We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food!”
Review of Dos Toros Taqueria

Dos Toros Taqueria
Ranked #1,417 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Fast Food
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Washington D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome Food!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The quesadilla was amazing - who knew that a quesadilla could taste as good as it did? Also, the staff members were very friendly and they made a YouTube video about guacamole. This experience has changed the way I look at the humble quesadilla.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellowfish147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food on the go.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place is a gem, situated near the subway, we found it easily, but it had a buzz about it, the food was really great, the tables were all full, which says something about the restaurant (apparently they have now opened in Lexington Ave- up town)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harryl2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I'm glad I stumbled upon this place”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My friend & I were walking around looking for a place to have lunch when I saw Dos Toros. The place is small, with a few tables & a section facing the street where you can people-watch while you eat. You order up front & take your food to your table. I had their tacos w/ carnitas & hibiscus lemonade. The carnitas were delicious - tender, moist, flavorful with some crispy/toasty bits. Their pico de gallo & guacamole were also very tasty. Their lemonade was refreshing & not too sweet. I also tried my friend's horchata. It was so good it reminded me of the horchata street stands in Mexico. This place is awesome.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 211sear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh and Fun”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My friends and I decided to stop here for a quick dinner one evening and couldn't have been happier! I had the pollo asado plato and my friends both had pollo asado quesadillas. All the ingredients were fresh and tasted great! A few other pluses were the fast service and the sustainability that Dos Toros strives for.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mec17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed...”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Dos Toros Taqueria was feaured in an episode of a local Australian TV show (MasterChef), where it received rave reviews from top Australian chefs and personalities in the food world.

My wife and I visited the Dos Toros on Lexington when we were in NYC on our honeymoon and we were very disappointed.

The service was average (rude and unhelfpul staff) and the food was underwhelming. There was very little meat in the burrito and it tasted like it had been in storage for days, all that we could taste were the beans and the hot sauce had no taste at all.

Perhaps we caught the venue on a bad day, but we would not be in a hurry to return next time we're in NYC.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zionite86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Toros Taqueria also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Dos Toros Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing