We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Kid-Friendly”
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #164 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Kid-Friendly”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked with the James because of their "Lil James" kid-friendly claims and location. The location did turn out to be great!I have a toddler son that constantly travels with us and its nice to find a place with a few perks for him. This was not the place as advertised. Once our crib arrived to our room we discovered the mattress did not fit the crib and no crib sheet or special blanket (per website) were provided. No kids menu at the restaurant. No carseat offered. No space to play. Big disappointment as far as being kid friendly. If you're looking for a place to stay without the kids this would be an option...but not my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ab L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ab L,

I wanted to personally apologize for the lapse in service you experienced regarding our lil’ James program. It’s a new program we launched and has room for improvement. We are taking your feedback very seriously and I truly appreciate your patience and consideration. Just to clarify, some of the items (e.g. jogging stroller, car seat, etc) are arranged upon request. We will work to streamline the process and hope you are open to another opportunity for us to show you a true James experience. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    343
    122
    68
    37
See reviews for
147
635
70
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great if you want to be in SoHo. Just remember that SoHo is very far south - so for tourists Chelsea or Midtown might be better. Unless of course you are about nightlife, in which case this would be a good choice.
Rooms are nice but nothing special. They have that annoying glass bathroom with the huge shade that goes up and down. I happen to hate that. The outdoor areas (there are a few of them making this very unique in NYC) are lovely and almost worth the price of the hotel. There aren't too many choices in the area - and this is a good one. It did seem a bit nondescript and boring but besides the glass bathroom had no issues with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinAkron_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear kristinAkron_Ohio,

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay. It’s unfortunate that you did not appreciate the peek-a-boo shade in the bathroom but I’m glad you found other qualities of the hotel enjoyable. Our Urban Garden and rooftop plunge pool are features that make us unique. Thank you for considering us a preferred choice in Soho. We look forward to your next visit.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We selected The James Hotel for its location and I'm glad we did. It was within walking distance of most of the places we had on our list. The staff went out of their way to make sure all four of our rooms were on the same floor. The views from our corner King studio were amazing and our one bedroom apartment had plenty of room for our family to gather in before we headed out to dinner or shopping. We loved our stay and would definitely choose The James when we return next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mr. James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mr. James L,

Thank you for choosing The James for your recent visit to New York. I’m very happy to hear that your family found comfort here. The warmly modern aesthetic and expansive windows allow for unbeatable views and natural light to pour into each room. We would be ecstatic to host you on your next visit to New York. Thanks for sharing about your stay.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
243 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I always stay mid town and this trip I wanted to shake things up so I booked 4 nights at The James. I booked it because I love the area and always end up down here for dinners and meetings.

I checked in on the second floor and loved the layout of the lobby. It was around 5PM and they daily happy hour was going on in that area. They bring out wines and cheese plus some crackers and other treats. I think it's a great way to unwind and meet people. Loved it.

I went to my room and they had given me a corner room facing the freedom town that was small but very nice. The bathroom was just great with a view of the city from the tub. Nice!

I think if I stayed a little bit longer, I might upgrade for more square footage, but this worked fine.

Staff was so nice and by the time the next morning rolled around, they called me by name. I like that personal attention. Who doesn't???

The area is typical SoHo and such fun to walk and discover. Great trendy shops with tons of bars and restaurants within walking distance. if you haven't stayed down here, grab a seat on the subway and walk around. Your coolness factor rises with each step you take.

I tried to book the hotel on my last trip and it was sold out, so maybe I'm on to a great property.

I'll try again.

Room Tip: I had a corner and it was a bit larger than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterisacksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Peterlsacksen,

So great to hear about your recent stay with us. I definitely agree with you on the neighborhood. Soho is vibrant without the hustle and bustle of Midtown, glad you found comfort here. The James Club daily amenities are also another one of my favorite features. We use the wine hour to feature local vineyards. We look forward to having you as our guest again. Thank you for the review.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a super friendly hotel in a great location with many great bars and restaurants close by. Chic hotel rooms with great storage space and delightful bathroom products to wake you up! As a tourist you can easily get to Staten Island Ferry, Brooklyn Bridge and jump in a cab to access Midtown and further north. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank C E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear CoWil,

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Being in the heart of Soho is unbeatable so it’s great that you were able to enjoy our location. I’d also have to agree with you on the luxurious environmentally-thoughtful bath amenities. Thank you for taking time to write a review. Until your next stay.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

On my last to visits to NYC, I've had to forgo staying at my all-time fave NYC hotel (Trump Soho) due to avails...and have found a nice little gem in the James NYC. This boutique property has a distinctive style that really gives it a true feeling and character seldom found in NYC properties. My most recent trip was a week long stay for work.

PROS:
--extremely friendly and accommodating staff
--spacious rooms with a nice design. Contemporary. Clean lines.
--HUGE windows and no views of a building wall (my biggest pet peeve in NYC)
--location is convenient to most things
--they believe in added value. Complimentary wine and cheese in the evenings. Complimentary coffee and scones in the morning.
--food was quite tasty. Good selection. Of course overpriced...but hey--it's NYC. What do you expect?

CONS:
--indoor common space is small...the lobby area is the size of a small library. So, if you're wanting to meet and mingle, but indoors, may not have much option besides the restaurant
--I was a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of my room when I checked in. They were at capacity the day before, and I think they rushed cleaning. I had to have them come back and do some things over...but they were very accommodating
--thin walls...you can hear everything going on in the hallway, and that's with people speaking at average volumes. I didn't run into issues sleeping, but I was also VERY tired every night.


Overall, a nice 2nd choice for a soho/tribeca area stay. I definitely recommend the property

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, aim for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLHotelLuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear ATLHotelLuva,

Thank you for taking time to share about your stay. I apologize for the housekeeping oversights and am happy you left with a general positive impression of the hotel. It’s great that you felt the unique personality the hotel draws from vibrant Soho/Tribeca. Your recommendation is deeply appreciated and we hope you return soon.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Well priced hotel for the service and room. I stayed in a king room and it was well maintained and great amenities. Staff were very helpful always friendly and location is fantastic :-) room service was quick and meals were hot and high quality! From the doggie treats outside it seems pet friendly too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Rebecca2388,

You were right, The James is very pet friendly! Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit to Soho. I’m happy you were able to find comfort in the warm ambiance of our hotel. We would be delighted to host you again in the future and hope you return very soon.

Mark Hanoka
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
844 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 468 in New York City
2,936 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#59 of 468 in New York City
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#222 of 468 in New York City
837 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#133 of 468 in New York City
3,031 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing