We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and absolutely Delicious!!”
Review of Zengo

Zengo
Reserve with OpenTable
Zengo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,734 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Latin, Sushi, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 40th Street
Transit: 4, 5, 6, 7 & S trains to Grand Central, and 7, B, D, F & V trains to 42nd Street.
Description: Zengo is a sophisticated blend of Latin-Asian styles and flavors. Chef Richard Sandoval, whose accolades include Bon Appétit Restaurateur of the Year and Mexico’s Toque d’Oro, artfully spins Latin-Asian ingredients into beautifully balanced dishes. Light preparations and tasting portions invite sampling and sharing a variety of items. To complement the cuisine, Zengo offers one of the largest collections of tequila and agave-based spirits in the United States. Guests may sample over 400 varieties in the downstairs Tequila Library. Zengo also boasts an extensive list of Latin wines and Japanese sakes, which are best enjoyed at the mezzanine level Wine & Sake Bar. The cocktail menu showcases Latin-Asian classics made with fine spirits and fresh, hand-muddled fruits.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fun and absolutely Delicious!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is an amazingly spacious resaturant in which all diners feel private- even big parties as we were. Amazing food that we shared- tapas style. And a superb way to finish a meal by going downstairs to another bar for more drinks and dessert. Great crowd to have an amazing evening!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriH848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    94
    31
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loud Space, Rude Staff, Good Food from Unfocused Menu”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The interior space is quite memorable and cool but it also means the space is really loud. We had to fight 30 minutes for a table even though we had a reservation and the staff was rude and cold. The waiter was warm but totally overworked basically apologized for the fact that everyone else seemed to be a jerk to us. The food was good once we finally got some though small portions made it hard to enjoy them or share them well and the menu seemed to be all over the place. The food was salty even for Latin food, my guess to make you drink more- the drinks were good but overpriced but only in the normal Manhattan overpriced drink way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurabNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I went to Zengo on our last trip to NYC and were extremely impressed. The food was some of the best we have had and we have been all over the country. I've also got to say that the service was great! Our server was very knowledgable and was spot on in recommending our margaritas. We are looking forward to going back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What? I can't hear you?”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you like blasting music, and cold confused food, then you'll love this place! We were a party of 12 and I was pretty disappointed with the food here. We were hoping for a place for conversation, but clearly this wasn't the place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mikul00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
323 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Perfect Blend of Latin-Asian”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The spicy cucumber martini had a unique twist and a great way to start the meal. The appetizers were amazing - especially the duck-diakon tacos. The bibimbap entree was great with a creative twist of an egg on top. I loved the bok choy kimchee! Lots of unique tastes going on at once, and the decor is hip and creative. Don't forget to try some tequilas!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AkronTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengo also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Zengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing