We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #198 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had some business way downtown near the financial district and found the Hotel Mulberry on this site. Couldn't believe the price and the quality of the rooms in the photos. Turns out it is all true.

We had the penthouse and the room was spacious and the bed was exceptional. The hotel is clean and well-cared for. The location for us that week was perfect being close to city hall and TriBeCa without TriBeCa prices. If you need to be close to Chinatown, the financial district or Ground Zero do not pass up this place.

Downside? A few, but only for people who want and can afford more amenities in New York City.

The breakfast at a restaurant next door as barely passable - but quirky in a funny way and free is free in NYC (or rather, included), even a cup of coffee.

The lobby was serviceable and a little cramped at times, but since most of the other guests at the time we were there were European, everyone was polite.

The decor was basic, but who cares when you have a great bed to crash on.

Trying to get to other parts of New York can be pricey by cab or a little daunting for the non-subway savvy. Closest station a 6-N-R two and half blocks away. Not bad, but not as convenient as other locations in the city.

All in al,l a great place to stay with a real New York flavor from the neighborhood and the good view (park side). Would stay again.

Room Tip: park side if you can afford. not loud and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    210
    33
    10
    9
See reviews for
176
165
13
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location for this hotel in a vibrant part of New York where anyone interested in the Chinese culture or food will love it. Hotel room décor is a bit tired but the bed was excellent. So a reasonably OK 3 star hotel. However their breakfast arrangements seriously let them down. We paid about $300 a night but the best they could do for a breakfast was a voucher to a rubbish café a few doors down. On arriving at this greasy spoon that offered no charm whatever, we were handed a dog-eared plastic covered A4 menu that announced in underlined bold heading that we could choose one cup of either coffee or tea. The breakfast was low quality café style. Our food was served on paper plates and we had eat with plastic knife and fork. We were really disappointed and thought what a way to waste your first morning in New York. Obviously we didn't go back to that cafe so the room rate was even less value. On the basis if the rubbish breakfast, we would not consider returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: The wifi is free but so slow as to be virtually a waste of time. Don't bother paying for views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank highexpectations2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I loved this hotel. Mulberry Street is a short little one way street in a great location in lower Manhattan. I researched quite a few hotels until I came up with this one and it was worth the time. It is a quiet, clean and quality small hotel located on the edge of Chinatown and 2 blocks from Little Italy. Canal Street Shopping and subway are 2 blocks away. Located across the street from Columbus park, I had a nice neighborhood park directly out the front door, where I could go, sit and enjoy the local Asian neighborhood population congregating in a multi use setting. You can watch the kids doing all kinds of urban sports activities, stroll the beautiful shaded walking paths and enjoy local flavor with local entertainment. I always felt safe.
Inside the hotel is a friendly staff, complimentary coffee and complimentary breakfast for 2 people 3 doors down at Mama's Restaurant. Parking was 3 doors down the other direction in a lot where you get a discount for staying at the Mulberry. Unloading luggage was no problem on this quiet one way side street, which you appreciate if you know how impossible other streets can be to pull over and unload.
The first night we walked 2 blocks to Little Italy and wandered down the main street until we found the perfect al fresco dining spot. It was easy to bring our leftovers home to the hotel room which had a refrigerator. The next night we walked around Chinatown which has many options and choices for your taste buds. The bed was amazingly comfortable, had nice pillows, quiet and easy to regulated climate control and free wifi. Really everything we needed. Bathroom was clean with a nice shower with plenty of water pressure. It was a quiet hotel in a perfect location and a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeesaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The four of us, three adults and 1 teen stayed here for five nights. The location is great if you like Chinatown. The African Burial Ground, Brooklyn Bridge, and Little Italy are quite close. I picked this hotel because of the trip advisor reviews and my love for Chinese food. I understand that hotel accommodations are expensive in a Manhattan, but for what I was paying for each night, I didn't expect these oversights. The curtains are sheer, bring an eye mask if you're sensitive to light because the street lamps are right outside. The mattress isn't covered with anything other than a single sheer bed sheet, kinda gross at a hotel. They should get mattress covers. Wifi on the third floor was very weak and only worked in a certain part of the room. The view from the third floor was disappointing and not worth the extra money each night. In fact, people in the park below had a good view of us in our room! Breakfast is good, water pressure is fine, the neighborhood is safe, and staff is professional.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank campasianspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We chose this hotel mainly to be away from the main tourist areas but still be in an interesting location. It certainly didn't disappoint. Chinatown, Little Italy and the Financial District are all within easy walking distance and the park where the hotel is situated is extremely quiet and safe at night. During the day the park is a meeting place for the local Chinese community where they practice chi-gong, make music and play board games.
The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms bigger than expected and the staff very helpful and friendly. Nor will it bust your budget!
For a first-time New York visitor, it is maybe a bit out of the way but for someone wanting to get to know the city a bit better, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Pay just a little bit more for a room with a park view. From the 10th floor it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

A fantastic property for the price within walking distance from chinatown, little italy and ground zero. Not only was the price cheaper than most of the major chains, the rooms were much cleaner and just as comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Ahh I'm so glad I chose to stay at this hotel. First time in nyc, and it was a girls trip! We were kinda nervous since we didn't know what to expect, but this hotel was in the perfect location. Felt safe and the rooms/bathrooms were so nice and clean. Breakfast spot was definitely a plus. Front desk hospitality was flawless. Whenever i go back to nyc I'm pretty sure this is going to be my go to hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukaina93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#97 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#241 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
Chinatown
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
#204 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Financial District
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaport Inn Do...
#196 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Chinatown
SoHo Garden Hotel
SoHo Garden Hotel
#369 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing