We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Small, and Convenient”
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #208 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsford
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Clean, Small, and Convenient”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is on a small street in Chinatown. Two doors down is a parking garage that is convenient but not included. The hotel and room were very clean. The room held two queen beds so it is not too tiny but not spacious either. The bathroom was very clean and tile was clean which is important. (I hate icky tile) They give you vouchers for free breakfast 2 doors away. They call it "continental" but it was quite a menu: eggs/bacon/toast or a variety of pancakes, or waffles. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micromom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    236
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
207
181
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were in the mood for a Saturday & Sunday getaway to NYC to see the sites and our research led us to the Hotel Mulberry. All of the good reviews that they receive are richly deserved. First they're in a great location in the Chinatown & Little Italy area. Very interesting area with great food. Second the staff was extremely polite with great service. We arrived early and they checked our bags for us and offered us the use of the "employees only" restroom. Last, the room was very clean with a great view of Columbus Park and the Freedom Tower. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobboM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I used to live in NYC, not too far from the Hotel Mulberry so I've got an attachment to Chinatown and the Lower East Side. But that's not what I chose Hotel Mulberry; I chose it based on room qualities and price. NYC is so full of fleabags on one end and $1,000 a night swank hotels on the other it's really hard to find something in the middle. But that's what Hotel Mulberry does and does well. The Canal Street Subway station is close and you're only 10-15 minutes by cab to most places you'll want to go in NYC so take a former local's advice and stay at the Hotel Mulberry.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony because you will love stepping out and seeing the buildings of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HuggyBearHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

It IS possible to get a beautiful, large hotel room in NYC for under $400. I was attending an event in the Nolita/Tribecca area and had a REALLY hard time finding a place to stay. Little did I know that it was the 5-Borough cycling event on Sunday and every hotel within close distance of Battery Park was booked. I got the last room at Mulberry, room PH1. I laughed when I walked in because it was so amazing. The view over Columbus Park with the new World Trade Center in the background was to die for. The parking garage 4 doors down was very handy. And I especially appreciated the breakfast voucher for the small cafe another 4 doors down in the opposite direction.

It was quiet and comfortable and I loved getting up in the morning, seeing people doing T'ai Chi down in the park. A VERY different NY experience - one definitely worth repeating.

Room Tip: Go for a Penthouse room. PH1 has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Mulberry NYC for a 10-night holiday from London. The hotel was perfect- lovely modern room, friendly staff, and great location for exploring the city. Breakfast at Mamas Eatery a few doors down was also good, with very friendly staff. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting NYC.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MrYousi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

... this is it. We needed an affordable, decent hotel with a room that sleeps four and it had to be away from the tourist district (my rule). We usually end up on the Upper West Side, but this time we chose the Mulberry.

The good: the room was spacious and modern, and it offers free wifi. The service was nice. There's a coffee pot in the room, and free coffee (with real cream) in the lobby, plus each day we received two vouchers for breakfast at a coffee shop a couple of doors down. That place is cozy and friendly and clean and has good service and food. The teenagers loved the French toast.

The mixed: the location. My husband and kids loved being so close to Chinatown. We were also extremely close to Little Italy, which meant cannolis on the way home every night. I felt we were far from the subway, though. And what is a bright and nice street by day is nearly deserted at night. I came home alone at about 10 and felt uncomfortable during the couple-of-blocks walk from Canal, although I had no problems.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Mulberry shortly after it opened with my daughter for a mother/daughter weekend. I have to say it was the best hotel I've stayed in in NYC. We had a double room which wasn't super big, but certainly bigger than most in the city. We had a terrace overlooking the park which was fabulous. Nice to watch the neighborhood comings and goings throughout the day.

I loved the neighborhood -- Chinatown with Little Italy a couple of blocks up. We happened to be there during the Feast of SAN GENNARO in September which was kind of dreamy. Lots of food booths and outside eating and neighborhood people. Made us feel like we were part of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#200 of 466 in New York City
388 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 466 in New York City
1,245 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#46 of 466 in New York City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#238 of 466 in New York City
1,937 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#244 of 466 in New York City
357 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing