We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic SoHo Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The James New York - SoHo
Ranked #186 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2010

From the moment we checked-in, The James, sought to every detail. We were celebrating a special occasion, and not only was our room upgraded, but a bottle of champagne, truffles, and a welcome note were waiting in the room. And speaking of the room...it's filled with light, a wonderfully comfortable bed, and the temperature is just right (including the ability to open windows). The only downside is that with all the windows, there are limited outlets (we'll take the windows). The gym is very well equipped with fantastic views, and while we didn't have time to enjoy the roof top bar, next trip it will be a must. What stands out most, however, is the staff. They're service oriented, but also seem "real" and "genuine". If you're looking for relaxed SoHo comfort, The James, should be on your list.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potrero71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at The James from 10/18 - 10/21 and it was wonderful. The hotel was brand new, they were working on putting up the sign over the door. The building was not complete, they were working on outside landscaping. Inside the restaurant was under construction, the roof top bar and pool were scheduled to open at the end of the week.

The staff was wonderful, helpful, they truly want to exceed your expectations. Our room was a King bed city view. Very contemporary, lots of space for a NYC room, a glass wall separates the bedroom from the bathroom, there is an electric curtain that closes for privacy. The city view rooms look towards the Southern part of the island and New Jersey. The fitness room is on the 17th floor, state of the art equipment and the views are spectaular 180 degrees.

This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance is Chinatown, Little Italy, Financial District, The Village, close to the MTA. This whotel will be a great addition to SOHO.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishcurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesNY_GM, General Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Dear irishcurse,

Thank you for such great comments about our team. We are proud to have offered you such a wonderful experience and appreciate the positive reinforcement. We are looking forward to your return and to serving you again.

Thank you from The James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have stayed in so many hotels in New York on business and pleasure and none of them come close to the excellence of this hotel. Since the hotel is brand new, the feeling is crisp and impeccably clean. The location in Soho is perfect to get to the village, Soho and everything else downtown. Colin, the General Manager was very visible on site and made everyone feel special. The staff was perfectly accommodating without being intrusive. They do the little things with such ease. My favorites were the cinammon raisin rolls with perfect coffee in the am, the wine and cheese from 5-7 and the rickshaw service at the front door - all complimentary. I was absolutely enchanted at every turn including the awesome deal we got with breakfast. Book fast because once this secret gets out, the rooms will be hard to come by.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

the location is great but they are missing a few things at this new hotel there is NO dresser and 4 hangers in the closet i don't see how you could share the room with another person because there would literally be nowhere to put all your stuff if you turn off the AC and open the wonderful windows then it's very noisy for sleeping and the drapes are very heavy plus under the drapes are the few outlets bed is very comfy but huge king lumpy pillows and at a 5* hotel i expect down there is a glass wall with a shade you can raise up and down in the bathroom which is very pretty but if you aren't alone you will be using the toilet in full view of your spouse/friend. when you lower the wall shade then the bathroom is quite dark it's still a work in progress. staff very nice & helpful wish they had some rooms with 2 beds and a dresser it's good for SOLO travelers lots of restaurants and shopping in the area

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bug4ballet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesNY_GM, General Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Dear Bug4Ballet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor. I am sorry the facilities were not completely to you satisfaction. We are currently addressing the power outlet issue and will be placing additional power in the nightstands for your convenience. Our bedding and pillows are designed specifically for our James guest and should have included (2) 100% down pillows. I apologize this did not happen in your guest room. We will also be rolling out a pillow menu in the near future that will offer you a variety of choices.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our staff and I hope that their service will convince you to visit us again.

Looking forward to a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

so, this hotel, which promises so much off the reputaiton of its excellent chicago sibling, and its impressive website, is seriously disappointing, and not just for the $ they are charging, apparently open since september 1, my stay, commencing today, oct 24, sees the hotel have no F+B services whatsoever, no liquor license, and no idea how to deal with these difficulties. when i called down to order some wine, having previously arrnaged to meet a group of friends at the bar (which on arrival i was told had not yet opened), i was first placed on hold for about 5 minutes, then told the hotel could not sell alcohol , as it had no license. a list of nearby wine stores and directions was promised to be sent to my room, but 15 mins later, nothing arrived. i left to meet my friends at the standard, where i had been staying prior to oving downtown to check out the new james.
when arrived back, i called to ask why there was no menu in my room, as i wanted to order dinner., well>> no food available either, the reponse was "we'll send a few take out menus up to your room, u can call them and maybe get delivery?" and they call this 5* !! oh, i forgot to mention having to navigate my way round the painting crew on my room level hallway, doing some finishing late on a sunday night. why open a hotel before its finished - and if you do , surely you owe it to let guests know?
seriously disappointing, can;t wait to escape, and will never,ever, return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDorrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesNY_GM, General Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2010

Dear Ant Boy 66,

It is upsetting that we were unable to find solutions for your needs while you were with us. Yes, we are still finishing the building, and the food and beverage areas will become fully operational in stages over the next few months, but we should have been able to handle your requests more effectively.

We are diligently working to ensure any deficiencies are overcome, and we leave our guests with a positive feeling about The James. I am truly sorry we failed to do this.

Please accept the apologies of myself and the staff of The James New York. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The James is a very attractive property. Aesthetically, it is well designed and the location is excellent for visiting Tribeca and SOHO.

The hotel offers some unexpected perks such as complimentary drinks and snacks in the lobby; however, it has some quirks that are unexpected and disappointing:

- very few power outlets in the rooms. existing outlets are awkwardly placed making them very hard to use. unbelievable for new construction
- an in-room coffee maker is provided but you must place it in the bathroom sink or on the floor near the curtains in order to plug it in
- no desk / work area
- no kitchen / restaurant

I liked the James but wanted to like it more. It is fine if you get a good deal but it would be extremely disappointing if the room rates were above $300/$350 USD.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Dear Japan_Gaijin,
To take a moment to update you on what's been going on at The James since October, our Restaurant, David Burke Kitchen opened in February to excellent reviews. We've heard the feedback from yourself and other guests regarding the lack of power outlets. We added a pop-up power strip by the pantry coffee area & another power strip in the nightstand. We hope to welcome you back to The James soon!
Best regards,
Joseph D'Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The staff at this hotel is incredible! Definitely made our stay so much more enjoyable. They made us feel so welcomed,we felt very taken care of! It's in a great neighborhood. I loved Balthazar, Barelo, Spurs Diner, French Bakery (forgot the name)..all right up the street , all less than a 5 minute walk...all recommended by the front desk. They offer the nicest soaps/lotions/shampoo/robes in the room and I loved that they have housekeeping visit twice a day. The furniture in the room is well appointed, very good use of the space. Huge windows that open a bit (something else we loved) to let in a cool breeze from outside. Great blackout curtains and the coziest bed! That mattress....I'd like to buy that mattress for our home! Honestly, we travel a lot and it's been a long time that we had such an enjoyable stay. I'm trying to think what I didn't like...I think I'd have to say I didn't like that the restaurant wasn't opened yet...considering how well everything else was run at this hotel, I can only imagine that it would be a great place to eat. We definitely will return to The James in Soho!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank locasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#163 of 471 in New York City
3,069 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 471 in New York City
1,032 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#82 of 471 in New York City
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#253 of 471 in New York City
1,147 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 471 in New York City
503 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#25 of 471 in New York City
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York - SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York - SoHo

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $231 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York - SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring SoHo's southwest corner, The James New York – SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York - SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing