We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhh, don't tell!”
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #206 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shhhh, don't tell!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm not a raving praise sort of person but I'm going to make an exception for this place.
The good:
The price
The neighborhood
Well thought out room (empty outlets next to the bed, intelligently designed lights, practical furniture)
Nice bathroom with tub
Free breakfast
Free internet

The bad:
The heat is erratic and loud
Scented detergent used on sheets and towels

As you can see the good far outweighs the bad. The only people who should hesitate before booking here are those that will be uncomfortable in a neighborhood that is very foreign. For us, that just added to the adventure!

Room Tip: The higher up you are the hotter the rooms are. Even in winter they can be a little too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    234
    34
    13
    9
See reviews for
205
177
16
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is fairly simple hotel with large comfortable rooms in Chinatown. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy. Our room was facing Columbus Park, so you can watch locals to exercise Tai Chi and play board games. It's not a 5 star hotel with luggage porters waiting you to tip for opening a door. Instead the service feels genuinely friendly and helpful when you need it. Breakfast is offered in a cafe next door. It wasn't continental but American style, so coffee, juice, fries, egg, beacon and toast with plastic tools. Not a very healthy style to start a day but seems to be enjoyed by NY finest. It takes some time to walk to the subway and streets can be packed because of the normal Chinatown puzzle. Good value for money when you take into account that we are in NY. Stayed for 6 nights.

Room Tip: I would prefer the park side thanks to view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

No, it is not a property with bellhops and room service. Since most people can roll their own suitcase these days and enjoy dining out in NYC, this is a great place to stay at the edge of Chinatown. Three best qualities: super comfortable bed; great shower pressure; clean and new. For $150/night plus tax I had a huge terrace on floor 7 that overlooked Columbus Park and was never disturbed by street noise, even with the window open. I can't imagine anyone complaining about FREE breakfast at Mama's. The counter ladies are friendly and you have about 8 choices of breakfast, which you can take back to your room if you like. And yes, there are always NY cops there...cool. Two metro stations within 10 min. walk or less: Canal Street, Chambers St/Brooklyn Bridge. Easy walk to Tribeca, Little Italy, Nolita. Free wifi in the room, free computer/printer in lobby, free fruit and cookies and drinks in the lobby, and a helpful desk staff make this a hotel that reminded me of places I usually stay at in Europe, not the typical hermetically sealed glass tower of a hotel. All rooms have windows that open.

Room Tip: "Park view" side is much nicer; with City Hall and the new WTC in view. Back of building l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randyllwarehime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel over new year’s. Location was good, reasonable close to the subway, area seemed to be safe and plenty of good Chinese restaurants around the corner. Room size was good and seemed clean at all times. Bed was uneven and soft, so after few nights, we both had back-aches. AC or ventilation, was very loud with no option to turn it off form the room. Breakfast was awful, typically served in the shabby café next door, it was greasy, no cereal or yoghurt, just eggs in their different variety. Closer to new year’s, café was closed and breakfast was served in the hotel lobby, with no proper place to eat, food would get cold and choice was between cold scrambled eggs and cold pancakes.Nobody mentioned anything about this change upon arrival. Would not stay there again for more than 1 night, but good choice if you don’t care about your breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here over New Year, clean rooms - bleach stained cover - was changed on second complaint. Mama's where you are meant to get your complimentary breakfast, had decided to close so breakfast was served in the lobby - not great! We complained and were given the option to have breakfast in our rooms - again not good as we were away with another couple so this was not a very sociable option - plus we had heard all the good things about eating in Mama's ie apparently the NYPD use it a lot so we thought this would be a nice touch! Overall the beds were comfy - location great for Little Itally China Town Brooklyn Bridge Soho etc and nice and quiet for NYC rooms at the front overlook the park - i would recoment getting one of these as the view is quite pleasant. if you are looking for a basic get your head down sort of place at a reasonable rate for NY then this is ok. If you are looking for luxury - forget it! Staff also were very friendly and there is free wifi!

Room Tip: Room at the front - they also have rooms with a small terrace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _an8ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked into the Mulberry Hotel for 4 nights over New Year. We were told on arrival that the cafe would be closed for breakfast for the duration of our stay, and that breakfast would be served in the 'lobby' which had room to seat around 8 persons, we were not very happy about this advance warning would have been helpful. The rooms were quiet, clean, although there were stains on bed covers, and the furniture was very basic, but the bed was comfortable. Park view was nice, location was very good. We have stayed in uptown NY a couple of times before, we much preferred to stay in this area for the bars and restaurants, shopping, which are all a stones throw away. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first trip to New York so we took friends advice on the most fun locations to stay in and they weren't wrong as china town is fascinating and little Italy and Greenwich village are close by too.
So having got a location we used this sites recommendations and reviews to find a hotel and it was a good call. Although the hotel is small the rooms are a good size, we had a twin double room for the 4 of us. Breakfast in the cafe next door seamed a little odd at first but actually was great with lots of choice.
The staff were quiet but accommodating. We felt very comfortable and relaxed here at all times.

Room Tip: Views over the park opposite were great, full of traditional morning exercises, musical instruments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#192 of 466 in New York City
385 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 466 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 466 in New York City
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#57 of 466 in New York City
249 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 466 in New York City
599 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#236 of 466 in New York City
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing