We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's It All About: Bacharach Reimagined”

New York Theater Workshop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous drama theater and acting workshop of New York City.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What's It All About: Bacharach Reimagined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Saturday matinee on December 21, 2013 was excellent; Kyle Riabko and the cast had the perfect presence and voices for the creative rearranging of Bacharach's wonderful music; the production had gentleness and softness and emotional quality as well as the energetic interpretation of some of the songs - the lighting and scene production was great.

Bacharach music is STILL excellent music!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Top-Quality Intimate Theater Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am a big fan of the New York Theater Workshop. The theater is tiny and the productions are often new and/or experimental. The acting is always top notch and the intimate surroundings make it a special experience. Many of their shows go on to Broadway runs ("Rent", "Once", "Peter and the Starcatchers" for example), where you get to pay a lot more to sit further away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NickFLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrific Production, Terrific Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Saw "Once the Musical" at the New York Theater Workshop, a show now moving to Broadway.

The theater itself is tucked away in the East Village and casts a great show. Can't wait to see this one again when it opens next month!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank vcantante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Little Foxes was SPECTACULAR!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

I went to see Ivo van Hove's production of Lillian Hellman's classic play and the entire production, but especially the acting, was spectacular. For me, THIS is New York Theater, not the tourist-driven entertainment on Broadway. One often takes for granted the amazing, world-class talent resident in the City. The NYTW doesn't. It is a very special place for the development of acting and the craft of theater. I look forward to catching more productions here. I should also mention that the staff of this place is friendly and helpful. I so appreciate that.

Helpful?
1 Thank yucatenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Theater Workshop also viewed

 

Been to New York Theater Workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing