We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Service, & Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James New York - SoHo
Ranked #183 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed in those hotel for a weekend. The location cannot be beat. In the heart of SOHO, you are surrounded by the best of everything.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by a lovely gentleman at ground level - he escorted us to the lobby level, where an equally friendly woman checked us in.
The Room - we had a spacious room (by NYC standard) with floor to ceiling windows. I want to mention cleanliness. This room was immaculate and very well appointed.
Roof Top Bar - we headed up to the bar on the roof. It opens at 5pm, at 5:15 this place was busy. Wonderful cocktails and AMAZING views.
Breakfast - there is a David Burke Restaurant associated with the hotel. YUM! Even in NY, there is no need to opt to head out, when you can have such a fantastic breakfast in bed.

Overall, this was a wonderful experience! If you are looking to stay in SOHO - stay here!

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are going to have wrap around floor to ceiling windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bexterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear BexterNyc,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including the loft-inspired guestrooms, JIMMY our rooftop bar, and daily complimentary amenities in The Sky Lobby. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Super Zimmer (alle Eckzimmer), nicht günstig aber tolle Ausssicht, gut gestylt und nicht zu cool und very helpful and friendly staff! Die Lage ist ideal für Soho/Tribeca/Meatpacking District zu Fuss
Next time a stay at The James for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veraguth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Veraguth,

Thanks for taking time to share your James experience. I’m proud of our team for leaving you with a positive impression of The James. You’re absolutely right with our prime location in Soho. It makes for a unique New York experience while avoiding the hustle and bustle of Midtown. We appreciate you taking time to share about your stay.

Warm Regards,

Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The James is small and pleasant. The room has a glass wall separating the bed and the shower, very sexy! Great outdoor space for a drink and a snack, the Treehouse, I believe. We didn't try the restaurant but enjoyed a late night drink at the rooftop bar with an outdoor lounge and pool.
The doorman Keany was sharp and attentive. He went out of his way to help us arrange comfortable transportation and made sure the driver knew EXACTLY where to deliver us. It was a refreshing change to the local taxis and the English-challenged drivers.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhanle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Rhanle14,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. The James’ prime location is one of my favorite features of the hotel so I’m glad you enjoyed it. Guests avoid the hustle and bustle of Midtown while getting a genuine New York experience in vibrant Soho. Our team is our greatest asset so I’ll be sure to relay your special mention to them. Hopefully you can return when the Urban Garden and rooftop plunge pool are open to enjoy the warmer weather.

Best,

Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A very good New York hotel. Great location for Soho but also convenient if you are flying in and out of Newark. Light filled rooms. Great views. Walking distance to walking/running paths along the Hudson River.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank connieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Connie Toronto,

It’s humbling to receive such a kind review. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Soho. I’m glad you enjoyed our rooms that our flushed with natural light and that our location was convenient for you. I’m glad we left you with a positive impression. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

wonderful experience. Highly recommended. FIrst time there and they could not have been nicer. Centrally located to all the wonderful galleries and restaurants in Soho. Helpful with recommendations. No hesitations


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dr. S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Dr. S L,

Thanks for taking time to share your James experience. Your loyalty and recommendation means a lot to us. Thank you for acknowledging the hard work of our team. I’m also happy you enjoyed the atmosphere and local art galleries close by. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again!

Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the James SoHo for a business trip last week and my stay was awesome. From the moment I stepped out of the car and into the hotel it was pure pleasure. The welcome received by the doorman to the friendliness of the check -in staff to the welcome on the floor of my room as I got off the elevator by a room cleaner who was walking by the corridor. Everyone was all smiles. I stayed in a king size room which was well appointed and very
Well kept up by maintenance and housekeeping. I stayed a total of 3 nights and I slept like a king :) All the street noise stays on the street , I guess the windows are very well sealed that you can not hear any sound. My room was in the 5th floor which I thought was going to be a problem because of how low it was. I was wrong :) The James club which is in the lobby offers coffee and cookies in the morning, water and fresh fruits during the day and wine cheese crackers and grapes at night. Amazing!!! I will for sure be returning again and again to the James SoHo.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Lirio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Lirio,

Thanks for such a positive review. Our team is our greatest asset so I’ll be sure to relay your special mention to them. I’m glad you enjoyed some of the best features of The James, including complimentary amenities and the tranquility of our rooms. It’s great you felt welcomed. We hope you return very soon. Until your next visit.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Loved this place -- have stayed in many hotels in NY and the service and location were just great! Perfect for families -- either the suite or the corner king with an adjacent queen made for a nice family NY vacation.

Room Tip: Corner King is a beautiful room with great views and often a good value with sales or AAA offers. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Cindy C,

Thanks for taking time to share about your stay. We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed your room and its décor; they’re residentially-inspired and intended to feel loft-like. We’re also happy you enjoyed our prime location in Soho. We hope you will chose to stay with us again on your next visit to New York City. Thanks again. Until your next visit.

Thanks,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#174 of 469 in New York City
3,009 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#90 of 469 in New York City
966 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#75 of 469 in New York City
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#124 of 469 in New York City
3,127 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#249 of 469 in New York City
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York - SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York - SoHo

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $304 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York - SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York - SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James New York - SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing