We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sadly disappointing for a business traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The James New York - SoHo
Ranked #189 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2011

i've stayed at the james a number of times since it opened. love the location, decor, restaurant / hang out spaces, touches like the tea/coffee/pastries in the morning. i'm a frequent traveler to NYC and have stayed at the mercer, crosby, soho grand, James.
a few stays ago though, i did not get my scheduled wake up call which caused me to be very late for an important meeting. i mentioned it to the person at the front desk who apologized, and i assumed it was a one time mistake.
but - on my stay this week, i did not get my scheduled wake up call on time or at all ALL OF 3 MORNINGS. i just can't believe it. the first day, it was 10 minutes late. yesterday, it was 15 minutes late.
last night when i called to ask for a wake up call at 8:20am, i asked the front desk person specifically to please make sure i got a call because the previous 2 mornings i'd gotten my morning call 10-20 minutes late. i just got the call - it's 8:45am. for someone with jet lag who needs to get a morning meeting, that is just unacceptable. thank goodness i set my watch alarm expecting them to be late.
for a hotel charging over $500/night, i am shocked that this one area is so unprofessionally done. James hotel please fix this - business travelers need to be able to count on you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maceystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

This was the second time we stayed at the James this year (the first time was in April this year). I must say that the staff is MUCH friendlier and extremely helpful (perhaps all the negative reviews had a postive impact?). We loved the room, the wooden floors and the awesome bathroom. My partner and I chose an angle room and unfortunately we were given a room on the 3rd floor where the views are disappointing compared to the higher floors.

The roof top bar was breathetaking: wow that view! Unfortunately, the room cleaning was disappointing: thourough cleaning is a must for a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: Try the alla carte breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Greetings Natfrank,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your guest experience. I’m so happy hear that you felt and noticed an overall improvement during your recent stay over your first stay. We’re constantly striving here to grow and improve the service of our hotel and it’s great to see it’s showing through. I know we have things to improve on like making sure next time you don’t have any issues with your room cleanliness. I also hope to accommodate you with a better room view the next time you’re here, though as you said it’s hard to top the roof top bar view. Thanks again, we all look forward to seeing you back here at The James.

Warmest regards,
Jeff Hentze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The room was exactly like my grad school dorm...stark and cold with cheap furnishings. The bed was acceptable but the air conditioner was not producing a constant temp. so the room got hot then air kicked on until too cold then warmed up again to the point of feeling the need to kick off covers. Does not make for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeMDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the James Hotel in early October and had a fantastic time. The only was regret was not carving out more time to spend in the hotel.

We went to NY to celebrate a special occasion and were surprised to find the hotel staff has a special treat waiting for us in our room. This was a fantastic way to start our trip, especially after a late night flight from L.A. I also enjoyed the short ride on the glass elevator up to the lobby, where I’m told they have coffee and pastries in the morning, some kind of snack during the day, and wine in the evening.

Every hotel employee we encountered was happy to help us whenever we had a question or request, especially the doormen. They helped us with car service to the airport, which is way better than a cab and surprisingly not too pricey—ask about it. There are also cool orange bikes in the lobby for use.

We upgraded to a corner room, and it was totally worth the extra $$. Even though we didn’t have the curtains open all the time, the view was incredible when we did. Speaking of views, the rooftop bar is not to be missed, especially at sunset. We are in our early thirties, and found the crowd to be somewhat hipsterish, yes, but not annoying—if that combination is possible. There were certainly guests in the hotel who did not fit that description in the least and seemed to be getting along just fine. We went up there a couple times and it was actually pretty peaceful. Take your camera.

As for the room, the bed was hands down the most comfortable I have slept in. Ever. My husband is a frequent world traveler and he agreed. We liked the big rainfall shower as well. A bathtub would have been nice, but space is at a premium, of course. Housekeeping did a great job and we were happy to return to our room every day. I also enjoyed the carafe of filtered water the hotel left for us near the bed. My only gripe is that one night our phone was not working and all we wanted to do was order room service, but we didn’t have the energy to complain, so I can’t fault the hotel as they didn’t even know the problem existed. As I had consumed a moderate amount of alcohol that night, I probably would have ordered something I would regret in the morning. So perhaps the universe was looking out for me.

Neighborhood is great. In the heart of Soho, very close to the subway, and easy stroll to West Village to hang out, or head the other way to Little Italy when you have a craving for cannoli, which is right now. Speaking of food nearby, we had breakfast/brunch twice at a place around the corner on Broadway called Sanctuary T, which I highly recommend. There’s a place a few doors down from that called the Cupping House that has good Eggs Benedict. We popped in to Café Noir, right across the corner from the hotel for a late night snack and were not impressed. They actually forgot about us after 2 rounds of drinks and never took our order. David Burke Kitchen (in the hotel) seemed like a great place, but the menu was not really exciting for a vegetarian so we passed, much to my carnivore husband’s dismay.

Thank you to The James. We will gladly return.

Room Tip: Opt for a corner view room. If you are considering it, just do it already!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelacatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, General Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear angelacatz,

It’s so wonderful and fulfilling to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at The James. We also appreciate that you choose to come to The James to celebrate your special occasion with us. I’m glad that you found such value in upgrading to a corner room and that the bed gave you such a comfortable night’s sleep. It really seemed that during your time here you two were really able enjoy nearly all the amenities within the hotel, such as the complimentary items in The James Club Sky Lobby and the bikes we have for guest use, as well as outside of the hotel in the surrounding Soho neighborhood. Thanks again for staying at The James; we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
General Mananger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Ignore the review by "Disappointing"- - we just returned from a 3 night trip here and it was superb. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Guests have full access to the roof top bar from when it opens at 5pm. After 9-ish you need to book for a seat but you won't be turned away of you are happy to stand. It was our 10th wedding anniversary and the complementary bottle of champagne was a great touch. Beds are very comfortable and air con works well, rooms bright and light. Location is fantastic with a load of great bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Plenty of shopping on West Broadway etc if that flicks your switch.

Room Tip: worth the extra money for a larger corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear Paul R,

Thanks for spending three nights with us, and again, happy 10th anniversary. It such a pleasure when guests choose to come and celebrate their special moments with us. We hope to see you on your next special occasion here at The James.

Best regards,
Joe D'Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Staff more bothered how they look than how they treat their guests. Small rooms. No evening turn down service (should do but do not bother. Complained twice.). Only 1 bar (bar upstairs with pool is only open after 9.30pm and only if your on the guest list). Usually stay in similar boutique hotel, but this is the worst I have stayed in and would recommend you chose another.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulwhite8270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Hello Paulwhite8270,

We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us this past weekend . You certainly should have received turndown service on Saturday night to which we sincerely apologize and JIMMY opened late Thursday night due to a private event. Our team should have directed you to one of the other two bars that were open within the hotel. Our staff takes a lot of pride in the friendliness and attentiveness that we offer to our guests so we are very disappointed that we have failed to meet your expectations or that our refund of one night was sufficient. If you would be willing to give us another chance during your next time in New York, please feel free to contact us directly.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hotel perfect for soho shopping trip. Hotel is very modern and has a great rooftop gym and bar. David Burke restaurant was ok. The concierge gave great dining recommendations.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolrunnings_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

Hello coolrunnings_10,
We're glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Best regards,
Jeff Hentze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#166 of 471 in New York City
3,065 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#89 of 471 in New York City
1,028 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#85 of 471 in New York City
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#253 of 471 in New York City
1,144 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 471 in New York City
503 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#25 of 471 in New York City
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York - SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York - SoHo

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $231 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York - SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring SoHo's southwest corner, The James New York – SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York - SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing