We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James New York-SoHo
Ranked #165 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Everything”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The staff was great on all levels. The room was perfect! We ended up getting a free room upgrade and getting the most beautiful view of the city. It's pricey but well worth it if it's a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Q M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Q M,

Thanks for taking time to share about your visit. Glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade. The views from the guestrooms are impeccable and the large loft windows allow plenty of natural light. I’m proud our team left you feeling welcomed. We hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    353
    124
    71
    38
See reviews for
152
646
74
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Good location for business easy to Soho and subway. Excellent facilities and amenities. Really like the view and the design. Staff very attentive Look forward to my next stay. Is now my 'go to' in NYC.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Charles S,

We’re honored you've chosen us as your preferred hotel in New York. We hope to continue delivering flawless luxury liberated experiences. Thanks for the positive feedback! Looking forward to your return.

All the best,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Bridges, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the James for my husband's work. From the moment we arrived we were spotted and ushered to the check in desk. The staff was genuinely warm, pleasant, and helpful. We had an awesome view from the 6th floor and the room was modern and clean. I loved the glass elevator that brought us to the check in desk. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and a down comforter. The bathroom is enclosed in glass with an electric shade for privacy. The amenities in the shower were large bottles as opposed to the small towelettes. The flat screen tv was a bit on the small side, however, there is plenty to do in this part of town, so the tv would not be getting much use anyway. Awesome place to stay and we cannot wait to go back here soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Karen M,

Glad you enjoyed your visit to The James! Thanks for taking time to share feedback. Our team is our greatest asset so they’ll appreciate your kind sentiments. I’d have to agree with you on the views from our guestrooms. They’re unbeatable and being in Soho avoids the hustle and bustle of Midtown while still getting an authentic New York experience. We appreciate your recommendation. Until your next stay!

Cheers,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My two night stay at The James was a stylish pleasure from start to finish. Located downtown just north of Canal St, it is proximate to the A/C/E, 1, and 6 subway lines within a 1-5min walk. The first thing you notice about The James, besides its discreet, modern entrance with minimal signage, is that it is tall and essentially perched on stilts, putting it higher than many of the nearby buildings. The lobby itself is a short elevator ride from the street level reception area where the doormen warmly greet people.

The lobby, and all areas of the hotel, are modern and filled with contemporary art (carefully marked with signs, like a museum or gallery). The staff I dealt with at the front desk were all uniformly friendly and helpful and, while I can't recall all their names, they were kind enough to remember mine the entire time I was there. Also in the lobby is complimentary computer terminals and a variety of light snacks (scones, fruit, cookies, crackers, cheese, coffee, wine) throughout the day. The ability to grab a little snack or drink on my way in and out of a hotel is always a much welcomed plus with me.

With a prior request, I got 1606, a high-floor room on the with an open western view of the Hudson and distant planes landing at Newark (and the approach to the Holland tunnel, but in a good way!). With dark wood floors, high ceilings, large windows and a glass wall between bathroom and bedroom (more on that momentarily) the smallish room was striking. The desk & chair area looked mid-century modern, but probably wouldn't be well-suited to doing serious hours hunched over a laptop. The platform bed had crisp sheets and down bedding for a very cozy, restful night's sleep. I will say the dark wood shows a bit of wear that a lighter color might not, and there were some definite signs of food traffic on the area rug. Not horrible, but a clear reminder that lots of people had been there before you--which is never a plus in a hotel.

Now, the bathroom with its glass stall shower, high end fixtures, and clear dividing wall could be seen as a selling point or a major repellant depending on your sense of privacy, style, and with whom you are traveling. Though there is an art-covered screen between bath and bed you can raise or lower with the push of a button, it is still quite translucent and may not be to everyone's taste. I was traveling solo and my room didn't face any residential buildings, so I wasn't too concerned. Others might be.

This high-style spot was great for me, but I think it would be suited most to fashion-forward sorts who want visual stimulation, a downtown location, and aren't shy with any traveling companions they may have. Though the staff is certainly friendly, it doesn't strike me as a good place for families.

Room Tip: High floors, always better. Better view, better isolation from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear DeanPok,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking time to share about your visit to The James. Your attention to and appreciation for details are refreshing. Your feedback is very insightful. The dark wood you mentioned is reclaimed so can look distressed. I’m glad you found the warmly modern guestrooms, James Club complimentary amenities and curated art enjoyable. I’m most proud of our team for leaving you feeling welcome. We strive to provide genuine unobtrusive guest service. Thank you again. We hope you return soon.

Warmly,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed at The James only for one night, and the service and facilities were simply amazing! I asked for a special request of champagne and rose petals for my room, and it was exactly what I wanted!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Santiago D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mr. Santiago D,

Thanks for your positive feedback and thanks for choosing The James New York for your visit. We strive to provide a memorable luxury liberated experience for every guest, especially those celebrating a special occasion. We appreciate you taking time to share. Until your next stay.

Cheers,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the James for 4 days. The location is perfect in order to discover SOHO and take advantage of the great restaurants in Tribeca. Our room was nice, not too small and very well designed. The roof top bar turned into a night club on Friday night which was nice! The staff are very friendly. Interesting feature is the breakfast in the room which comes complimentary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Malte H,

Glad you had such a wonderful experience! Thank you for choosing The James New York for your visit to Soho. JIMMY rooftop bar is a great neighborhood spot. I’m also happy you enjoyed your In-Room Breakfast. We really appreciate the feedback and hope you return very soon.

Best regards,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

i had to travel to nyc for work this week and had an amazing stay at the james. it's a beautiful hotel with all the class of a $500/night place -- at half the price. the rooms are perfect and the service is incredible. erica in room service was a real standout employee. highly recommend this hotel for discerning business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Alex D,

We appreciate you taking time to share about your stay. We strive to bring value to our guests through our attention to detail. Our team is our best asset so I’ll definitely relay your special mention to Erica. Whether for corporate or leisure travel, we hope you return soon.

Cheers,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 467 in New York City
917 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#170 of 467 in New York City
2,970 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#61 of 467 in New York City
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#133 of 467 in New York City
3,077 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#234 of 467 in New York City
947 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York-SoHo

Property: The James New York-SoHo
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York-SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York - SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James New York-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing