We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We just returned from our long weekend in NYC where we had a studio at the Stanton Street location. This really is a great option for seasoned travelers who don't expect many perks. You have a clean, safe, comfortable space to kick back in while in town. The rooms, while comfortable, are not without their qwerks. If you were not aware prior to your arrival, the Stanton location is essentially a set of second floor units located above a yoga studio. Remember that you're not booking a room at a hotel, but a studio above a functioning business. Outside of business hours, you're flying solo! The room itself was adequate for our needs. It's not perfect by any means, but then again, I'm willing to bet that your own home is not in perfect shape. We had some loose fixtures in the bathroom and the shower thermostat is plumbed backwards (red=cold, blue=hot). Likewise, the property is strictly vegetarian so you should not be using the kitchen to cook meat products. But then again, you're staying in the Lower East Side, a cultural and foodie gem. We never once used our kitchen other than heating water. The heating/cooling system was a little janky as well. We found it difficult to maintain a steady temp, but it was loud enough to drown out any city noise from outside.

It's about a 10 minute walk from the Delancey/Essex station which can easily get you just about anywhere you would want to go directly or with a single transfer. We arrived via JFK and took the AirTrain and J line all the way in without a problem.

When all is said and done, we would easily snag one of these studios if we found ourselves staying on the LES again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPGryphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    56
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
78
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Really is a sanctuary in the Lower East Side (Stanton St location). Modern building that lives up to the photos on their site. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children and were very comfortable in the Rama suite. Full kitchen, very clean, great value with the winter pricing. Great location in a "real" neighbourhood. We Will definitely be back, but be aware, this is not a hotel with the usual hotel services. The staff are there if you need them, but don't expect to see them otherwise.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

all ok, good value for the money. It is not as easy as it should be to locate staff when you need them, but the rooms are nice and well equipped. Good location if you are searching for the NYC of real ppl, not the 1% we see on tv. Subway close, great restaurants and bars nearby, laundromat and grocery stores/ market too. Overall, worth considering if you are in a travelling budget.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed 4 people in the Sita Suite.
It was very spacious,with a room for the kids,
and a really nice big bathroom.
The neighborhood was great with a lot of good restaurants at reasonable prices.
I'll defintely stay there next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Aside from the location - which is right in the heart of the lower east side (NYC), home to beautiful, kitschy shops, amazing restaurants, and great music and entertainment venues - the rooms are fantastic! Plenty of space, little to no noise from the busy city streets, comforting aesthetics, and a mission statement that anyone can get behind, Sanctuary Guest Suites is the only place I stay when I take a trip up to NYC, whether it's for a week or just overnight. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here a few times now, amazing property that is very reasonable. Very clean and tastefully done. Im in NYC Frequently for work and this is my new lodging fave in the city! Juice bar and yoga downstairs is a bonus :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steviebcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed a few nights during our first trip to NYC. The Sanctuary-Stanton exceeded our expectations with its atmosphere. Many hotels are clean and comfortable; but here we truly felt at home--and enjoyed that it was extremely clean, had a VERY comfortable bed (and that's important to us), was quiet, very nicely equipped, decorated, and furnished, and was very spacious. We didn't feel like visitors to the City--we were treated as guests of the neighborhood; and that made us feel comfortable and welcomed. The atmosphere was so relaxing and uplifting; and the location was great. We walked to many sights and restaurants, felt very safe, and enjoyed the convenience of the neighborhood grocery across the street. A short cab ride took us into the popular tourist areas, and after a long day of touring overload it was awesome to "come home" to The Sanctuary in the quieter LES. The name definitely fits! We will ALWAYS come back to stay here during future trips!! HIGHLY recommended for travelers (business or tourists) who enjoy a warmer, quainter, quieter place to rest, relax, and settle into home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minutegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#375 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#88 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#188 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#113 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#110 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary NYC Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Property: Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Address: 196A Stanton St, New York City, NY 10002-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 195 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary NYC Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary NYC Retreats was established by a group of health, eco, and spiritually conscientious travelers. They came together with two ideas in mind: To provide other travelers with a peaceful, retreat-like stay in NYC and to create an opportunity to give back to our community. Each suite at Sanctuary features a fully equipped kitchen and a flat-screen cable TV. The suites are decorated in warm colors and Indian folk art. Select rooms have a sofa bed and private patio. Complimentary continental breakfast is offered Monday-Friday only. The Lower East Side is the oldest neighborhood in New York City and presently one of the most fashionable in Manhattan. Once the home for working-class European immigrants, the LES has become one of the trendiest areas in the city full of cool boutique hotels, bars, restaurants, yoga studios, fashion stores, health food stores, art galleries and live music venues. Iconic artists like Marlon Brando, Robert DeNiro, Lou Reed and Leonard Cohen used to live on our street and countless movies and TV shows are filmed around throughout the year. Just blocks away is the Delancey/Essex Subway Station and a quick train ride to Midtown (Union Square, Flatiron District, Empire State Building, Times Square and Central Park) or Brooklyn (Williamsburg, DUMBO). A few minutes walking and you can be anywhere Downtown: East Village, SoHo, West Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and East River Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sanctuary NYC Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing