We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice atmosphere”

Caroline's Comedy Club
Ranked #24 of 147 Fun & Games in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The original home of such comic luminaries as Jerry Seinfeld, Eddie Murphy and Chris Rock, this is one of New York's most famous stand up comedy clubs.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

A good-quality comedy club right in Times Square. Good performers, very good choice of drinks at the club bar, reasonable prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    69
    34
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Comedians”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The club had excellent comedians, Viera, Lozada, Caamaño, etc... The cover charge and the drinks were reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank IvanPSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great time with our 16-year old son”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It can be tough to get my son to chuckle, let alone belly-laugh for an hour and a half! This was the highlight of his weekend in NYC. Even better than the Professional Bull Riding at MSG the following night.
We saw Alonzo Bodden with Matt Kazam and a great female emcee. We were not familiar with Alonzo, but checked him out on line first. The topics were edgy enough but not horrifyingly inappropriate. We literally split our sides. My son bought DVD/CDs from both after the show.
It was well worth the price. We spent $27 per ticket (at home near Princeton tickets to decent comedy are $20+). We also spent $120 on dinner and drinks for 3 people, including our mandatory 2-drink minimum and tip. We were running late and couldn't get dinner in the city before the show, but I am sure we would have spent over $100, no? We chose skirt steak, chicken parm with pasta, and 2 ceasar salads (huge, one with chicken). All food items were excellent. We would have licked our plates if we could have seen them in the dark. (P.S. Bottled water counts as a drink. We took our unopened bottle back to the hotel).
We arrived 45 mins early for an 8PM show on a Friday night. We were given a number and asked to wait in the bar. When they opened the doors, the called 10 numbers at a time to seat folks in an organized way. While they strongly encouraged us to check our coats, we politely declined (I get cold!).
My son is anxious to return and wants to bring a few pals (can't do comedy back home since you have to be 21 yrs old). Thanks to Alonzo, Matt and Caroline's for such a memorable evening.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank marybcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deceitful. Lots of "Hidden Fees"”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Overall it's a great experience! That being said, they charge you a $27 service fee when you buy tickets online. Then there's a 2 drink minimum pp. It's one thing for tickets to be expensive, but don't say tickets are just $49 and then attack us with crazy charges. Its deceitful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne7576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
697 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“A midtown club with a great atmosphere and great line up.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was hosting a professional networking group so I figured a comedy club and fancy dinner would be perfect. This is a pros only list.

Pros:
1. Comedy clubs are tricky, because a bad comedian can ruin the night. Caroline's is generally a safe bet because the comedians (the headliner I'm speaking about) are normally top tier.
2. We got a package deal and I think that the pricing was very appropriate by NYC standards.
3. The staff was extremely courteous and knowledgeable when both making the reservation and when we were there.
4. The location is great. It is right in midtown which is great if you want to have a proper “NYC Experience”. It is easy to get to by car (Lincoln Tunnel is 15 blocks away) and parking is abundant and even easier via mas transit, you can get off at any of the Times Square stations.

This is a great comedy club, and if you are entertaining, the staff is very helpful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank psudino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Comedy Club also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing