We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it is not worth it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Ranked #113 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“it is not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in Cassa Hotel & Residences on our first trip to NY last November. We arrived around 3pm, the room was not ready. The staff at the front desk was rude and not welcoming. We left our luggage in reception and went for a walk around the area. They were supposed to call us as soon they had the room ready. After 4 hours and no phone call, (7pm) we went back to the hotel and learnt that the room WAS NOT READY. We were tired, had an 8 hours flight from UK and wanted to have a shower. The receptionist checked us in with the room NOT READY. The bed without linen, only one towel... Really????? Their excuse: we had problem with the linen company. Is that customer service? Obviously we were not happy. Due to the inconvenience the receptionist on shift gave us complimentary breakfast for the whole stay.

Pros: the location of the hotel.
Cons: The price-quality IS NOT WORTH IT. The bed and wardrobe are small. The breakfast is overpriced. The front desk staff is not friendly.

Conclusion: We are not going to return again. So bad Cassa, so bad...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MeryAcevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. As you stayed with us many months prior to the time I have started I can say that we are working very hard to improve the hotel in all areas. As the more recent guests can testify by the posts on this page, it does not appear you will have the same stay next time. Please let me know when you are coming to NY again so I may personally oversee your booking.

Regards,
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    648
    174
    34
    35
See reviews for
255
994
115
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The traveler pictures attached to the reviews are spot on. I found the room impeccably clean, unbelievably quiet - I never heard anyone, just a few distant sounds of horns, the flat screen TV was so big I didn't even need my glasses!, the walk-in shower (no tub) was huge with both the rain shower head and a hand held device and lots of hot water, the beds were fine, a bit soft for my taste, but others will probably love them. The size of the room for a single business traveler is just fine. I think if it's two people traveling, my room might have been a bit small, even though it had two beds. And the big downside for someone staying several days - storage space; the closet was small and set up such that you hang your clothes at the top and then the frig, etc. is in the bottom (though I will say I think this is the first hotel I've been in that had an umbrella in the closet), and there's no dresser (there is a desk) or any place to store your suitcase. But I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to at least business travelers who only need a night or two. If you're a couple or family, you should check with the hotel on the room size before booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msdetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laboy70, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! We do appreciate honest testimony! We look forward wot having you back with us again soon!
Regards,
Troy Pade
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Cassa as part of a Big Birthday trip to NYC recently. We were upgraded upon arrival and found a lovely bottle of wine and a personal handwritten congratulatory note in our room the day of the Birthday. I had also asked the staff if they could help me to decorate the room with some ballooons, banners etc. to surprise my partner on his Birthday which they did to perfection and this was no problem at all! The room was very comfortable, with the bed also very comfortable and there was no shortage of really good quality toiletries each day. We availed of the free wi-fi in the Lounge and found all of the staff consistently really pleasant and they couldn't help enough. A nice touch would be to perhaps add a tea/coffee making facility as I felt this was missing (it may be more of a European thing) Renovations are currently taking place so there was limited scope to enjoy a drink in the evening but when the new restaurant opens and the renovations finish that will all be resolved. We really enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay at this hotel again-thanks for a really enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSunshine902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nari S, Guest Relations Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello MissSunshine902, Thank you very much for all your kind words! I’m very happy to hear we were able to help so perfectly with your birthday celebration. I’m really excited for our restaurant coming soon! It’s really just around the corner! Just so you know, we do have tea and coffee service for the rooms available upon request. Please stay with again and if you are celebrating something again let us know! We love celebrating something with our guests. All the best - Nari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went here for 8 nights and it was our 4th time in NY. Great hotel and would definitily book here again. Espescialy for NY the rooms are spacious. The service is great and everybody is very frienly en helpful. In april they finish a beautiful space for breakfast en dinner. Also a place to sit outside. The location is very central en al lot of subwaystations are nearby.
Recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nari S, Guest Relations Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello satc1972, Thank you for pointing out the upcoming restaurant! I’m very excited for it as well and the courtyard is one of my personal most anticipated developments. Cross our fingers for April! You will have to come visit us again when it’s all done. All the best- Nari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Cassa was fabulous, perfect location very central to everything, rooms lovely and clean, concierge could not be more helpful, breakfast was lovely on the one day we ate at the hotel, they also very kindly upgraded us to suites as the trip was for our sons 18th birthday and they left him chocolates and a very personal hand-written birthday card which was a nice touch - cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nari S, Guest Relations Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello Thedarts, Thank you for your comments! I’m glad you had a good experience for your son’s birthday. We love doing extra things for special occasions. Please let us know the next time you are in our beautiful city! All the best - Nari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was a great stay, easy check in and polite staff. The room was large by my previous NY standards the bathroom was shower only but was adequate. I would be happy to stay there again. The hotel is very conveniently located within walking distance to MoMa, Hells Kitchen, Grand Central Station and Times Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalExplorerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nari S, Guest Relations Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello RegularBusTraveller, Thank you for your review. I’m glad you had a good and convenient stay. Please stay with us again! All the best - Nari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very Clean rooms, perfect size for what you need, walking distance to everything, very helpful staff, comfortable beds, and an amazing shower (nonstop hot water)...What more do you need?? I looked for days for the perfect hotel for what we needed for a fun getaway... I was very happy and pleased with Cassa Hotel. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nari S, Guest Relations Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello Carmen C, Thank you for your lovely comments! Rain showers are amazing, right? We would love to have you again, also. All the best - Nari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Property: Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Address: 70 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in in the heart of Midtown, New York City's most popular location, this boutique hotel provides you with an entrée to the best the city has to offer and is just steps away from prime 5th Ave shopping and Times Square. Ideal for any lifestyle, Cassa New York bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to create a memorable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing