We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Watch the extra wi-fi charges.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Ranked #113 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great location. Watch the extra wi-fi charges.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great location just a block from times square. Our room was clean & modern, small, but we expected that in NYC. Staff were friendly, welcoming & helpful.

Our only complaint, they charged extra for wi-fi. After paying about $250/night, we felt this was petty. They wanted $10/day per device. With two cell phones & an iPad, it would have been $30/day for 7 days. Thankfully one of the front desk staff agreed to charge us just $10/day. There was also a lot of fooling around connecting to the wi-fi each time we used it.

Overall, we'd recommend the hotel but ask about wi-fi charges when you book.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hello Mappie. Thank you for the comments. Our staff is definitely our crowning feature here, so I appreciate for pointing them out. As far as the wifi, we do have complimentary wifi available on the 10th floor. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    650
    174
    34
    35
See reviews for
256
994
116
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I only stayed here for one night with my boyfriend, but it was very relaxing. Amidst the hustle and bustle of Times Square, it was the perfect place to wind down at night. Very clean, and such a comfortable bed! We made the mistake of dragging two big suitcases (each) to get there, and even though it's less than a 10 minute walk from Times Square, it was definitely a workout. The staff were nice. The porter even arranged for us to take someone else's personal transportation when we were running late to the airport (taxis all have a switchover around 3-4pm so most won't take you somewhere far away unless you leave much earlier).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Laura F! Thank you for your comments! The nice thing about being a relatively new construction is that we made sure to have very good windows to muffle the street noise. But we are also very lucky to be just out of range of the worst of the noise coming from Times Square. Please come back and stay with us again! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My girlfriend came in from out of town and due to Hurricane Sandy, my place was not ready for company.

In a rush, I booked through Hotwire and got this hotel for 1 night. Before checking in I read the reviews on the hotel. I was hoping for the best and expecting the worst.

I had a great experience. The front desk staff was polite and spoke every time they saw me in the lobby.

The room was a nice size...I'm from NY...space is limited EVERYWHERE. I loved the decor. The location is great for sightseeing.

I'm not sure what the price of a room if booked through the hotel but I would definitely recommend this hotel.

I'm planning on making another reservation at this hotel for a romantic night in the city with my partner in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostess216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Hostess216. Thank you very much for your review. The hurricane threw a lot of people off including us but we were lucky it worked out in the end. We would love to help you plan a romantic “vacation”! Please give us a call and we can see what we can do for you. There are definitely sales going on right now you should definitely take advantage of! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here for just under a week after Hurricane Sandy. The staff was great and I had no problems. I was really surprised how nice the hotel was for the price paid. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The only problem was that it seems that someone who was in my room changed the combination to my luggage while they were servicing the room. Other then this prank, I would highly recommend this hotel, but make sure after you open your locked luggage, you spin the dials so the jokester can not do this to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somuchtravel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear somuchtravel999 - thank you for your positive review, albeit with a new and interesting twist. This is definitely a first - I don’t even know how to change the combinations on my own luggage locks. But we’ll follow up on who serviced your room and see what we can find out - we have a great staff, and I haven’t come across any jokesters yet. Please call us again on your next visit to NYC - I’ll personally ensure you have the wonderful time you expect and deserve, and that you leave with the same luggage lock combination with which you arrived! Best wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because I could not travel to Louisville due to the hurricane Sandy. Just for one night and it was enough.
The hotel is very moderne but so cold and indifferent! You come in and out and nobody notices you!
The room is so cold and the bed so small that it is almost impossible that two normal persons can sleep on it!
The location is good but there are so many options around with prices off the same range!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clara50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello clara50. Thank you for your comments. Hurricane Sandy was a huge disruption to everything normal in NYC, especially on the 31st (the second day after the hurricane, when our Internet and phones went down), and to be quite frank, your review surprises me since we pride ourselves on our friendly staff. My only response is that I am sorry you felt a cold response from us and assure you that if you would give us another chance next time you are in New York, we will be sure to crank up the heat in our interactions with you. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel for a long weekend in NY through Hotwire and highly recommend it. The location is great -- within easy walking distance of Bryant Park, Times Square, Fifth Ave., etc. yet the block that the hotel itself is on is relatively quiet. The rooms are extraordinarily small but this is the case for most NY hotels. The bed was fantastic -- even more comfortable than my bed at home, which I wouldn't have thought possible and the shower was great -- plenty of hot water and strong water pressure. (There was both a large "waterfall" showerhead and a hand-held one.) There were thick, fluffy Frette towel robes (which are on my wishlist now), a large high-def TV, and lovely, helpful staff. Everything was sparkling clean.

Other reviewers have commented that the restaurant hasn't opened yet but this didn't bother us in the least since we like to venture out anyway. There were plenty of cafes within walking distance, including a Pret a Manger next door and a Starbucks on the next block.

We will stay here again on our next visit to NY!

Room Tip: We asked to be upgraded since we were there for a special occasion and they kindly gave us a King-si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scandiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hello Scaniophile! Thank you very much for your comments! We are lucky indeed with our location! Believe me, the fact that we are so close to many subway stops and Grand Central make it much easier for our colleagues as well. And you’re not the only one to want a Frette robe. It was a prize at our last holiday raffle. We would love to have you back! Especially when our restaurant officially opens! Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went to NY for a weekend to visit friends. My buddy and I decided to share a room. We booked through hotwire, looking for a nice fun place that wasn't too expensive but in a good location. Ended up booking at Cassa and were really pleased. We booked a room with a double bed but ended up getting upgraded to a king bed, which was really nice. The room was very compact, NY-style, but lovely. Clean, simple, modern, and well-done. The staff were friendly, helpful, and genuine. The hotel is very streamlined - no grand entryway or lounging area, but who uses those anyway? A few blocks from Times Squar and Port Authority, close to the subway - I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmithKH, General Manager at Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi nld99! Thank you very much for your comments! We love our location and we love our colleagues! We look forward to your next stay with us! Please feel free to give us a call any time for that. Best Wishes - Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York

Property: Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Address: 70 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in in the heart of Midtown, New York City's most popular location, this boutique hotel provides you with an entrée to the best the city has to offer and is just steps away from prime 5th Ave shopping and Times Square. Ideal for any lifestyle, Cassa New York bridges comfortably chic New York City living with intuitive service and signature touches all designed for you to create a memorable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassa Hotel And Residences

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing