We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of SD26 Restaurant & Wine Bar - CLOSED

SD26 Restaurant & Wine Bar
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: E 26th St. Between 5th and Madison Aves.
Transit: 6 train-28th Street Lexington & Park N & R trains-23rd Street Between 5th & Broadway Buses: 5th Ave & Madison Ave.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were two couples for dinner on a Sunday night, and what an enjoyable dining experience it was! To begin, we were brought very thin and very tasty bread sticks, followed by rosemary rolls and focaccia bread. The bottled olive oil on the table was the best olive oil any of ever had; we even asked if we could buy a bottle (the answer was no). For starters, the Uovo in Raviolo is a unique and delicious appetizer. The heirloom tomatoes as well as the assorted cheeses were equally tasty. The dover sole, rib eye steak for two and the scampi grilled in its shell were all prepared perfectly! The desserts were also unique and delicious! Prior to ordering dessert, our waiter brought us each a complimentary glass of Moscato as well as a selection of little dessert cakes. Although pricey, this is a restaurant we will look forward to coming back many times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    47
    30
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
571 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Love a good wine bar”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Whether you sit outside, at the bar or at a table...they are truly delighted you are there. This well known restaurant family has not lost its ability to charm you, feed you and delight you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stylelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classy & Cool SD26”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The initial reason to enter the establishment was to buy one drink in order to use their restroom, but the decor was really nice and the bartender so welcoming and informative that one drink, ended up being 2/3 drinks. But what do you expect from a bartender with so many years of service. Unfortunately I cannot remember his name but he was very professional, warm and sociable and very pleasant and his cocktails were great! He is very knowledgeable about the range of cocktails he had to offer.
The decor my favorite shades/colors- a mixture of black, red, white . Unfortunately I ate just before so didn't get a chance to taste their cuisine- but thats just another reason to go back.

A very cozy spot for two or you and a few friends to lyme. There is also a secluded dining area to the back . Make your self at home with so many areas to choose from to relax, unwind and enjoy a drink or two!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsha-ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Eventi and this restaurant was recommended by the front of house staff.
We just managed to get in without a reservation but we were lucky, make sure you reserve.
It is a very trendy restaurant with quite a small menu but when you study you realise the menu is very carefully selected.
The food was fantastic and the wine incredible.
The service was impeccable and every help was given to select the courses.
It was good to see normal portions and not the usual huge NY portions.
It is busy as a business bar and restaurant but together with us there were lots of families enjoying the atmosphere and food.
Excellent !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marktbu711n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Urban, sophisticated and excellent”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

SD26 continues to serve some of the most innovative and interesting [as well as delicious] Italian food in NYC. They have a very polished, knowledgeable staff who seem to truly love and understand food. There is a well thought out wine list and the best Salumeria [Salami's and cured meats] in the city. The quail and octopus [and as always the egg ravioli] were standouts ! The hip front wine bar is a great place to start the evening with a drink and move into the lovely dining room later. Marissa May the owner, always makes you feel special and truly makes every effort to ensure a good time.
The wine bar is usually a very happening place for a great mix of people!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SD26 Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing