We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for tourists, not good for new yorkers”
Review of Serra Mediterranean Bistro - CLOSED

Serra Mediterranean Bistro
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Madison and 5th Ave.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good for tourists, not good for new yorkers”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is a good restaurant in kind of a weird neighborhood. Its attached to a hotel which one can guess makes up for most of its clientele. Surprisingly the food was VERY good and we really enjoyed our meal. One complaint was that the restaurant was practically empty and yet they still sat us (2 people) right next to another couple of two at one of those tables that are like 5 inches apart. It makes for an awkward dining experience when the restaurant is quiet and you can hear everything the couple next to you is saying.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mestre, Italy
1 review
“Amazingly delicous”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I have been visiting New York from Europe almost four times a year from Italy and I am always trying to explore best Italian food in New York which are thousands to choose from, but very costly. As I am doing at my visits, I took them to dinner to Serra Bistro. (I was recommended from my hotel concierge when I asked "good Italian pasta" although they had a restaurant next to their hotel). Absolutely amazing, my group loved it, most of them had fresh pasta, one of them had a Paella, cooked by order and I had the best Branzino, a local fish from Mediterranean, that I have eaten outside of Italy. And be sure, I travel almost half of the year to almost every continent !!!. The finish was impeccable with a light, very soft Tiramisu accompanied accompanied with a sweet wine, Marchesi Di Barolo. How I remember the name, that's the wine from the region that I was born ;-))

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matteo1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OVERRATED!”
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My husband chose this restaurant for our anniversary celebration because we specifically wanted mediterranean. After reading reviews online, we decided to give it a try. The ambiance and food presentation were nice. However, both of our dishes were bland and my husband's chicken was dry. We definately won't be back.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling1_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Loved the friendly welcome so much we returned the following night.”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This restaurant is quite new. The staff are absolutely wonderful and very attentive. I ate the duck both nights which was amazing. It's really top notch food but quite affordable. It must be good as on the first night we ate there they had a VIP from Cyprus eating there!
Great atmosphere and divine food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Wow - what a great find!”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Together with friends we spent a weeks holiday in Manhattan and this place won hands down for our best restaurant. A great menu, attentive and efficent staff and great food. The Swiss Executive Chef was very happy to walk around and chat with guests after service. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was simply terrific - the price was also very reasonable considering the obvious quality of the food.

Well done to all the staff (especially the friendly and cheery bald headed chap who persuaded us to come in - so sorry we cannot recall your name!) - a very warm welcome, great service and very nice to hear them all say "Cheerio - see you again" on our departure.

Far superior to the nearby Artisanal eating place which we will never visit again as the service there (and value for money) was simply awful by comparison

Helpful?
Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serra Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing