We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky but fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #154 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quirky but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The James takes its status as a boutique hotel very seriously. We enjoyed the intimate conviviality with staff and concierge and the complimentary cheese and wine in the evening. The fitness center is great and so is the (very popular) rooftop bar if you can squeeze in. Dinner at the adjoining David Burke restaurant was not all it was cracked up to be, at least for us, but we understand they are still making adjustments to the service (dismal) and menu (pretty good). All in all, we enjoyed our small but ingenious room and would definitely return. Try for a high floor!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    332
    118
    67
    34
See reviews for
142
622
70
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

First time I've stayed lower than 40th and I'm kicking myself for not doing it sooner. Situated in Soho amongst bars and boutique shops with a bit more character than you find on 5th, but handy for subway (2 minute walk to the nearest line and then 15 minutes to 5th). Seemed a very new hotel; clean, well decorated and aircon to die for. Good quality bedding and decent double-glazing - if you've not stayed in NY be prepared for traffic horns and sirens. Floor to ceiling windows throughout including a glass wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom; remember to drop the blind if you want to avoid putting on a 'show' for the office workers in the blocks opposite.

Liked the open-air bar on ground floor although a little pricey. Same goes for bar on roof but worth it considering the views. You're not going to be doing laps in the small pool but its great for cooling off. A few loungers and chairs, although space is a little on tight side - fine when I visitedthe roof during the week but packed on Saturday. Until 9 the bar's for guests but after 9 its open to the public (the pretty crowd) and numbers are restricted; being a guest doesn't mean you get priority.

On the whole the staff were superb but we did have a bit of a run-in with one waiter with a bit of an attitude problem but that wasn't going to spoil our stay.

I definitely recommend this for both business and pleasure; smart and stylish but not too up itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up - near to 17 as you can go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I would probably rate The James New York higher if I hadn't stayed at The James in Chicago before. I LOVE The James in Chicago, but the New York version didn't live up to my James expectations.

The room itself was fine (very modern and cool), and the staff was awesome. The Soho location was also great. But I missed the warmth of the room design of The James in Chicago, the full-sized bottles in the minibar, the Kiehl's amenities, the amazing service. Overall, it was a good stay, but it wasn't what I expected.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yyzcupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay at The James exceeded my expectations! We had a room on a high floor with a great view of the river. The room was clean and modern. I loved the glass wall in the bathroom. It really made the room look spacious. The staff was professional and helpful. They really made me feel special and pampered since it was my birthday. We had lunch outside in the garden and went to Jimmy's on the roof for drinks. I know nothing is perfect but this seemed as perfect as it gets. The soho neighborhood is very cool, great shopping and restaurants. I will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The king room was a great upgrade, definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judi521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dearjudi521,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent stay at The James. We love It when guests take in the entire experience from JIMMY to the Garden Terrace of David Burke Kitchen to enjoying our guest rooms. We are excited you had such a great birthday weekend with us and hope to welcome you back next year!
Best regards,
Joseph D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I've lived in NY for a long time, and this is the first time I've been to a bar that has a great vibe, personable bartenders, a gorgeous view, outdoor patio, and a genuinely cool crowd that isn't try too hard. The 9:00pm cut off to hotel guests only is a brilliant policy that gives guests a unique privilege, while also keeping Jimmy a best kept secret for New Yorkers in the know.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheetohsaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Hello cheetosaddict,
It's great to hear from a NYC local about JIMMY nestled 18 stories atop The James. We're glad that we've been able to encompass all that JIMMY is and that locals such as yourself and our hotel guests can enjoy it together.
Best,
Joseph D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I would recommend this hotel because the staff was attentive, it was clean and affordable.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear R0bbie87,
Thanks for the post. We appreciate the comments!
Best,
Joseph D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed at the James Hotel New York these pst two days, the hotel is very nice, clean, cool looking and well staffed, need help at this hotel ask, Michael R at the door, Randolph H as well.... Need someting from teh front desk, ask Dan Marshall he and Tennile Boyd are the absolut best, let me just say this does not go for all staff, some need a little bit of learning on how to deal with answering clients. This hotel offers many emenities....or does it.... wast of time if you need a united service hotel.... the roof top is great looking but managed by some upthigt people, the restaurant has good food but is so very complicated, cant sit here at this time, cant eat there at that time..... come on this could be the greatest hotel in New York...... JUST NEEDS TO COORDINATE.... on vacation or for business,,, we all like simple. Simple answers, simple navigation in our hotel please. If you want acces make sure to bring a pad and pen otherwise.... you will get lost in what you are allowed to do!! Cynthia Hotel guest room 606 James New York July 2011

Room Tip: pen and paper.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiencyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Dear Candiencyn,
Thank you for your comments regarding some of our team members. We will be sure to share your kind words with them. As the restuarant and rooftop bar have quickly become very popular spots in New York, there has been a high demand for access which we are working with their management so we could better accomodate our hotel guests to become, as you suggested, the 'greatest hotel in New York'. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Joseph D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing