We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James New York - SoHo
Ranked #195 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently stayed at The James In Soho and had a great experience. I arrived after my husband and was greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. They remembered my husband, and let me know what a nice guy he is and how he upgraded our room to a corner suite as well. The corner suite was nice. We had views all around. It was not huge, but big for New York standards. The decor was comfortable and simple. The bathroom had a nice shower with heated floors. We were on the fifth floor and the noise from outside was not bad at all. We stayed at the Gansevoort in the meat packing district recently and had to wear ear plugs at night. Another bonus at the James is the location. The train station is right across the street. We were able to easily take the train to many places and avoid the street traffic. They also offer complimentary wine and cheese in the early evening. After walking around the city all day, it was nice to come back to the hotel for the free wine and cheese. It was not a big selection, a simple set up, but still appreciated. They also had a fun roof top bar that gets pretty crowded at night. My only complaint was that our pillows were really too soft. We requested firmer pillows but were told all four nights that they were all being used. Other than that, our stay was a positive experience and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTinaIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear MissTinaIrvine,

It’s great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your visit. Thanks for such a kind review. I’m glad you were able to experience the amenities we offer, especially The James Club Sky Lobby. Whether through the wine or scones, it allows us to showcase local vendors. Hopefully you’ll return very soon. Overall, I’m glad our team left you with a positive impression. Thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

If you want to experience an alternative side to New York then stay at The James in Soho. Soho has some great bars and restaurants. If you want to visit the attractions there is a hop on hop off bus service that has a stop nearby. The hotel itself is very functional. The rooms are quite small as compared to some hotels but everything you need is there. The hotel was also very quiet so we had a great nights sleep. The staff at the James are very friendly and welcoming. Special mention goes to Julia in the Garden bar. Excellent service during all the times we had evening drinks there.
One low point was the rooftop bar Jimmys. We went up there twice and due to very poor service we waited and waited. In the end we gave up and returned for good service in the Garden bar.
To finish on a positive. In the morning there is fresh coffee and pastries. In the evening there is wine and cheese followed by cookies and coffee. All provided free for guests. We had a great stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcote9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Redcote9,

We appreciate you taking time to share about your stay. So great you had a satisfying night of rest. I apologize for the delayed service you received at JIMMY. Thank you for acknowledging our team’s hard work, especially Julia's. They’re truly our greatest asset and it’s great when guests take notice of our approach to guest services, genuine and unobtrusive. We hope you choose us for your next visit to New York. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is easy to miss at the corner of Thompson and Grand streets at the edge of Soho. My room, on the 4th floor, was small but exactly what I needed. It had a great bed with nearly floor-to-ceiling window the length of the room looking toward the Hudson River. While I couldn't see the river, the goings-on on 6th Avenue were almost always interesting, with a small park across the street. The room itself had just the right amenities for my business trip and would have been fine if my wife were with me. The room had wood floors, which I have not seen in hotels previously. That was cool, though the one downside was that at quiet moments I could hear people in adjacent (or above) rooms walking on their wood floors. Overall it wasn't a big deal and I had no trouble getting work done, relaxing and getting to sleep. The gym on the 17th floor was just right for a little exercise (weights, elliptical, treadmill, etc.) and had terrific views south toward the financial district and east toward Brooklyn and the rest of Soho. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall I was very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: I think I would have liked a room with a southern or eastern view better than my western view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldfamousjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Worldfamousejeff,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including the views from our guestrooms, and our fitness center. We will pass along your positive comments to the team. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We hope you return very soon.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Well, this is our third review of The James So Ho and this hotel and staff simply get better and better. While the hotel and the location is great what makes The James special is clearly its staff and we thank The James management team for working hard to keep this staff in place because honestly this staff is committed to total customer satisfaction as we experience this each and every stay with ourselves and observe the same with other guests. Eric, John, Kenny, Amy, Christine, Morgan…… and the list goes on and on ……… Truly exceptional hospitality professionals. Then to the James Burke Kitchen with E Thomas at the helm and his top notch team delivering incredible food and service - you just simply cannot go wrong with this package.

We will back time and time again, there is no doubt - The James So Ho is one in a million.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron_LINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Ron_LINY,

It’s humbling to receive such a kind review. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Soho.Our team members strive to go above and beyond so we appreciate you acknowledging all their hard work. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We will be sure to pass along your positive comments to Eric, John, Kenny, Amy, Christine, & Morgan. I’m glad they left you with a positive impression. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The staff is friendly. The rooms are hum drum. Nothing special at all. Worst is the people working the garden bar and pool area. They seem new and have no idea even how to bill something to the room or basic things on the menu. Dumb. More egregious the pool bar is nasty. All the garnishes from the lemons, limes to the leaves they muddle look rotten. I even commented to bartender that I hoped he was serving any of that and he said it didn't matter if they werent that fresh because it was being muddled. Who says such a thing. If you like high end hotels like I do id definitely pass on this place. It is not high end in the least and would better appeal to holiday inn clientele.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Robert B,

Every piece of guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you described at our rooftop. We will inform our team in order to continue to improve. I'm disappointed to hear that our staff wasn't more welcoming; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Warm Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in this lovely, incredibly well run hotel for 5 nights with my 14 year old daughter. First visit to New York, felt very well looked after, nothing was too much trouble, staff incredibly knowledgeable, efficient and kind.The food and drink was delicious. The bed so comfortable! Soho is a great location as a base and great for shopping. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Moggiemcalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Moggiemcalpine,

Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. It’s great that you were able to enjoy so many of the wonderful features we have to offer. We’re also happy you enjoyed our prime location in Soho. The boutiques and eateries are truly unbeatable. Thanks again. Until your next visit.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have to say these hotel its The Surrey of Soho. Great service the personal where super welcoming and helping. The room was nice but still a hotel room. I do like that the bathroom has a courting not that you always want it open but it does make the room look bigger.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Alex M,

Thanks for choosing us for your visit to New York. It’s great that our team left you with such a positive impression.Our team strives to provide genuine yet unobtrusive service and seeing their hard work pay off with feedback like yours is very gratifying. We appreciate the feedback. Until your next stay!

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#161 of 473 in New York City
3,099 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#79 of 473 in New York City
1,059 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#251 of 473 in New York City
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#91 of 473 in New York City
591 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#28 of 473 in New York City
657 reviews
Manhattan
The Dominick Hotel
The Dominick Hotel
#140 of 473 in New York City
3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York - SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York - SoHo

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $232 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York - SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring SoHo's southwest corner, The James New York – SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The James New York - SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing