We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The James New York-SoHo
Ranked #162 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

In all ways a fantastic hotel. We loved our stay. Great location in an area filled with shops and restaurants - and also close to the Hudson River Park. Nice staff and the most wonderful views from the rooftop and our room (remember to ask for a room high up). David Burkes kitchen was also a big experience. Really good food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Jette C,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including our restaurant DBK, JIMMY our rooftop bar. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging our team. They’re a huge asset. Until your next visit.

Warm regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    349
    123
    69
    38
See reviews for
150
642
73
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

An NYC local colleague recommended we stay here on a part romantic part business trip with my husband, mainly due to the pool! Unfortunately it wasn't really such a memorable hotel and I do love to travel and find great boutiques... Of which NYC has a few gems. The rooms were larger than normal for NYC and the desk staff lovely enough. Unfortunately it just didn't have anything that special going for it. The interiors were fine but not unique, the views of manhattan nothing like those you can get elsewhere and it just didn't have a standout vibe or style. my biggest issue was that downstairs they were more concerned with playing bouncer in regard to the private party upstairs than letting in the clientele of the hotel. This meant at one time when the crowds were lining up we actually had real issues even getting into the hotel. As my colleague initially recommended, great to head up for the pool parties on a hot day in Manhattan,but perhaps there are better places to stay where their greater concern is the hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gttlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear gttlondon,

That’s disheartening to hear that your first stay with us wasn’t flawless. Thank you for sharing that feedback. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you describe. We will inform our team in order to continue to improve. I'm disappointed to hear that our staff wasn’t more welcoming ; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The James was a very warm and welcoming hotel. The rooms were relatively large (by NY standards), bright and sunny, and had an attention to detail. The surrounding area is nice and relaxed with plenty of great shops, cafes, and restaurants close by. The rooftop bar (The Jimmy) has incredible views of NYC although the pool up there is very small for use in the day. Hotel staff were friendly, helpful, and accommodating without being intrusive. Would definitely recommend The James for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurricane0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Hurricane0000,

Thanks for choosing us for your visit to New York. It’s great that our team left you with such a positive impression. Our guestroom sizes are average to New York standards, which can understandably still seem tight. Hopefully the large windows and use of glass made the room seem more spacious. The natural light in our rooms and our central location. They’re our greatest asset. We appreciate the feedback. We appreciate you taking time to share about your stay. Until your next visit.

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at over 30 different NYC hotels in many different neighbourhoods over the past 30 yrs. As you can imagine there have been a lot of changes to NYC and to the hotel scene over this period of time. Some hotels have figured it out better than others. The James scores high in it's delivery of customer experience. The hotel is modern, cool but not too hipster cool, it is clean, staff is friendly and efficient and there are some amazing amenities that all help to make the value factor work for me. Amenities such as; rooftop lounge and pool, gym with a view, great food on premise, complimentary bicycles, complimentary (limited hours) town car.The wine/cheese and the Colombe coffee with Balthazar pastries at breakfast were a very welcome complimentary treat! One of the things I loved (and is a huge personal pet peeve) are the 'quieter-closing' hotel doors. HATE when your neighbour or the cleaning staff continually go in and out of rooms with those loud-slamming doors. I still think that ALL hotels including the James could train their staff to let room doors close quietly behind them. It is a small refinement that speaks volumes about the respect a property has for it's customers.
Location is amazing - heart of SOHO and close to West Highway for a bike ride or jog - steps from A train subway etc. Gourmet Garage is 2 blocks away.

Morgan at the front desk was amazing and aided me in moving to a higher floor in an effort to catch the 4th of July fireworks and the staff was very helpful in mailing items and laundry - thx.
Kenny was also very helpful in assisting with cars/cabs, bicycles and suggestions etc - incredible asset to the hotel - loved this guy.
The one negative was having to take the slow elevators to the ground floor in order to get back up to the rooftop at certain hours and deal with 'nightclub-type' attitude - suddenly I felt like I was no longer a guest at the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return again - something I rarely do because I love trying new 'hoods and hotels!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor and a corner room with a view to the Williamsburg bridge - incredible views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Peter N,

Your kind review is deeply appreciated. Thank you for taking time to share your luxury liberated experience. Our team strives to provide genuine yet unobtrusive service and seeing their hard work pay off with feedback like yours is very gratifying. It sounds like you were able to enjoy most of our unique amenities/features. Your recommendation means a lot to us so I wanted to personally thank you. Until your next stay!

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived, we felt the personalized service. The rooms are a bit small but very comfortable. The David Burke restaurant downstairs is very good. You must head up to the rooftop pool for great views of the city and the people. Nearby Soho shops make this a very convenient destination.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillTYankeesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear BillTYankeesfan,

Thanks for the positive review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We’re constantly striving to meet and improve our services standards. David Burke Kitchen is a great feature of our hotel. Your recommendation is deeply appreciated. Until your next stay.

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The manager did nothing to make up for our horrible stay. The pool was so small it looked like a large bathtub. There were only 7 lounge chairs. The staff told us all wrong information. Food is so-so.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sara F,

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. We will review your feedback with our team. If you’re willing to give us a second chance. Feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Best regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the James each of the past four years for a brief getaway from our kids (although we brought a couple of our daughters with us this trip for one night). If you prefer the style of Soho to midtown or the 5th Avenue shops, then this is the place to stay. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating and we love the little touches like coffee/muffins in the morning, wine and cheese in the late afternoon, and cookies at night. The fitness center has a nice view of the new World Trade Center, the rooftop pool/bar is a great place to hang out, and the David Burke Kitchen restaurant is terrific. It's not really a place for kids. I think the only rooms with two beds are the high end suites, and the pool is really an adult hangout. We made it work with our girls for one night with a rollaway but I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear ToddF,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. It’s great that you were able to appreciate many of the amenities that make the hotel special, some of which include the rooftop bar JIMMY, our amazing fitness center, and our central location, but most importantly our team. They’re our greatest asset. We appreciate you taking time to share about your stay. Until your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#77 of 467 in New York City
876 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#166 of 467 in New York City
2,955 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#64 of 467 in New York City
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
893 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#125 of 467 in New York City
3,060 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York-SoHo

Property: The James New York-SoHo
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York-SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing