We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great broth”
Review of Totto Ramen

Totto Ramen
Ranked #260 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Midtown
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great broth”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I waited for 30-40 minutes to sit at the counter. I tried the paitan broth with chicken slices and pork and extra mushroom, bamboo and poached and boiled egg. The broth is sweet and tasty and would have been too overpowering if I didn't order the extras.
In my opinion, the char siu pork could have been sliced thinner to get softer meat and not taste too fatty. The chicken was average.
The boiled egg was done just right where the yolk is soft and gelatinous.
The food comes out quick so if you spend your waiting time looking at the menu, it's more efficient.
Broth 10/10
Meat 6/10
Egg 10/10
Would definitely go there again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    205
    70
    15
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Long wait but great noodles”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I waited 1 hour to eat the noodles. It was more of a curiosity as we saw so many people waited to get a taste of the noodles. Although the long wait and cramp spaces were negatives, the Spicy Ramen and the Miso Ramen were very good. There was not a drop of soup left in our bowls. We also ordered pork buns and that was good but the noodles are the highlight. This is not a place for romantic long dinners but foodies who just love great ramen despite the conditions. Make sure you write you name on the list and be there when they call your name.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheemengtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“over-rated.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

You'd think with 40-50 people lined up and a 2 hour wait this place would be good? Well, after your 2 hour wait in the cold, shoulder to shoulder with 50 other people, you'll find the Ramen isn't worth waiting for.

Taste isn't bad, but not worth a 2 hour wait. If there was no line, I'd be up for it, but really, 2 hours?!

Ramen is a chicken broth. Porn was tough and overcooked. Otherwise ok! But again, don't wait 2 hours!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Totto ramen. New York, NY”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The real thing...small about the size of a subway car, authentic ramen. No reservations, always a line and you'll see why.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Best Ramen ever had in NYC”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Me and my friend wait for the table for almost an hour. And that was our third time stopped by. Finally we got to taste it. It was a really tinny space which is about 15 people capacity. People who were waiting outside were more than 20 usually. The took the order really fast and it came really fast. It was really tasty and really strong favor. it is definitely worth trying.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Totto Ramen also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Totto Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing