We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT COUNTERPOINT TO THE CITY'S HUSTLE AND BUSTLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James New York - SoHo
Ranked #187 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

In the city that doesn't sleep, finding a place to escape it all makes your experience of NYC all the better.

The James delivers in spades when it comes to a pleasant destination, comfortable hospitality and good value.

I have stayed at the James multiple times for an extended period two years ago. The staff, especially in-room dining and styling, remembered my like of almond milk, making sure it was available, my need for two bottles of water in the evening and my like of a particular white wine that was always put in my room.

Two years later I am back and delighted to find many of the same faces who remembered the almond milk, water and wine, not to mention were very enthusiastic to welcome me back.

The design of the hotel is perfectly appointed and understated. All that you might need and nothing more. The art is unique and well presented. The amenities perfectly satisfying without being too "studied" or too "standard".

I will say that the rooftop bar and pool make for the only counterpoint to the quietude of the rest of the experience especially when eager goers find their way clamoring through the lobby to find their way to the roof. And, if you are on the highest floor, you will find yourself irked by the noise. So, make sure to book yourself in a room no higher than the 15th floor!

And, when you're ready to head back into the city, you will find Soho and TriBeCa at your beck and call, not to mention in one of the city's most accessible points. Though tucked downtown, you are a stone's through from the main access points to everywhere in the city.

As for the food, David Burke's cuisine, both in the restaurant and in-room dining is really stand out!

Room Tip: As above, avoid floors 16 and 17 for fear of the rooftop bar and pool activities keeping you up at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Eduardo B,

Thank you for continuing to choose The James for your travels to New York. It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed the personalized yet unobtrusive service our team provided. I’m happy you were able to enjoy all the features of the hotel from the unique curated art throughout the building to our restaurant, David Burke Kitchen, one crowd favorite being the central yet subdued location. I hope we continue being your hotel of choice in New York.

Best regards,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed at the James 1/23-1/26 & could not have had a better experience. Location, location, location! We wanted to do a lot of shopping, so this hotel is ideal for walking to all the premium shops that have moved into SOHO over the years. Also, some of the best food spots are in the area like Ben's Pizza, La Esquina, Blue Ribbon, Balthazar, etc... The concierge, Morgan, was kind & helpful- she helped get us in to some pretty exclusive clubs & also went above and beyond to celebrate our birthdays. Our first evening we came home to a chocolate covered red velvet cake that said "happy birthday" with a sweet note from the hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated with an awesome bathroom- see through optional (you can close the shade if you don't want the person in the bedroom to see you in the shower), and super comfy bed. Even though this was a girls trip, I would HIGHLY recommend it to couples, as they have some "fun" items on the mini bar & again the "see through bathroom". Lastly, they have a wine and cheese happy hour from 6-8 with good wine & cheese- which you don't always get when it is "complimentary". Then of course coffee and pastries in the morning. I can promise you we will be back & I have stayed at other "top" 4 and 5 star NYC hotels, but it is hard to beat this location and customer service. The A,C,E train is right there as well.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view- higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHC38429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear BHC38429,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got a full authentic James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and genuine approach to guest service. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging Morgan. She’s a huge asset to our team. Hopefully you can return when the Urban Garden and rooftop plunge pool are open to enjoy the warmer weather. Until your next visit.

Warm regards,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed at The James in December for a combination business trip mini vacation. Loved the location. So close to shopping in Soho and really great restaurants as well. Easy cab ride up town to Rockefeller Center and more shopping. Staff at the hotel very friendly and very accommodating. Loved that they had coffee and snacks in the lobby in the morning. The lobby area is very bright and comfortable and a nice place to gather. Restaurant is really good too. Wish we had known it was dog friendly. We may have brought ours.

Room Tip: We didn't see any other rooms but we always ask for one close to the elevator. We did have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amt1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear amt1028,

So glad to see that you enjoyed The James’ prime location. Soho, with its boutiques and eateries, is one of my favorite neighborhoods. I’m also happy you appreciated The James Club Sky Lobby amenities. We use it as a medium to feature products of local vendors. Most importantly, yes bring your pet next time! The James is proudly pet friendly so we look forward to welcoming you and your pet on your next stay.

Sincerely,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Location convenient to SoHo, Tribeca, Greenwich Village make this excellent choice for exploring lower Manhattan. Hotel is attractively modern in feel. Staff first rate, amenities only average for its cost, room was fair at best. Arrival was smoothly handled by pleasent staff. Received Strawberries/Champagne for our anniversary. Burst pipe had taken out passenger elevators and lobby a major inconvenience for entire stay but no price accommodation offered. Table and single chair small and uncomfortable. TV viewable by two only from bed. Bed comfortable but pillows very small and poor quality. Storage barely adequate for two people for two days. King Deluxe room had little room for anything other than the bed. Room was for sleeping and showering, don't plan on doing any work, dining or lounging.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear james c,

Thanks for taking time to share about your stay, happy belated anniversary. I wanted to personally apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. The extreme weather got the best of our building but the good news is that we've completed repairs and taken preventative steps. Our guestrooms are standard to New York City; hopefully the loft-inspired glass windows and under bench storage creates more space. The Sky Lobby, restaurant and rooftop bar are available for dining or meeting purposes. Overall, I’m glad our team left you with a positive impression. Thank you again for the feedback.

Best regards,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were in the city just for a fun night. And from the time we checked in until we checked out we had a great experience. The shopping was close and less crowds than staying near times square. We stayed on a very cold day and it was still fun. It helps that they have wine and cheeses in the evening. And restaurants in the hotel, so you don't have to leave if you don't want to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Mr. Richard G,

I’m proud of our team for leaving you with a positive impression of The James. You’re absolutely right with our prime location in Soho. It makes for a unique New York experience while avoiding the hustle and bustle of Midtown. We appreciate you taking time to share about your stay.

Thanks,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

The James was a fantastic experience. My boyfriend and I stayed one night in a deluxe room and enjoyed the accommodating and friendly staff, delicious David Burke kitchen located right downstairs and in room service. There were also complimentary snacks and beverages in the lobby throughout the day which was lovely. Scones and coffee in the morning, fruit and water in the afternoon, wine and cheese in the evening and cookies for dessert. The room was clean, bright and had a simple and modern soho design with fantastic bath products and rainfall shower as well as comfy robes and slippers. Overall it was one of the best hotel experiences I have had yet.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Emily S,

It’s great to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your visit. Thanks for such a kind review. I’m glad you were able to experience the amenities we offer, especially The James Club Sky Lobby. Whether through the wine or scones, it allows us to showcase local vendors. Hopefully you’ll return very soon. Until your next visit.

Sincerely,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stay here. This is an excellent hotel situated near fun shopping and dining in SoHo. The staff, the views, the design, the location... all are excellent. The rooftop bar, "Jimmy", offers amazing views of the city and even has a pool. We are still raving about our stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr. John P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear John P D,

So glad you chose The James for your visit to Soho. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all our features and get a well-rounded experience. We really appreciate your recommendation and hope you return the next time you find yourself in New York.

All the best,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#176 of 469 in New York City
3,011 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#90 of 469 in New York City
970 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#73 of 469 in New York City
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#123 of 469 in New York City
3,130 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#248 of 469 in New York City
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York - SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York - SoHo

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $300 - $648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York - SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York - SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James New York - SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing