216
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
140
160
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here when dropping my daughter off to NYU dorm this summer. Very easy transportation available with 2 close by subway stops - you could reach many different NY sites with these 2 stops. Hotel was clean and we really appreciated the little refrigerator and in room coffee. We felt safe at night too. Easy walk to Greenwich Village and lots of good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraGlenview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel staff is very welcoming and accommodating. They are attentive to all your needs. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and pillows. There was also a coffee maker and small fridge in the room. The hotel is located close to restaurants and within walking distance of NYU and Washington Square. The hotel price is reasonable by NY standards. We discovered a nearby eatery just a few blocks away called :"Hundred Acres" with the most delicious weekend brunches!!. We will definitely stay in this hotel again when we visit NY.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be best to be further away from street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmarieg056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The staff was great. The hotel is in a great location in soho. Got to stay on the top floor with a great view. And all the rooms have a in room safe big enough for your laptop free of charge. The only negative this I can say about the hotel was that I wish hotel resturant/bar was open a little more than it was. The rooms are a little small but hey it's New York every room in New York is small.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarwuzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I was in NYC dropping off my daughter at NYU, and I was forced to stay two more nights at the Courtyard Soho during the hurricane. To say the staff at this hotel is amazing is an understatement. I have lived down south for 22 years and we have our share of storms. Even though this did not turn out to be a major hurricane (like I am used to), hotels in southern Florida can learn a little something from this staff on how to handle emergencies. They did an incredible job!!! The way they secured the hotel, communicated to us…and to top it off, they were able to maintain Marriott’s excellent customer service. They even went out of there way to provide us with an Italian dinner on Saturday night. I now found my new home when in NYC!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Waiting out hurricane irene at the soho courtyard and couldn't be in a better place right now!!! The staff is so over the top friendly and accommodating. Everything is so organized and there is plenty of communication in prepping us for an emergency situation. The hotel even organized dinner for all the hotel guests--- what a pleasant surprise considering almost everything is shut down in lower manhattan! Definitely always staying here on my future trips! Thank you soho courtyard!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aes1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for our one night in the big city. It was in a great location and the staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds comfy, but there was not enough room for a family of four to move around. However, I've heard that about a lot of NYC hotels. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#341 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing