We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice SoHo Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James New York-SoHo
Ranked #162 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Nice SoHo Hotel”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I liked The James a lot. The rooms are small, but that's to be expected in NYC. The hotel itself is very nice. They usually have a bit of food or wine out in the lobby. The rooftop bar is fun, and the restaurant was good. The location is excellent. I would stay here again. The only reason I don't give it top ratings is that the housekeeping was a bit irregular, and there were a few other small issues. Nothing serious, though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erock1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear erock1974,

Thank you for taking time to share about your stay. I apologize for any hiccups you experienced but am happy to see you left with a generally positive experience and would consider returning the next time you find yourself in Soho. It’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy The James Club Sky Lobby daily amenities, JIMMY rooftop bar, and David Burke Kitchen. They are three features that help make The James truly special. Thank you again. Until your next stay.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    349
    123
    70
    38
See reviews for
150
642
73
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Beautiful design
But very disappointed in the functuallity in the room. The drapes should be on a motor. The hand held shower is weird, no dresser for clothes, no body lotion, no room for clothes in the closet, no room for luggage, nice booze bar. No room for toiletries in the bathroom.
Nice view though.
For some reason we were not allowed in the dining room."..........
Chris and Eric are extremely nice!

Room Tip: Sorry can't help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Laurie M,

Thank you for providing feedback. I apologize that you did not find our guestrooms the right fit and we missed the mark in exceeding your expectations. It is very odd that you were not allowed in the restaurant but that may have been due to the change over period restaurants experience between meals. I am proud that Eric and Chris made a positive impression on you. We welcome another opportunity to endear you to the hotel the next time you find yourself in Soho. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The James is my new favorite hotel in my home city. The staff is incomparable--they took care of every need, even fixing a mistake I had made with the reservation. The hotel is immaculate and luxurious--but having stayed at many beautiful hotels, I can say that the service at The James is at the top. Everyone is kind and thoughtful. We plan on staying here for our "nights away" every opportunity we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkbNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear wkbNewYork,

We would be delighted to continue being your preferred hotel for “nights away.” Our warmly modern aesthetic, residentially-inspired guestrooms, and central location in Soho make for a wonderful escape and authentically New York experience. More importantly, I am proud of our team for making you feel welcome and cared for. The James strives to provide genuine yet unobtrusive services and your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share about your time with us. Until your next stay.

Warmest regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent a weekend in NY. The location of The James is great. Very convenient for a shopping trip. The hotel is chic and stylish. Beautiful design of the lobby. The room was small but with a great view and a very comfortable bed. Stylish bathroom with big shower. Our room was not super clean, also the maintenance of the furniture in our room could have been better. Even though complementary breakfast was offered, one day at 11am there was nothing left. We did enjoy our stay in the hotel but there are some little flaws.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sandra F,

I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The James. It’s definitely one of the features that makes our hotel so special. To be near all of the shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and sites of Soho is hard to beat and definitely less stressful than Time Square and Midtown. Please accept my apologies for oversights you experienced regarding housekeeping and breakfast. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you can afford to, try it. The James Hotel is a top, top notch hotel.
It doesn't surpass the Firmdales or the Soho Houses as destinations when it comes to visiting and chilling out at during the day/night time.
But to stay, it certainly does!
It's all about experiencing the atmosphere, visuals, quality of surroundings and service that makes this hotel so impressive. Congrats to them. We left saying a) we'll be back & b) 'wow, they really nailed it'!

Room Tip: pay the $16 a night for the room upgrade, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear HMK83,

I wanted to personally relay my gratitude to you for such positive feedback. Our team’s hard work comes into fruition when we are lucky enough to welcome guests such as yourself. Thank you for your attention to detail and consideration for future stays. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself in Soho.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, from the valet staff to the rooftop bar - we had a fantastic time! The area is great for wandering around and soaking up the atmosphere.
Best bit about the hotel was to sit out in the sunshine having a few cocktails on the rooftop bar during the day before a quick dip in the pool and then back up at night to see the city's lights. Great atmosphere and the staff could not do enough to help.
The rooms are spacious we had a corner room which had amazing views on 2 sides of the building. The bathroom is not huge, no bath but excellent shower. The bed was bigger than average and very comfy.

Valet parking was worth the money - the staff took great care of our car.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - glass on both sides of the room give it an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westendmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear westendmari,

Thank you for the positive review. I would have to agree with you on the rooftop plunge pool; it is unbeatable on a scorching summer day. More importantly, I am very proud that our team made you feel welcome. We strive to provide attentive yet unobtrusive service. Thank you again. We would be honored to continue being your preferred hotel in New York City. Until your next stay.

Warmly,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

...but after that, tho I think the hotel wants to be first rate, it falls short, mainly by design.
Dont get me wrong, it is a nice hotel, chic, clean, bright, but the way some things are laid out is just not comfortable. The most glaring example to me is the lobby on the 2nd(?) floor, there is very little in way of guidence for one to know that unless you are already on the elevator (which by the way is also hard to figure out as there is more than one when you walk in and little to tell you you are on the wrong elevator) The first impression of the hotel fo me was not welcoming, just a bare cold lobby with invisible direction. The guy at the door should have provided some assitance but alas, we hauled our bags onto the elevateor with other people only to find it didnt take us were we wanted to go. And hey, I'm GOOD with direction. This was just too minimalist were it needn't be. I get the cool factor that some hotels don't even put the name on the front, but geez, where do I check in after a long trip?
In the early afternoon we called ahead to see if our room would be ready, they said not til after 3. Fine. So at 4, after finally finding the (tiny) checkin desk, we are told the room is still not ready, given a card for a free drink downstairs (which elevator is that again?) and we enjoy a wonderful cocktail. One drink and an hour later the room is still not ready so we enjoy another fine drink. An hour and $52 later the room is still not ready so we leave the bags at the tiny desk and head out into wonderful Soho. A call an hour later later has the info our room is 'almost' ready and probably will be by the time we get back. Geez i need a shower. At 7 we head to the hotel and finally get a room and 30mins to shower and dress for a dinner.
The view from our room is vast but not that intersting looking out over the concrete park at Ave. of the Americas and Grand in the winter, but at night head to the rooftop bar for a great view of the lower city. The pool in summer must be awesome up there.

Room Tip: The view facing west leaves a bit to be desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear stargazer14,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your time with us. I apologize that we missed the mark in exceeding your expectations. The boutique and luxury liberated aspects of our hotel deviate from tradition so may take time to warm up to. I certainly hope you are open to another opportunity for us to endear you to our property, perhaps during the warmer season to visit the pool. Thank you again for providing a review.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 466 in New York City
883 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#169 of 466 in New York City
2,955 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#62 of 466 in New York City
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#225 of 466 in New York City
906 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#124 of 466 in New York City
3,064 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 466 in New York City
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York-SoHo

Property: The James New York-SoHo
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York-SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing