We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mulberry-Small Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #192 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hotel Mulberry-Small Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I loved this hotel. Mulberry Street is a short little one way street in a great location in lower Manhattan. I researched quite a few hotels until I came up with this one and it was worth the time. It is a quiet, clean and quality small hotel located on the edge of Chinatown and 2 blocks from Little Italy. Canal Street Shopping and subway are 2 blocks away. Located across the street from Columbus park, I had a nice neighborhood park directly out the front door, where I could go, sit and enjoy the local Asian neighborhood population congregating in a multi use setting. You can watch the kids doing all kinds of urban sports activities, stroll the beautiful shaded walking paths and enjoy local flavor with local entertainment. I always felt safe.
Inside the hotel is a friendly staff, complimentary coffee and complimentary breakfast for 2 people 3 doors down at Mama's Restaurant. Parking was 3 doors down the other direction in a lot where you get a discount for staying at the Mulberry. Unloading luggage was no problem on this quiet one way side street, which you appreciate if you know how impossible other streets can be to pull over and unload.
The first night we walked 2 blocks to Little Italy and wandered down the main street until we found the perfect al fresco dining spot. It was easy to bring our leftovers home to the hotel room which had a refrigerator. The next night we walked around Chinatown which has many options and choices for your taste buds. The bed was amazingly comfortable, had nice pillows, quiet and easy to regulated climate control and free wifi. Really everything we needed. Bathroom was clean with a nice shower with plenty of water pressure. It was a quiet hotel in a perfect location and a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeesaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    227
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
195
176
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The four of us, three adults and 1 teen stayed here for five nights. The location is great if you like Chinatown. The African Burial Ground, Brooklyn Bridge, and Little Italy are quite close. I picked this hotel because of the trip advisor reviews and my love for Chinese food. I understand that hotel accommodations are expensive in a Manhattan, but for what I was paying for each night, I didn't expect these oversights. The curtains are sheer, bring an eye mask if you're sensitive to light because the street lamps are right outside. The mattress isn't covered with anything other than a single sheer bed sheet, kinda gross at a hotel. They should get mattress covers. Wifi on the third floor was very weak and only worked in a certain part of the room. The view from the third floor was disappointing and not worth the extra money each night. In fact, people in the park below had a good view of us in our room! Breakfast is good, water pressure is fine, the neighborhood is safe, and staff is professional.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank campasianspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We chose this hotel mainly to be away from the main tourist areas but still be in an interesting location. It certainly didn't disappoint. Chinatown, Little Italy and the Financial District are all within easy walking distance and the park where the hotel is situated is extremely quiet and safe at night. During the day the park is a meeting place for the local Chinese community where they practice chi-gong, make music and play board games.
The hotel itself is very clean, the rooms bigger than expected and the staff very helpful and friendly. Nor will it bust your budget!
For a first-time New York visitor, it is maybe a bit out of the way but for someone wanting to get to know the city a bit better, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Pay just a little bit more for a room with a park view. From the 10th floor it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

A fantastic property for the price within walking distance from chinatown, little italy and ground zero. Not only was the price cheaper than most of the major chains, the rooms were much cleaner and just as comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Ahh I'm so glad I chose to stay at this hotel. First time in nyc, and it was a girls trip! We were kinda nervous since we didn't know what to expect, but this hotel was in the perfect location. Felt safe and the rooms/bathrooms were so nice and clean. Breakfast spot was definitely a plus. Front desk hospitality was flawless. Whenever i go back to nyc I'm pretty sure this is going to be my go to hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sukaina93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is on a small street in Chinatown. Two doors down is a parking garage that is convenient but not included. The hotel and room were very clean. The room held two queen beds so it is not too tiny but not spacious either. The bathroom was very clean and tile was clean which is important. (I hate icky tile) They give you vouchers for free breakfast 2 doors away. They call it "continental" but it was quite a menu: eggs/bacon/toast or a variety of pancakes, or waffles. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micromom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were in the mood for a Saturday & Sunday getaway to NYC to see the sites and our research led us to the Hotel Mulberry. All of the good reviews that they receive are richly deserved. First they're in a great location in the Chinatown & Little Italy area. Very interesting area with great food. Second the staff was extremely polite with great service. We arrived early and they checked our bags for us and offered us the use of the "employees only" restroom. Last, the room was very clean with a great view of Columbus Park and the Freedom Tower. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobboM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing