We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere, good service and food, and lovely pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The James New York-SoHo
Ranked #162 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, good service and food, and lovely pool area”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just returned from a 3-night stay with my husband for my 40th birthday. The James is the perfect summer hotel, light and airy with great outdoor spaces. The room (Deluxe King) was typical NYC size, but the bathroom was a good size, with an excellent shower (rainfall and regular version too), and the bed was fantastically comfortable.

The pool area is lovely in the daytime, although a little crowded, but the atmosphere is nice and if you want a few hours guaranteed on a sun lounger then it’s probably best to get there by 9.30 a.m.

The only criticism would be that their room service is not very efficient. Twice in two days an order (or part order) was forgotten. To be fair, they were very apologetic and offered the food on the house, but I did hear one of the staff explaining to a guest who was requesting a special order at the poolside that it was best to keep it simple as the communication wasn’t always the best, so it sounds as though there is an ongoing issue. I’m not sure why this is, as the service in the garden and the main restaurant is spot on. We also ate at the David Burke Kitchen one night; the food was very good and the service efficient and charming.

It was, all round, a lovely stay, and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Julia H,

Thank you for the wonderful review and recommendation. I am elated to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay, especially on such a special occasion. It’s great that you were able to relax and experience the warm modernism of our hotel through the guestrooms and rooftop bar. I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with in-room dining; we are constantly striving to make improvements. Thank you, happy belated birthday, and until your next stay.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    349
    123
    70
    38
See reviews for
150
642
73
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

While the hotel is great, don't expect to find a towel or seat at the pool, especially on the weekend. Only locals at the pool who don't pay a cent to get in. When you are paying a lot to stay at a hotel, this is very disappointing. If you don't go upstairs to the rooftop on the weekend, you will probably enjoy your experience. Hotel clean and has all the standard facilities but I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear skc s,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the guestrooms but am disappointed that you were inconvenienced on visits to the pool. The rooftop pool is exclusive to hotel guests with the exception of weekends, when the adjacent bar opens to the neighborhood. Providing this amenity for our hotel guests is a priority so the frustration you expressed will not be taken lightly. We can only improve when guests provide candid and open feedback so your review is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The views of the city are spectacular from this hotel - from my room, the exercise facility, or the roof top bar. It's really a very lively hotel, stylishly designed, and very comfortable. It's a great spot for just wondering around Soho, shopping, and very close to numerous restaurants. I found the location more convenient than midtown particularly if you don't mind taking the subway, and with much more charm. I had a room with a king size bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear geode,

Thank you for the kind review. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The James. It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. To be near all of the shopping, restaurants, coffee shops, and sites of SoHo is hard to beat, definitely less stressful than Time Square and Mid-Town. I am delighted to read you were able to enjoy the impeccable view in our various guest spaces. We look forward to your next stay.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

Great new hotel.
Rooms are good, not huge but adequate. We stayed in a deluxe King room which was clean, comfortable and had a good view of the new World Trade Centre buildings. Staff are very helpful and personal. Rooftop pool is amazing as is the bar. Only negative is the hotel does not have views of Midtown NY (I.e Empire State or Chrysler buildings) however everything else is great.
Great location!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelcOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear ChelcOz,

Thank you for the review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay and pointed to some of the great features of our hotel, the warm yet modern rooms, our unobtrusive yet attentive service, and energetic yet characteristic SoHo location. They are all key components in providing a luxury liberated experience. Thank you again for taking time to share – until your next stay.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

In some ways this might appear a NYC modern hotel. But a couple of standouts (warm service, great rooftop deck, good location) make it worth a visit.

I was greeted by Eddie at check-in, who was a really pleasant. Set a tone for good service throughout my stay. Room was nice, nothing mind-blowing. Pretty good view. Reasonably typical modern NYC hotel in terms of decor.

Rooftop is really cool. Great views and fun scene. A standout part of hotel and reason to stay.

If you are going to take advantage of the pool/roof, note that you want to make sure you do some advance planning.

During the weekdays the roof is nice and chill. Not crowded. Weekends get really crowded late afternoon, but it's a great day party. Arrive early and get seats. Lounge chairs need to somehow be reserved.

The roof is sometimes closed for private events, and even when it isn't, there can be hassle at the door at night, esp if you are with a group. If there is a night you want to go, get the concierge to get you on the list.

Overall I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattcubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear mattcubed,

Thank you for taking time to share the details of your stay; it’s great to hear that you’ll consider staying with us again on your next visit to the New York area. I am happy to read you were able to experience two standout features of our hotel, the rooftop pool bar and our vibrant SoHo location. We also take pride in our Team so Eddie will truly appreciate the mention. Thank you, again, for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and myself stayed at The James for just under a week earlier this month. I'd read a lot of the reviews here and was sceptical as to whether the staff could be as helpful as everyone said they were. Having experienced them first hand ....the are really great, very helpful and made us feel at home.

Other than that, really enjoyed The James. Fantastic location, near some great restaurants and the subway. Room was nice and quiet so both of us slept very well. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear jim w,

Thank you for a great review. I am elated that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that the positive Trip Advisor reviews of our Team were reaffirmed. We are very proud of our staff and feel that they are our greatest asset. It’s also wonderful that you got a chance to experience two great features of our hotel, the comfy beds and being situated in the vibrant SoHo area. Thank you again for staying with us – until your next stay.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from the James for a little anniversary getaway (19 years!), and was completely satisfied -- Of the myriad NYC options, we wanted something downtowny without "trying too hard" -- The James was all that. Incredibly comfortable bed, stunning views (corner room facing south east on the 14th floor), friendly but laid back service, with a Zen aesthetic. But with more liquor -- nice in-room bar.

The roof bar Jimmy swings more to the trendy, but as old fogeys we were still comfortable, and the pool is a great asset in the right weather -- also, try to grab one of the complementary orange bicycles to tool around the streets of Soho -- the bike lane starts right outside the door!

Room Tip: Again, it's worth paying more to get the corner suites -- The room isn't teeny, and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gedz07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear gedz07,

Happy Anniversary! We're proud to have shared in your special celebration. It's great to hear that we were able to provide the type of experience you were looking for. We aim to provide luxury service but liberated from a traditional luxury experience so our guests can feel more comfortable and at home with us. We hope to see you back for your next weekend getaway!

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 466 in New York City
880 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#169 of 466 in New York City
2,955 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#62 of 466 in New York City
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#225 of 466 in New York City
905 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#124 of 466 in New York City
3,063 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 466 in New York City
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York-SoHo

Property: The James New York-SoHo
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York-SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing