We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but expensive hotel deep in Chinatown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #192 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive hotel deep in Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay here with my family for a week or so in May 2013. The room we got was large and also a requirement for us since we traveled with a very active little toddler. Superb beds and and excellent location, just a 5min stroll from the nearest Metro. Very close to Little Italy as well, with a plethore of nice restaurants. Complimente!

The wifi connection in our room, room 602, was REALLY bad and couldn't be rectified during our stay. The router was placed in the roof behind a concrete slab so we could very well see the reason for this. Reception while waiting for the elevator was excellent!

The hotel is a bit on the pricey side, but definitely worth it for the location.

I have no problem recommending the Mulberry Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kknive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mulberry, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent review we really appreciate it. We apologize for the complientary WiFi connection. We tried our best to put the router at a location where everyroom can experience the WiFi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    224
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
191
176
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel provided a great “comfort zone” for our adventure in the City for Memorial Day weekend. Located in Chinatown close to Little Italy, there is a lot to see and do nearby. With a Metro station 2 blocks away, we could quickly and efficiently get anywhere we wanted to go. From a Broadway Play to the Staten Island Ferry, we did see a lot and always enjoyed getting beck to our clean and comfortable room at the Hotel Mulberry.

The best parts were the view from our Penthouse room and the comfortable bed.

Room Tip: The view from the PH01 room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg4surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

For a hotel near downton Manhattan, Hotel Mulberry has really large rooms and comfy beds. The decor is a little mismatched, but the rooms are clean and pleasant to stay in. Our room had a nice view of the park and we could see people doing their morning exercises daily. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast for 2. The breakfast is alright, eggs, toast, fries, but could offer healthier options as part of the complimentary breakfast. Service is good and people are friendly, though you are more likely to feel like you are in Hong Kong instead of downton Manhattan. It's quite near the Canal Street Station, which is just a 4-stop ride via the Q train to Times Square.

Only thing, because it's Chinatown (nothing really to do with the hotel), the area is not really clean. The smell of rotting fish and rats will probably welcome you on your way back in the evenings as you walk back from the Subway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I selected this hotel to be away from the madness of midtown. Located in the heart of Chinatown, across from Columbus Park, this hotel is a true gem. The location is also convenient to Little Italy and Soho, as well as to the subway with access to all parts of the city. In addition, my family and I felt safe particularly given the hotel’s proximity to the courthouse. You can expect to see many NYPD Officers. The room itself was clean, attractive, and well-stocked with the usual standards. The beds were exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was included at Mamas, four doors down from the hotel. Guests can select set items from the menu. Another attribute of the hotel is that it is close to many attractions, especially the Freedom Tower (we had a great view from the 10th floor, and our balcony was fantastic). The price was reasonable for NYC. In closing, the staff really made the stay memorable. They were service-oriented and accommodating in every way. Thanks!

Room Tip: Select a room on a higher floor with a terrace facing Columbus park, even if you have to pay extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GladT0BeHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a quite new/renovated hotel in Chinatown just across Columbus Park. We got a nice room on the 10th floor with a wonderful view of the city and Columbus Park. Every morning you could see the chinese ladies doing their tai-chi.

Clean room, nice beds and a nice bathroom added to the great room experience. Breakfast was served next door at the cafe called Mama's. For breakfast you hade several option and it tasted good.

The location in China town is very nice and with short distance to Lower East Side and East Village. The subway in canal street is just 2 mins away from the hotel.

Polite and helpful staff at the front desk helped us when needed.

Only con was the price, but this is general for New York-hotels, I guess.

Room Tip: From 5th floor and up facing Columbus Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arild S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is right in Chinatown. In fact, in the morning I looked outside and saw a group of elderly people performing tai chi moves! I felt safe, which was the most important aspect in selecting a hotel in the City. The room itself was clean, attractive and stocked with standard items (blow-drier, coffee/tea in room, shampoo, soap, conditioner, lotion, extra towels, pad and pen, and a safe). Breakfast was included. We had to go four doors down to a luncheonette-type place where, as hotel guests, could select certain items from their menu. The list had at least 10 choices and the food was very good. It was close to many attractions, especially the Freedom Tower, and the price was very reasonable for NYC, especially since I wasn't able to book far in advance as I usually do. The only down side was that in the morning I could hear other guests, but I felt bad because I was travelling with my mother and she was talking louder than they were!!

Room Tip: I was on the third floor overlooking Columbus Park; I liked seeing the activity there. The third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry33753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is well located, close to few metro station and it is clean with nice view. Nothing special but you are in a safe quarter and you can reach most of the Manhattan attraction with the Metro. Breakfast does not have too much choice but, ok.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view, are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniele2667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing