We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for lunch”
Review of Philippe

Philippe
Reserve with OpenTable
Philippe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,050 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Park and Madison Avenues
Transit: Subway Train 4,5, and 6 to 59th Street Stop, N, R, and W to 5th Avenue Stop, and Madison Avenue Bus line.
Description: PHILIPPE is the eponymous restaurant of Chef Philippe Chow, the talented Hong Kong native who helmed Mr. Chow for 25 years before opening his own New York flagship location. Philippe draws upon his classical culinary training, putting his own spin on traditional Chinese cuisine with results that are modern, flavorful and theatrical. The atmosphere at the restaurant is minimalist and stylish, with a devoted nightly following that makes up a virtual "who's who" of the music, media and film industries. Dress code is business casual. The following are not allowed in the dining rooms: baseball hats, jerseys, tank tops, flip flops, gym shorts.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad for lunch”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Fun place with good food. Ambience is nothing to write home about but did I mention it has solid chinese food? The Peking Duck is superb - but takes a while. Good for business or fun or funny business. Good location close enough to walk to from Rock Center and most of mid-town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank StanleyT22761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    55
    19
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An eclectic Asian food experience not to miss!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My friend begged me to eat here while on a business trip together. To be totally honest, I didn't want to. The name made me think it was going to be French cuisine, which I'm not a fan of, but when I read the reviews online I realized it was an Asian dinning experience.

Se magnifique! From the Satay chicken (to die for) to the MR.CHENG'S NOODLES (which are hand-pulled noodles in a veal bean sauce) to the Kung Pao chicken, my taste buds went on a special journey.

Will definitely eat here again, and again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcsmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chinese food with ambiance and class”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My son did all the ordering and he hit the jackpot. Everything was delicious. We had dumplings that were outstanding, steak and brocolli that was so tender and tasty, shrimp in a green sauce was awesome and birthday dessert,,,,unbecoming a chinese restaurant!!
Red velvet cake and chocolate layer chocolate cake...Yum

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLFMHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New York City vacation good friends”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Soooooo, the food and drinks here are good!!! I know why this restaurant has so many guest because you will see a few TMZ celebrities. The peanut sauce is good and can go on everything and make everything taste great!

Helpful?
Thank Winterariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Faux Chinese”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Chinese restaurant with a French name? Seriously? Out of curiosity, I went there when it first opened. It was horrible. I tried it again a few months ago -- got an urge for Chinese food and this was close to where I was. Same conclusion. Our dishes was submerged in or coated with the same-tasting brown or dark sauce. As one who has dined in numerous Chinese restaurant across the US, in London, in Asia, I can attest that this is not authentic Chinese -- I wonder who's doing the cooking in the kitchen. I was hoping to find a very good Chinese restaurant but this was not to be -- sad. Noisy place. I think this place has an identity problem, food-wise and ambience-wise. You can have the same poor quality Chinese elsewhere for a lot less.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MILKONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philippe also viewed

 

Been to Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing