We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great (executive) rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Ranked #114 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Perfect location, in the heart of the city, really close to Times Square, subway and numerous landmarks. Really friendly staff. We paid an upgrade for an executive room with a very comfortable king-size bed. The room was simply perfect: good size, clean, newly decorated, big flatscreen tv, iPod dock, small desk, etc. Almost no noise from the street or the airco. The bathroom had recently been refurbished, it was clean with all necessary equipment and had a great rain shower.
Only one bad point in this hotel. Wi-Fi comes at 10$ a day per device, which we knew, but it is in-credibly slow!! There is free internet on the 10th floor, but there as well, internet is extremely slow (and the lounge horribly smells of baked bacon and eggs). You can pay an extra 5$ for faster internet, but 15$ a day per device in a 360$ per night room is unacceptable in 2012!
Tip: every morning we went to the Prêt-à-Manger restaurant next door for (good!) breakfast and for free, high-speed internet.
But if you don't mind the internet, this hotel is the perfect spot for your NY stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hello Busy L. Thank you for the comments! Our executive rooms are one of our best! I’m sorry the wifi was so slow for you. I have talked with our tech people and will have that issue resolved soon. Best Wishes - Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is close to theatres shops and restaurants. High floors are quiet rooms can be a little small but inNY you do not spend time in the room Will be better when the restaurant opens. Close to the subway stations for easy travel

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello clause64. Yes, we are highly anticipating when our restaurant opens. Please come back and see us then! Best Wishes - Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great location just a block from times square. Our room was clean & modern, small, but we expected that in NYC. Staff were friendly, welcoming & helpful.

Our only complaint, they charged extra for wi-fi. After paying about $250/night, we felt this was petty. They wanted $10/day per device. With two cell phones & an iPad, it would have been $30/day for 7 days. Thankfully one of the front desk staff agreed to charge us just $10/day. There was also a lot of fooling around connecting to the wi-fi each time we used it.

Overall, we'd recommend the hotel but ask about wi-fi charges when you book.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Hello Mappie. Thank you for the comments. Our staff is definitely our crowning feature here, so I appreciate for pointing them out. As far as the wifi, we do have complimentary wifi available on the 10th floor. Best Wishes - Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I only stayed here for one night with my boyfriend, but it was very relaxing. Amidst the hustle and bustle of Times Square, it was the perfect place to wind down at night. Very clean, and such a comfortable bed! We made the mistake of dragging two big suitcases (each) to get there, and even though it's less than a 10 minute walk from Times Square, it was definitely a workout. The staff were nice. The porter even arranged for us to take someone else's personal transportation when we were running late to the airport (taxis all have a switchover around 3-4pm so most won't take you somewhere far away unless you leave much earlier).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello Laura F! Thank you for your comments! The nice thing about being a relatively new construction is that we made sure to have very good windows to muffle the street noise. But we are also very lucky to be just out of range of the worst of the noise coming from Times Square. Please come back and stay with us again! Best Wishes - Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My girlfriend came in from out of town and due to Hurricane Sandy, my place was not ready for company.

In a rush, I booked through Hotwire and got this hotel for 1 night. Before checking in I read the reviews on the hotel. I was hoping for the best and expecting the worst.

I had a great experience. The front desk staff was polite and spoke every time they saw me in the lobby.

The room was a nice size...I'm from NY...space is limited EVERYWHERE. I loved the decor. The location is great for sightseeing.

I'm not sure what the price of a room if booked through the hotel but I would definitely recommend this hotel.

I'm planning on making another reservation at this hotel for a romantic night in the city with my partner in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hostess216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello Hostess216. Thank you very much for your review. The hurricane threw a lot of people off including us but we were lucky it worked out in the end. We would love to help you plan a romantic “vacation”! Please give us a call and we can see what we can do for you. There are definitely sales going on right now you should definitely take advantage of! Best Wishes - Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here for just under a week after Hurricane Sandy. The staff was great and I had no problems. I was really surprised how nice the hotel was for the price paid. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The only problem was that it seems that someone who was in my room changed the combination to my luggage while they were servicing the room. Other then this prank, I would highly recommend this hotel, but make sure after you open your locked luggage, you spin the dials so the jokester can not do this to you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somuchtravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear somuchtravel999 - thank you for your positive review, albeit with a new and interesting twist. This is definitely a first - I don’t even know how to change the combinations on my own luggage locks. But we’ll follow up on who serviced your room and see what we can find out - we have a great staff, and I haven’t come across any jokesters yet. Please call us again on your next visit to NYC - I’ll personally ensure you have the wonderful time you expect and deserve, and that you leave with the same luggage lock combination with which you arrived! Best wishes - Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because I could not travel to Louisville due to the hurricane Sandy. Just for one night and it was enough.
The hotel is very moderne but so cold and indifferent! You come in and out and nobody notices you!
The room is so cold and the bed so small that it is almost impossible that two normal persons can sleep on it!
The location is good but there are so many options around with prices off the same range!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clara50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hello clara50. Thank you for your comments. Hurricane Sandy was a huge disruption to everything normal in NYC, especially on the 31st (the second day after the hurricane, when our Internet and phones went down), and to be quite frank, your review surprises me since we pride ourselves on our friendly staff. My only response is that I am sorry you felt a cold response from us and assure you that if you would give us another chance next time you are in New York, we will be sure to crank up the heat in our interactions with you. Best Wishes - Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#125 of 469 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,806 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#98 of 469 in New York City
843 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 469 in New York City
1,080 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Address: 70 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $198 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in in the heart of Midtown, New York City's most popular location, this boutique hotel provides you with an entrée to the best the city has to offer and is just steps away from prime 5th Ave shopping and Times Square. Ideal for any lifestyle, Cassa New York bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to create a memorable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing