We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool rooftop bar with dj”
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #164 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cool rooftop bar with dj”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Inside and outside area on roof. Also a terrace bar downstairs. We had a great time except the doorman wouldn't let one of our guy friends in. He probably showed attitude to the doorman and deserved not to be let in. ;)
Next to cool bars and restaurants. Hot people.
Swimming pool on roof.
$700 a night for a room that's not large.... welcome to NY.

Room Tip: Corner king studio has nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampagneVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Charitita,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. It’s great to read that you were able to enjoy one feature that makes our property special, JIMMY. I would have to agree with you, the views from guestrooms and the roof are impeccable. New York City is typically tight with space but our guestrooms’ loft ambiance and open windows hopefully make up for it. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanks again.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    343
    122
    69
    38
See reviews for
147
636
70
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I spent 8 nights at The James last August. We are 71 years old and was our first time there.
My daughter indicated to us and we enjoyed it very much. We used to stay at some big hotels in Midtown NYC and The James at Soho is a nice place to stay.
We prefer to travel by bus in NYC instead of Subway. In a short walk from the hotel we use to take the M5 bus to Midtown at 6th Avenue and we returned back taking the M20 bus at 7th Avenue.
We recomed that hotel.
Aries Borges, from Brazil

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariesborges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear AriesBorges,

I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The James. It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. To be near all of the shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and sites of Soho is hard to beat and definitely less stressful than the Times Square and Mid-Town areas. Please send our sincerest gratitude to your daughter for recommending us. Until your next stay!

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I celebrated her 70 birthday spending a week at the James and at no point did either of us regret it. Close to all the major subways, terrific SOHO restaurants and neighborhood buzz. The James' staff are the friendly, personable type we've come to expect from a boutique hotel. They really do seem to have genuine smiles and offers to help. Morning coffee in the lobby, evening wine and cheese, and bedtime cookies give this modern high design hotel a home-like quality. Last but not least: one of the most comfortable hotel beds ever and definitely the best pillows! Wow!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Retiredactive,

Thank you for such a kind review. We strive to provide every guest with a luxury liberated experience, especially those celebrating occasions as special as birthdays. I am so happy to see that you had a fantastic time. Our team’s hard work comes into fruition when we receive feedback as positive as yours so your sentiments will certainly be relayed back to the team. As for the warmly modern guestrooms, I would have to agree with you on the beds, they make for a very rested night. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The James is breathtaking from start to finish..........the stylish decor, the very wonderful staff, the views, the bathroom shade (so inventive), Jimmys Rooftop, the Urban Garden and Treehouse are amazingly designed and so tranquil amongst a city that is bustling! The neighborhood that hosts The James is one that offers plenty of inviting galleries, pubs, restaurants, and shops. Upon arrival, we told the staff that my husband and myself were staying the night for my husbands birthday - we went to our room, then to Jimmy and when when we arrived back to our room - there were cookies and a birthday note left for him on the table! HOW THOUGHTFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love this place - can't say enough. You took my breath away James!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure if you are traveling with pets, you give the hotel advance notice for room placement that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn08753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Dawn08753,

We are sincerely grateful for the glowing review. Your incredibly kind sentiments will be relayed back to our team. It is great that you and your husband enjoyed your time here, especially on his birthday. You pointed to some of the features that make our hotel truly special, including JIMMY, the Urban Garden, Treehouse bar, and most importantly, our hard working team members. We strive to exceed expectations by providing a luxury liberated experience and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself in the SoHo area. Thank you, again. Until your next stay.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Second time at The James and we will come back. This hotel definitely has it´s own charm and it feels very homely as it´s not too big.I stayed there for eight nights with my son and daughter and we all loved it. The staff are really friendly and professional and you really like them all.
We have stayed at several hotels, like The Meridien, The Alex, Thompson 60, Thompson Les and Soho Grand,but.this is the best.
.

Room Tip: Corner suites are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerranB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear KerranB,

Thank you for taking time to write a review; it is always great to hear from returning guests. I am delighted to read that you and your son and daughter felt welcomed and was left with a positive impression by our team. We strive to exceed guest expectations. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and it’s really wonderful to see that work pay off. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself in the SoHo area.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Me and my lover had a wonderful stay at the James New York. From the amazing views, to the really cool bathrooms I just could not stop smiling. The James is a great place to stay for business or pleasure. I stayed there recently and purposed to the love of my life right in the bedroom! She said YES!! The James New York will always be a part of my life. Thanks James NY!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Mike R,

Congratulations on your engagement! Thank you for choosing to share such a special moment with us. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy our warmly modern guest rooms. I have to agree with you on the views; they are some of the best of downtown Manhattan. We are so glad we were able to leave you with a lasting impression and look forward to serving you again. Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The James for a weekend over the summer and loved it. All the positive reviews about the rooms, dining options and amenities are true. The reason I am adding to the reviews is to praise Chris who works at the desk in the lobby on the ground floor. He greeted us warmly, introduced himself, had our bags and car taken care of quickly and we immediately knew we chose the right place to stay. He was upbeat and pleasant despite the intense heat. Later in our stay he gave us some great recommendations on things to see during our visit that were not on the normal tourist route. He is truly an asset.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NextstopNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear NextstopNewZealand,

I am very happy to see how much you and your husband enjoyed your time with us. We strive to provide all guests with exceptional service and to receive feedback as kind as yours is humbling. Your sentiments will certainly be relayed back to the team. Chris, in particular, will appreciate the special mention. Our team members are our greatest asset and it is wonderful you were able to sense that. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you.

Warm regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
844 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 468 in New York City
2,939 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#58 of 468 in New York City
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#220 of 468 in New York City
838 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#132 of 468 in New York City
3,031 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#124 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing