We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, great location, and nicely designed hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James New York

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The James New York
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, great location, and nicely designed hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for five nights and could not be more pleased with our choice. The SOHO location was convenient for shopping and eating, and there was an excellent playground four blocks away for our four year old. The Canal St. subway station is just a block away.

Rooms are clean, new, nicely designed, and a decent size for NYC. It's not a large hotel, but there's a beautiful lobby with a useful business center and a small gym with a killer view. It's really nice when hotels offer free wifi in the rooms and in public areas!

What really made our stay enjoyable was the excellent staff who were always friendly, professional, and went out of their way to help us with transportation and logistics. Their service compares favorably to any of the five star hotels I've stayed at in the states and abroad, but with the intimacy of a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear khc425,

Thank you for taking time to share about your recent stay. It is when we receive feedback as positive as yours that our team’s hard work comes into fruition. It is wonderful that you were able to appreciate the warmly modern guestrooms and our prime Soho location. However, I am most proud of our team for providing genuine service that left you feeling welcomed and cared for. We truly appreciate the humbling remarks and hope to welcome you back the next time you travel to New York.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    332
    118
    67
    34
See reviews for
142
622
70
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

CHIC - the interior designers get high marks for coming up with a contemporary ambiance that is both chic and comfortable. (Yes, the rooms are quite small but the space is used so well that they are very comfortable) Super convenient for so many fun neighborhoods. Very welcoming and helpful staff. No suggestions for improvement (and I often do have suggestions!) - the whole experience was impeccable for us - absolutely delightful. Highly recommended and we will be back.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a higher floor room and would do so again - great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickmacs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear mickmacs007,

I wanted to personally thank you for the rave review. It means a lot to our team that you felt welcomed. The James strives to provide the ultimate luxury liberated experience with residentially-inspired rooms that exude the vibrancy and warmth of Tribeca and Soho. We are lucky to be located in a major art, culture, fashion, architecture, and gastronomy hub.Your recommendation means a lot to us. We are constantly improving so please feel free to share feedback. We look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you find yourself in Soho.

Warmly,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I cannot really fault The James, although I must confess that I did not come away with a feeling that the level of comfort was always commensurate with the cost. Our family of 3 adults and 1 teenager stayed for 6 nights in what is marketed as a “family suite”, being two adjacent rooms (a “corner king studio” and a queen standard guestroom) which are not inter-connecting but which have (a rather flimsy) outside door which closes off the two rooms from the public corridor thus allowing some privacy moving between the two adjacent rooms. We have had similar arrangements elsewhere (Paris, Rome), which worked well because the internal doors could be left open when needed, but at The James this is not possible because the internal doors cannot be held open. Tying the door handle to the cupboard handle with a sock in order to hold it open was hardly the sort of solution I expected to have to use in a “luxury boutique hotel” (although it worked quite effectively).

Taking into consideration the cost per night, the rooms are very small – the standard queen even qualifies as minute – although we got used to it eventually. There is a paucity of cupboard space, no carpets, and the bathrooms are functional if not overly large or aesthetic. On the whole, rather a spartan décor - but the beds were definitely comfortable and the rooms are well maintained and spotlessly clean. Quite a bit of noise from the corridor at night. A welcome plus is free WIFI throughout the hotel, a pleasant change from the daily rates charged in most hotels.

Service was courteous, efficient and responsive. All our requests were handled promptly. The Concierge was helpful and friendly, and a special thanks must go to Eric the Doorman, who acted swiftly to avert disaster and very quickly arranged alternative transport when our car service failed to arrive to take us to a show (Book of Mormon, no less).

Public facilities are rather meager, the lobby lounge is a bit nondescript, but the gym is well equipped and located on the 17th floor giving a great view. The lounge/bar on the top floor was packed every time we ventured up there, it seems like a popular evening venue. Unfortunately the weather was still rather chilly so we did not get to enjoy the outdoor facilities, although the “plunge pool” on the roof is precisely what it says it is.

Location is good, somewhat on the edge of Soho’s shopping district, but still within easy walking distance, as is Greenwich Village nearby. Proximity to the entrance to Holland Tunnel causes quite severe traffic congestion in the area during peak hours. There are a lot of excellent restaurants in the vicinity, and the concierge was very helpful in that regard. The David Burke Kitchen which is in the basement of the hotel (a “partner” venture), offers meals to house guests including breakfast. It was not really to my personal liking, but the cuisine was certainly of good quality.

In conclusion, what the James lacks in space and comfort, it makes up in excellent service. However, the overall experience somehow lacks the “wow” factor that I believe one is entitled to expect from a facility which markets itself as a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAEL3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there over the Christmas and NYE in a Corner Room. The room was a decent size for New York and we did have a great view as it was a Corner Room. We didn't have any problems with sounds form the bar (I suspect as it is Winter and hardly anyone is up there).

My husband and I love boutique hotels and this hotel was divine. There is lots of artwork all over the hotel which we loved. The staff uniforms are very different and all staff were very helpful too. Location was very good with 2 nearby subway stations and easily walkable around SoHo. Loved their toiletries too.

The rooftop bar was good unfortunately was too cold for us to properly enjoy.

We did have a meal downstairs, I wouldn't recommend it. Much better places to eat at in New York, but was convenient for us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloudy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Cloudy J,

We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I apologize for any oversights you encountered in the restaurant. I am very happy, however, that your general impression was so positive. The James is driven by three core values; we strive to be Environmentally Thoughtful, Locally Inspired, and Community Focused. Your attention to the details of our property is greatly appreciated. I would be delighted to welcome you back to enjoy JIMMY as the weather warms up and back to the hotel the next time you find yourself in Soho. Thank you again.

Warmest regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just got back from a 3 day weekend getaway at The James. The Hotel was very clean, well kept and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The self serve coffee in the Lobby in the morning was wonderful,as was the free Wifi..
Morgan at the concierge desk was very knowledgeable and recommended great restaurants nearby, taking care of the reservations which were confirmed by email to us. This was very appreciated.
We did not try the Hotel restaurant but did go to Jimmie's for a drink on 2 occasions...we found it a bit young for our age (53 & 57), so we did not linger very long.
A special thank you to Erik the doorman, who made the Taxi hunt a bit more bearable for us who were new at this "law of the jungle" and were taught to be more assertive.
Overall a very nice and clean Hotel which we would not hesitate to recommend in the Soho area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_Peter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Linda_Peter2,

Thank you for staying with us. I am very appreciative for the positive review; it’s such a pleasure when guests have so many wonderful experiences to share. Details like our luxury liberated approach to service, our stylish yet comfortable rooms, JIMMY rooftop bar, and prime location in vibrant Soho. Also, thank you for recognizing and mentioning the work of our team members. Morgan and Eric will appreciate the special mentions. We hope to see you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights with my family and enjoyed the location. We were able to walk to many great restaurants and shops. The rooms are small, even for New York standards, but nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a great shower and intelligent nutrients toiletries which I loved. The only setback is that you can hear a lot of the noise from the rooms next door. The doormen Eric and Michael were very sweet and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor so you get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Ana715,

I wanted to personally thank you for sharing about your stay – I am very proud of our team for leaving you with a positive impression, especially Eric and Michael. Thank you for noticing the Environmentally Thoughtful bath amenities, The James strives to prioritize that core value in all ways possible. I apologize for any noise disturbances you experienced. We welcome other opportunities to endear you to the hotel and thank you for your consideration. Until your next visit.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Friday night and the bar was packed with workers and tourists alike creating a good atmosphere. The drinks were spot on; gin and tonic had a generous splash of gin. Tip: Go to waitress at side of bar to avoid the wait for the barman.

Best part was the view at Sunset on deck around pool making it an excellent but brief experience.

Helpful?
Thank Danroslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Danroslyn,\

JIMMY rooftop bar is one of the great features that make The James truly special, it’s 360 degree unobstructed views of Lower Manhattan, craft cocktails, and vibrant ambiance makes it a local gem. Our Urban Garden is officially open for the season as well; hope you can stop by for a relaxed afternoon cocktail as the weather picks up. I sincerely appreciate you sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing