We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious mix”
Review of Zengo

Zengo
Reserve with OpenTable
Zengo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,662 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 40th Street
Transit: 4, 5, 6, 7 & S trains to Grand Central, and 7, B, D, F & V trains to 42nd Street.
Description: Zengo is a sophisticated blend of Latin-Asian styles and flavors. Chef Richard Sandoval, whose accolades include Bon Appétit Restaurateur of the Year and Mexico’s Toque d’Oro, artfully spins Latin-Asian ingredients into beautifully balanced dishes. Light preparations and tasting portions invite sampling and sharing a variety of items. To complement the cuisine, Zengo offers one of the largest collections of tequila and agave-based spirits in the United States. Guests may sample over 400 varieties in the downstairs Tequila Library. Zengo also boasts an extensive list of Latin wines and Japanese sakes, which are best enjoyed at the mezzanine level Wine & Sake Bar. The cocktail menu showcases Latin-Asian classics made with fine spirits and fresh, hand-muddled fruits.
São Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Delicious mix”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Everyone in the table (we were in 6) ordered a different thing and everyone was happy with the food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dricaprado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    95
    32
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the Happy Hour”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The Happy Hour lasts till 8 pm which is very nice. We tried 2 of the flatbreads and dumplings and loved them. Drinks were great and we loved the place so much we stayed for dinner. Great food and service in the bar upstairs.

Helpful?
Thank debsvo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Neighborhood find”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Been living in this neighborhood for years. Zengo probably opened a few years ago, but I never got to come by. This same location has always been a restaurant. That said, hubby and I came for Restaurant Week dinner. Zengo is, as explained to us by our waitress, a bar + restaurant: 3 levels: downstairs is a more clubby (darker) happy hour bar/small plate area; ground floor is the main dining room + upstairs a more 'upscale' bar. We had our dinner on the main dining area. Room has high-ceiling, so it's a bit noisier (or energetic). We saw a lot of people (groups for after-work get-together) doing just appetizers + drinks even in the main dining area. We also a lot of people streaming downstairs...Service was friendly and attentive. Food was also very good - we had salmon ceviche and short rib tamale to start, Korean fried chicken and grilled pork chop; vanilla flan and rice pudding. I don't usually like fried food, but found the fried chicken surprisingly tender and flavorful. Rice pudding was just right: not too sweet or gummy. Had a really good experience. Will return to try regular menu!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MK330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,481 helpful votes
“Great fusion food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good location. Large in-side with multiple floors. Nice bars...with Happy Hour so if you have a reservation at 8, get your drinks and then take them to the table. Fusion Latin/Asian food and the dishes we ordered were all great. So too were the desserts. Like all NY restaurants, its not cheap. We took our son and his friend who was celebrating his birthday and they had a nice candle for him.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EliteTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went to the restaurant last Friday with my boyfriend. We were hoping to do the Restaurant Week menu but found that I'd like to try things that weren't on the Restaurant Week menu so we opted out to normal menu instead. We had a few appetizer instead of main courses and we were full. The portion is decent and enough to feed 2 ppl. The duck and the Thai empanada were my favorite. The staffs were friendly and attentive. our waiter was nice and came by to make sure we are ok. the décor is nice. I think I will return for happy hours soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengo also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Zengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing