We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and clean slumber in th City!”
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #176 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
York, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Peaceful and clean slumber in th City!”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Had booked this hotel based on the positive comments left by other trip advisor members. Particularly liked the comments regarding how quiet the rooms were. After staying Midtown on 55th and 7th last year, I was keen to see if a peaceful room in New York could be had and it was!

Located in Chinatown on Mulberry Street the hotel is off the main drag which is canal street, good location and straight opposite the park which is so peaceful at night and in the morning. Canal Street is the only downside to staying here as you get hassled daily on the trip to the tube by women selling 'louis, louis' handbags and watches etc. You just have to ignore them and walk past them like a local and they leave you alone.

The hotel room we booked was a twin queen bed with balcony for the 2 of us. The beds were so comfortable and the room was so clean and tidy. Maid service was everyday and the room was stocked with fresh coffee, cups, and towels and the beds changed. In the entire week hat we were there we only heard anambulence once at night which is RARE in NYC! The room was just so peaceful, you wouldn't believe you are staying in the big city, a big plus.

Breakfast was offered at a cafe 2 blocks away but the menu didn't look appetizing so we gave this a miss. WiFi was also offered in the room but did not work where we were - on the 7th floor, only worked in the lobby which was most frustrating.

Front desk staff were happy and friendly particularly the women. We had to stay and extra night because of the snow blizzard and for this they charged us $329 when the rate we got online was $239 which I thought was a tad expensive but they made sure we didn't have to change rooms an added bonus as my fiancé was poorly at the time and this would have been a nightmare.

Checkout was painless however we did order a taxi 3 hours before we needed it and they told us that normally thay need to have 24 hours notice! However they did get a taxi to JFK for us so can't complain.

Overall would recommend if you want somewhere clean, large sized room and peaceful for your trip, get a good deal online tho as it can be a tad expensive if you just rock up. Great access to the subway from Canal for the N and 6 trains uptown to east and west. Would stay here again for the comfort and room size. But don't expect the luxury of a large hotel with a bar and room service - you won't find that here!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocktailess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    234
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
202
177
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Usually have stayed at Hilton ands Hilton family properties. Got an excellent rate $249.00/ night. Located in Chinatown, just a few blocks from Canal Subway. Really nice hotel. Quiet, large rooms with comfy beds and nice linens. Big bathroom, fluffy towels. The staff was very nice and accommodating. We were able to check in at 0900, which was great. Across the street was the park and Chinese community center,so it was very quiet at night. Order a cab to the airport at the front desk, $28.00 flat rate. The driver was very kind and didn't drive like a nut. breakfast down the street was ok, not great. they serve you french fries, not home fries.
Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I have stayed at Mulberry Hotel only for one night but I can say that it was a very comfortable stayng. The staff was very very helpfull, they have provide to call some cars to bring s to the airport and give us lot of informations.
The rooms were very clean and with wonderful view!! The bed was very comfortable and all the structure was clean and new.
I will probably choose this hotel for my next trip in NYC!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailarina81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagnola
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Very pleasant surprise. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was large and very clean. Good location for exploring NY.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montagnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed in Mulberry hotel for only one night. Before that we were staying in an apartment in East village which is the best place to stay during your visit in Manhattan.
We booked the Deluxe Suite which was perfect! Spacious room, very clean with a big balcony overlooking Manhattan. Mulberry is located in Chinatown which means that the area in general is loud but Mulberry street is quiet. The stuff was helpful and they also booked for us a cheap taxi to the airport (cheaper than the yellow cabs). The price was good for Manhattan.
The only thing we didn't like was the breakfast. The breakfast served in a cafe close by in which the stuff is extremely slow, the food is not that good and the variety limited.
Overall we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pellegrina_leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Hotel mulberry was a great base to our trip. We are 3 young women who felt very safe and extremely happy with the Hotel and surrounding location. It was very easy to navigate to most all sightseeing attractions in lower manhattan. The hotel itself was clean and we all slept better than we had in weeks! Thanks hotel Mulberry for helping make our trip one of the best we ever had!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlssg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We went to NYC to attend a family wedding. The rest of the family was staying at the Tribeca Grand, a ten minute walk from the Mulberry, but the cost for the two nights was $350 more than the Mulberry. We spent some time there and did not care for it. It's very dark and at night very noisy with blaring music. We were so delighted with our choice. We were upgraded to a penthouse suite which, while not a suite in the strict sense of the word, was a very large room on the top (13th) floor. We overlooked Columbus Park and delighted in watching the locals do their Tai Chi in the morning. The room and the public areas are immaculate. The hotel is located in Chinatown and at first glance the area looked a bit seedy, but it was really delightful. Mulberry Street is a small one way street and fairly quiet and the only drawback was the difficulty in getting a taxi. Very few passed by the hotel so you really needed to walk a couple of blocks to Canal Street to find any. The staff at the hotel were just delightful. They really went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. We were rather surprised to find that breakfast was included with our stay. There is no restaurant at the hotel but we were given vouchers for a little restaurant a few doors down and were pleased to note the breakfast menu was varied and very complete. There is a little hole in the wall next to the hotel called Tasty Dumplings. 5 large fried dumplings for $1.25 and delicious! The Mulberry Hotel is a little gem (13 floors, 3 rooms per floor) and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#203 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
1,211 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#228 of 468 in New York City
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#46 of 468 in New York City
239 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
575 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#241 of 468 in New York City
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelPower so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing