We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #178 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hotel is right in Chinatown. In fact, in the morning I looked outside and saw a group of elderly people performing tai chi moves! I felt safe, which was the most important aspect in selecting a hotel in the City. The room itself was clean, attractive and stocked with standard items (blow-drier, coffee/tea in room, shampoo, soap, conditioner, lotion, extra towels, pad and pen, and a safe). Breakfast was included. We had to go four doors down to a luncheonette-type place where, as hotel guests, could select certain items from their menu. The list had at least 10 choices and the food was very good. It was close to many attractions, especially the Freedom Tower, and the price was very reasonable for NYC, especially since I wasn't able to book far in advance as I usually do. The only down side was that in the morning I could hear other guests, but I felt bad because I was travelling with my mother and she was talking louder than they were!!

Room Tip: I was on the third floor overlooking Columbus Park; I liked seeing the activity there. The third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry33753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    231
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
198
176
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is well located, close to few metro station and it is clean with nice view. Nothing special but you are in a safe quarter and you can reach most of the Manhattan attraction with the Metro. Breakfast does not have too much choice but, ok.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view, are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniele2667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is a perfectly nice little modern Chinatown hotel. The people are friendly, the rooms are nice and clean, and the view is fantastic (Freedom Tower can be seen from the bed), but the best part is the location. If you like the atmosphere of Chinatown and Little Italy - this is the place. If you want to be Downtown and ealily connected - this is the place. And if you - like me - are an history buff, who loves New York and Five Points history - staying here, you are in the middle of it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arty1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our room was small even by European standards, and the walls were not noise-proof by any means. Nevertheless, it all worked. The bath was well equipped and sparkling clean.

Moreover, the staff at the front desk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. If you're spending the night in Little Italy or Chinatown, we'd certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High up is better. (The elevator is modern and quick so worry not about getting stuck high up and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastlaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms nice and spacious, we had a room with a sun terrace/balcony over looking a park opposite. We loved the early morning tai chi classes, a great atmosphere.My Only niggle was we had paper cups in the room. Breakfast is in a little cafe four doors away, delicious with a good choice, which sets you up for a day exploring. My only niggle again was all cups, plates and cutlery disposable, maybe this is normal for the USA ! Great location in Chinatown, atmosphere buzzy with some lovely restaurants just minutes away.Three minutes walk to subway which has good connections to uptown and downtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place was terrific! I went with my three sons (14,12 & 10) and stayed in a double queen room. Plenty of room, great, sunny view of a really fun-to-observe and pretty park and the Freedom Tower. Everything was super clean, good quality linens, comfortable beds and the staff was very nice and low-key. Also, very, very quiet at night, which was awesome (neighborhood is not sketchy - we walked down from Little Italy after 11 pm one night and I did not feel at all nervous). Everything you need for a launch point to explore NY, especially if you love Downtown/SoHo/Tribeca/Battery Park etc. I'm picky (usually stay at high end hotels) and researched this for hours, Yelping and Trip Advisoring and Booking.com-ing...made and cancelled many reservations elsewhere in the process. This was a great value and I'd stay again. Note: if you like spas and other fancy amenities (including hotel bars and star-spotting), this hotel is probably not for you. This is a high-end hotel but does not have the frills. If you like clean, comfortable places to sleep that still feel like a luxury vacation and you plan to spend most of your time exploring the city, you've found your place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

what a delightful new hotel. Not for everyone though, as there is no restaurant or bar in it, nor an exercise room, nor a pool, but teh rooms are nicely appointed and comfy. Our room at the front of the hotel overlooked a quiant neghborhood park, where folks joined and exited TAI CHI, done by the locals. OH, did I fail to mention this is at the edge of chinatown with Little Italy a short 4 blocks away. What a great cultural experience, while being able to walk the brooklyn bridge and enjoy that side of NY.

Staff was very courteous

Room Tip: lower floors ask for park view, higher floors may get a view of the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0tac0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mulberry, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Mulberry! We are glad you guys have experienced the cultural side of New York. It's always great to see something different. We hope to see you again sometimes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing