We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Room, Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #146 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Room, Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed in this hotel on business, and was extremely pleasantly surprised by the modern decor, the friendly staff, the artistic touches, and the open atmosphere. My room was absolutely gorgeous, and the view was amazing. The pantry was stocked to the brim with interesting food and beverages, and even a little something more! Thank you for making this trip as comfortable and memorable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Nina U,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got a full authentic James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and genuine approach to guest service. Especially for acknowledging our pantry, our team takes great pride in selecting local vendors for our snacks and beverages. Hopefully you can return when the Urban Garden and rooftop plunge pool are open to enjoy the warmer weather. Until your next visit.

Warmly,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    313
    109
    61
    31
See reviews for
133
595
67
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, Ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the James. They took me to four different rooms before I settled on the two I wanted for myself and my friends. Although the rooms are a little small, the views, particularly on the higher floors, make them feel very spacious. Anything we asked of the staff, with one exception, was met with a cheerful and efficient response. For example, there was no decaf coffee set out in the morning, but after a short wait, one of the staff brought me a fresh brewed pot of decaf coffee. I also needed hot water for tea (again, none set out in the morning) and they were very accommodating fetching it for me. (Would have been nice if they had a bigger selection of teas - they only had one black tea. Luckily, I had brought my own herbals teas.). Cookies at night in the lobby and the chocolates in the room were absolutely divine! The one glitch is that the mini-fridge in my room was not cold, which I noticed right away. In spite of asking twice to have it taken care of, it never was and the food I put in it spoilt. :-( The elevator access is confusing, particularly if you're trying to get to the rooftop bar at night. But, overall a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank queenmab100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Queenmab100,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking time to share about your visit to The James. Your attention to and appreciation for details are refreshing. Your feedback is very insightful. I’m glad you found the James Club complimentary amenities and curated art enjoyable. I’m most proud of our team for leaving you feeling welcome. I will pass along to them your feedback regarding our tea variety. We strive to provide genuine unobtrusive guest service. Thank you again. We hope you return soon.

Warmly,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had an amazing time at the James. The location was fantastic - so close to shoppping, bars and restaurants we wanted to visit. The staff were all extremely helpful and knowledgable of the area. I will stay here again if I visit New York again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr. Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Michael E,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. Our location in the pocket of Tribeca and Soho make this a prime location to shop, dine & explore. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned to the James for the second time and it was great. The location is perfect and the staff was very accommodating. Thanks to the gentleman downstairs-Kenny, Michael and Luis were always very helpful in getting us cabs and sharing their tips for SoHo and beyond. Had a corner suite and it had great views from the 17th floor. The rooftop bar-Jimmy- was always packed and for good reason. It had the best views and great drinks! Definitely will be returning to the James again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Cremnos,

Thanks for taking time to share your James experience. Your loyalty and recommendation means a lot to us. Kenny, Michael, & Luis are all a great asset to our team so thank you for acknowledging their hard work. I’m also happy you enjoyed the views from JIMMY, it’s one of the features that makes our hotel unique. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again!

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Visit to NYC to with my wife and 17yr old son to tour NYU. Close to campus. Visit NYC 2-3 times year and always stay upper east or west side-not anymore! This is simply a great hotel in a great area of NYC. Incredible shopping and dinning minutes from hotel. 2 subway stops steps from hotel, easy access to east and west side of Manhattan. Rooms incredible. Ask for high floor for the most breathtaking views. Gym on the 17th floor with wonderful views. Visit Jimmy's on the roof for cocktails and lite snacks-it is happening here. Luis Vargas the Concierge loaded with suggestions and will easily point you in correct direction-it can be a little confusing down here. Staff cannot help enough. Courtesy car available certain hours. This is our new hotel to stay at when visiting NY

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklyn9196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Brooklyn9196,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including the views from our guestrooms, and JIMMY our rooftop bar. Thank you for recognizing our concierge Luis Vargas, he truly is an asset to our team. We will pass along your positive comments to him. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We hope you return very soon.

Warm regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The staff --that greeted us at The James-- was outstanding. They could not have been any nicer, more accommodating or more professional. Michael, Kenny and Morgan were most helpful and kind during our stay at The James. It was my first time there--my husband has been at The James several times before for NYC business trips.
I am certainly hoping to be able to go back. The accommodations were lovely and dinner at the restaurant delicious --but, it is the people on staff that truly make this hotel special. Loved the Soho/Tribeca location--in the vicinity of great shopping--Kenny, Michael and Morgan made sure I found my way!

Room Tip: We were on an upper floor and enjoyed the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Lynne M,

Thank you for acknowledging our team’s hard work. They’re truly our greatest asset and it’s great when guests take notice of our approach to guest services, genuine and unobtrusive. Our location in the pocket of Tribeca and Soho make this a prime location to shop, dine & explore. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericksburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location- very nice staff! Very good restaurant and bar.
Would stay here again. Great location. amazing views - stayed in family suite and it worked out very well. Beds were great, nice linens and towels.

Room Tip: The family suite was great! Coffee in lobby and scones every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy2432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Patsy2432,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. Our team is our greatest asset so I’ll be sure to relay your special mention to them. The James’ luxury liberated approach to guest service strives to be genuine and unobtrusive. It’s great you felt welcomed.

Warm Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#62 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,739 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#219 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#118 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,740 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#7 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing