We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed 4 people in the Sita Suite.
It was very spacious,with a room for the kids,
and a really nice big bathroom.
The neighborhood was great with a lot of good restaurants at reasonable prices.
I'll defintely stay there next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    58
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
79
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Aside from the location - which is right in the heart of the lower east side (NYC), home to beautiful, kitschy shops, amazing restaurants, and great music and entertainment venues - the rooms are fantastic! Plenty of space, little to no noise from the busy city streets, comforting aesthetics, and a mission statement that anyone can get behind, Sanctuary Guest Suites is the only place I stay when I take a trip up to NYC, whether it's for a week or just overnight. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here a few times now, amazing property that is very reasonable. Very clean and tastefully done. Im in NYC Frequently for work and this is my new lodging fave in the city! Juice bar and yoga downstairs is a bonus :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steviebcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed a few nights during our first trip to NYC. The Sanctuary-Stanton exceeded our expectations with its atmosphere. Many hotels are clean and comfortable; but here we truly felt at home--and enjoyed that it was extremely clean, had a VERY comfortable bed (and that's important to us), was quiet, very nicely equipped, decorated, and furnished, and was very spacious. We didn't feel like visitors to the City--we were treated as guests of the neighborhood; and that made us feel comfortable and welcomed. The atmosphere was so relaxing and uplifting; and the location was great. We walked to many sights and restaurants, felt very safe, and enjoyed the convenience of the neighborhood grocery across the street. A short cab ride took us into the popular tourist areas, and after a long day of touring overload it was awesome to "come home" to The Sanctuary in the quieter LES. The name definitely fits! We will ALWAYS come back to stay here during future trips!! HIGHLY recommended for travelers (business or tourists) who enjoy a warmer, quainter, quieter place to rest, relax, and settle into home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minutegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at Sanctuary Guest Suites a number of times. What keeps bringing me back is the zen-like atmosphere, the accommodating staff, and the super comfy beds.

It also really nice to stay at place that gives back to their community the way Sanctuary does. They are involved with a program called Food For Life-- which feeds the homeless of NYC at Tompkins Square Park every Mon,Weds, &Fri. They encourage to come volunteer as well.

All in all: if you are looking for a nice welcoming accommodation with a wonderful staff-- this is the move for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

My reviews always try and give an overview of both good and bad. This review is going to sound like I am moaning about a lot of things! We stayed at the Stanton street location. Firstly we had no problems with the area, we walked around at night and came back late on the subway numerous times.
Staff are only there 9-5 and even then are conspicuous by there absence, often "out somewhere" or in the back room.
Breakfast was very poor, we were down for the start of breakfast on the first morning. Cereal, bread for toast, tea and coffee and fruit. The coffee was cold and the hot water for tea the same. Didn't bother after that.
The room itself is spacious, clean and well appointed. Good size kitchen, comfy bed, decent bathroom. Sink in the bathroom is small and the water pressure in that sink very poor.
The room ONLY gets cleaned when you leave! you can empty your own rubbish, make your own beds etc unless you want to pay them an extra $30-40 dollars.
Now the worst parts for us, The fridge is pretty much next to the bed (i understand this can't be helped in a suite) but my when it starts up in the night is it loud, woke my Mrs up nearly ever night. (the bed was very comfy however) The walls are very thin, the first 3 nights we could hear a baby waking up between 3.30 and 7.30 and the parents just let it cry which was great for us trying to sleep (again the baby crying is not the suites fault but if the walls were better insulated...) then we had a woman shouting at her boyfriend another night and boy does sound carry in this place.
The room has a decent sized wardrobe however most of the space is taken by a foldaway bed and they provided 6 hangers.......6!
My biggest bugbear though came from the sign on the fridge which i have taken a picture of and posted for you with this review. You are NOT allowed to prepare/eat meat/fish/eggs in your room! what is the point of having a suite with a kitchen if you can't prepare food. One of the main reasons we picked it was because of chance if we didn't want to go out we could prepare food! I would never dream of telling a vegitarian they had to eat meat. Strange how they draw the line between milk and eggs.......

Overall I liked the room and the comfy bed, but there are to many negatives to recommend this place. Its a strange place apparently all about Zen etc etc seemed more about making money and doing little for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SuperFJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to sanctuary guest suites and it won't be our last...is in a great location, rooms are fab and the staff very accommodating and friendly..wouldn't stay anywhere else....the lower east side is the place to be great bars restaurants and boutiques.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emma n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#99 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#380 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#205 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#142 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#104 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#2 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary NYC Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Property: Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Address: 196A Stanton St, New York City, NY 10002-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 197 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary NYC Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary NYC Retreats was established by a group of health, eco, and spiritually conscientious travelers. They came together with two ideas in mind: To provide other travelers with a peaceful, retreat-like stay in NYC and to create an opportunity to give back to our community. Each suite at Sanctuary features a fully equipped kitchen and a flat-screen cable TV. The suites are decorated in warm colors and Indian folk art. Select rooms have a sofa bed and private patio. Complimentary continental breakfast is offered Monday-Friday only. The Lower East Side is the oldest neighborhood in New York City and presently one of the most fashionable in Manhattan. Once the home for working-class European immigrants, the LES has become one of the trendiest areas in the city full of cool boutique hotels, bars, restaurants, yoga studios, fashion stores, health food stores, art galleries and live music venues. Iconic artists like Marlon Brando, Robert DeNiro, Lou Reed and Leonard Cohen used to live on our street and countless movies and TV shows are filmed around throughout the year. Just blocks away is the Delancey/Essex Subway Station and a quick train ride to Midtown (Union Square, Flatiron District, Empire State Building, Times Square and Central Park) or Brooklyn (Williamsburg, DUMBO). A few minutes walking and you can be anywhere Downtown: East Village, SoHo, West Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and East River Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Sanctuary NYC Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing