We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #187 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

value for money is excellent. we paid $140 for 3 people in a large room. clean and new sheets, comfortable bathroom, quiet. 5 minute walk from the Grey dog, which is a great place to start the morning at. location is great, and if you come with a car, it is very easy to park in front of the hotel. very recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalYas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    227
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
195
176
15
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully situated in a peaceful and safe location opposite a beautiful park where people congregate to relax, sing, exercise and meditate. The room was unbelievably big for New York and contained a full set of furniture and two of the most unbelievably comfortable double beds we had ever slept on away. As my pal and I were eagerly out early and didn’t return until evening it was excellent that noise pollution internally and externally of the hotel was nonexistent.The flat screen TV had few but adequate channels for viewing.
The bathroom was beautifully clean and tiled. The shower or should I say “fire hydrant” was yet another juicy bonus.We thought at first it was a little strange to have breakfast contracted to a neighbouring cafe however again it was a brilliant experience. We had the pleasure of breakfast with this lovely cop called Joe who gave us some great tips. Our chosen mode of transport was Subway constantly.....morning, noon and night which is a convenient 8 minute walk from the hotel. There is absolutely nothing negative I could possibly say about this hotel. The management and staff who work there are doing an excellent job and deserve great praise for the work they do. If you happen to be lucky enough to stay there you’ll understand me fully!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yankeydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Much bigger room than expected. Looks new and certainly very clean. Right in the heart of Chinatown. Biggest disappointment is the paper thin wall and floors. Footsteps upstairs, conversations in corridor......

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Mulberry for almost a week and we had a pleasant stay. The hotel looks really nice, the front desk is very helpful. The rooms are nice and modern, and the most important: CLEAN. The shower was the best one we ever had in a hotel. The breakfast, a few doors down at Mama's, is really excellent. The location is great too: a short walk from Canal St Subway Station. The park outside is really lively and together with the surrounding streets will give you the proper Chinatown experience. We strongly recommend Mulberry Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mack16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm not a raving praise sort of person but I'm going to make an exception for this place.
The good:
The price
The neighborhood
Well thought out room (empty outlets next to the bed, intelligently designed lights, practical furniture)
Nice bathroom with tub
Free breakfast
Free internet

The bad:
The heat is erratic and loud
Scented detergent used on sheets and towels

As you can see the good far outweighs the bad. The only people who should hesitate before booking here are those that will be uncomfortable in a neighborhood that is very foreign. For us, that just added to the adventure!

Room Tip: The higher up you are the hotter the rooms are. Even in winter they can be a little too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is fairly simple hotel with large comfortable rooms in Chinatown. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy. Our room was facing Columbus Park, so you can watch locals to exercise Tai Chi and play board games. It's not a 5 star hotel with luggage porters waiting you to tip for opening a door. Instead the service feels genuinely friendly and helpful when you need it. Breakfast is offered in a cafe next door. It wasn't continental but American style, so coffee, juice, fries, egg, beacon and toast with plastic tools. Not a very healthy style to start a day but seems to be enjoyed by NY finest. It takes some time to walk to the subway and streets can be packed because of the normal Chinatown puzzle. Good value for money when you take into account that we are in NY. Stayed for 6 nights.

Room Tip: I would prefer the park side thanks to view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

No, it is not a property with bellhops and room service. Since most people can roll their own suitcase these days and enjoy dining out in NYC, this is a great place to stay at the edge of Chinatown. Three best qualities: super comfortable bed; great shower pressure; clean and new. For $150/night plus tax I had a huge terrace on floor 7 that overlooked Columbus Park and was never disturbed by street noise, even with the window open. I can't imagine anyone complaining about FREE breakfast at Mama's. The counter ladies are friendly and you have about 8 choices of breakfast, which you can take back to your room if you like. And yes, there are always NY cops there...cool. Two metro stations within 10 min. walk or less: Canal Street, Chambers St/Brooklyn Bridge. Easy walk to Tribeca, Little Italy, Nolita. Free wifi in the room, free computer/printer in lobby, free fruit and cookies and drinks in the lobby, and a helpful desk staff make this a hotel that reminded me of places I usually stay at in Europe, not the typical hermetically sealed glass tower of a hotel. All rooms have windows that open.

Room Tip: "Park view" side is much nicer; with City Hall and the new WTC in view. Back of building l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randyllwarehime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing