We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great taste but too busy”
Review of Totto Ramen

Totto Ramen
Ranked #262 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
“Great taste but too busy”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

always more than 30 minutes wait, 1 hour wait is very normal. But worth try once in a while if you are a ramen fan

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zikun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    202
    68
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lived up to our expectations”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We waited a hour and a half in line in order to get to Totto Ramen. They checked every once in a while that people on the list are still there and erased those who were not.
When we finally got it we enjoyed a great Ramen.... Just what we needed after a long day...
The place is very small, we sat on the bar

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravitstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Be prepared for a LOOONG wait.. no matter what time of the day you go.. Lunch or Dinner.. but its something different.. tiny restaurant so its best to put your name down as a couple even if you go in a big group as seating is limited.. the food is really good and worth the wait.. i would go again ;-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Korina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've taken to submitting to my legally wedded spouse for restaurant selection when we travel. His main consideration is cost, and he knows very well my parameters, which are simple: It has to be good, and it has to have at least a little cachet. So when he said we were going to a ramen place for dinner before the show, I developed a picture. I envisioned some dive with bad, buzzing fluorescents and hello kitties everywhere, with tables lined up like a school cafeteria and those everlasting black-lacquered chairs found in every Oriental restaurant. (Yes, it's still OK to say "Oriental" when describing food and furniture.) When we turned the corner and I saw the pile of people hanging around outside this cavelike joint, my picture changed. Yes, this was cachet. This place had a buzz about it, and not from bad fluorescents. I savored the scents and giggled at the host's butchering of names as he hollered at the waiting throngs; e.g., "Molly Ah" for "Maria." When he called for us (can't mess up "Mason"), we were led to two seats at the counter, the equivalent of orchestra level. We could watch the entire meal unfold before us, from this tiny space, magically, methodically, art in the making. The pork belly appetizer was orgasmic. Then the bowl of ramen, with its thicker-than-expected reddish brown broth, tender chicken, fresh shrimp, various vegetables, and untold spices. A glass of sake just set it off. Watching these craftsmen yell orders, take orders, cook, and serve this deliciously mysterious goulash was sheer entertainment. My parameters were exceeded and my LWS was happy with the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vanenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“definitely one of the top ramen-ya in nyc”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

FIRST thing to DO when you get there -- SIGN up at the door! and expect to wait 30 - 60 mins wait for the privilege. the rich chicken soup broth is cooked and simmered for up to 6 hours and the flavor is simply amazing. go for the original chicken paitan ramen and you will not regret it. service staff is friendly and efficient, the only 'complaint' -- limited seating capacity (only 20 seats).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jafojaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Totto Ramen also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Totto Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing