We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yeah, you stay here on your own...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yeah, you stay here on your own...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The localisation of this suites is in lower east Manhattan. This means that you need to take a taxi or metro to reach the midtown. No room cleaning or no linen changes during 9 day stays. But "if you want" they give you some bathroom amenities such as toilet paper or shampoo. Room was very noisy due to the airconditioner. Yes, you can stay here on your own and be sure that you will not see anybody around from hotel staff. Based on my experiences; services provided not to meet the required fee, too. I didn't like this place to stay and never recommend to anyone...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    60
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
83
45
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here in sept 2012 with my partner( at stanton street). We couldnt of been more happy when we seen our room,its was amazing everything you could need in one place. It was clean,very spacious was very suprised by that,bed was so comfy and all staff very helpful and it was in a prime place for travel with the train station just up the way.What made my stay even more special was that i got engaged while in new york which means this stay was even more special for me and i cannot wait to come back and stay with the santuary guest suites. Anyone looking to stay in new york should come and stay here without a doubt,you deffinately get what you pay for and more. I love this place .

Helpful?
Thank Vikki E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here with my family and we couldn't have asked for better. Right in the middle of where we wanted to be and quick access to everywhere, this hotel provided a serene, spacious room with all the amenities we would need. I gave a very good rating to service simply because I didn't need any.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This review is for the 3rd street location. I would define this "suite" as a small Manhattan apartment. It was very clean and updated. We had an issue with a non-working refrigerator but management was quick to help and supplied a small dorm refrigerator. Our apartment was towards the back of the building so it was nice and quiet. The subway and Whole Foods were only a few blocks away, both very handy. I had two safety concerns, the apartment did not have smoke detector and there was no upper deadbolt lock (the kind that can only be locked from inside). Overall, good experience and would recommend for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threeboys03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After 20 years living in NYC we moved to MA a few years back but visit Manhattan 3-4 times a year to see friends etc. Ater several shaky experiences with VRBO, we finally decided to given this place a try and highly recommend. Mario was SO welcoming and helpful, we knew we were on the right path were longer stays (4 days min) are concerned (for shorter stays we stay at Washington Square Hotel). Small but beautifully renoved aparments abound in the 3rd street location, though most area walk up so note if you have limited mobility! Very clean, nicely appointed spaces, and location is steps to the village and soho, a short cab ride to much of the rest of Manhattan. Subways are only about 3-5 blocks (several lines) so if you're up for it, navigation is super easy. Place and location IS NOT MID TOWN (which I avoided, even when I lived in city), but tenement type location in which the area was gentrified 10-15 years ago (and still going). Everything is small shop and restuarant, which a european flair to boot.

Room Tip: Note that building is a walk up (no elevator!), so be prepared to walk up/down flights of stairs dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenl372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in the Chakra suite (at 196A Stanton Street) and had a great stay there for five nights. The building has an elevator (a must-have on our list) and the suite was attractively furnished and seemed quite new. We were at the front of the building and whilst there was some traffic noise at times, generally it was quiet (although the fridge was somewhat noisy).

The studio was just as lovely as pictured in the photos, even more spacious than expected, with a very comfortable bed, nice cotton bed linen and a well equipped kitchen. We had good Wi-Fi reception which was free.

The Lower East Side is a great neighbourhood and we felt safe walking around, there are lots of places to eat close by, Wholefoods is a few blocks away if you want to stock up, we liked The Meatball Shop, great atmosphere (had takeaway as the wait was an hour for a table), Katz Deli is also nearby as is Russ & Daughters. The subway is a 7 – 10 min walk and we used nearby buses to get up to Union Square or to Downtown … and walked a lot. We enjoyed the nearby Tenement Museum (on the corner of Orchard Street and Delancey Street) where we did the “Irish Outsiders” tour – so if you are interested in the social history of the LES you may enjoy this place too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rangi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location and breakfast when the other guests don't eat it all first or take it for their other two meals. Ensure your arrival time is repeated back or you will lose half a day. Shower must run for at least 30 mins before getting warm, never gets hot. The team are welcoming, free computer is really handy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realistic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#389 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary NYC Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Property: Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Address: 196A Stanton St, New York City, NY 10002-1809
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary NYC Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary NYC Retreats was established by a group of health, eco, and spiritually conscientious travelers. They came together with two ideas in mind: To provide other travelers with a peaceful, retreat-like stay in NYC and to create an opportunity to give back to our community. Each suite at Sanctuary features a fully equipped kitchen and a flat-screen cable TV. The suites are decorated in warm colors and Indian folk art. Select rooms have a sofa bed and private patio. Complimentary continental breakfast is offered Monday-Friday only. The Lower East Side is the oldest neighborhood in New York City and presently one of the most fashionable in Manhattan. Once the home for working-class European immigrants, the LES has become one of the trendiest areas in the city full of cool boutique hotels, bars, restaurants, yoga studios, fashion stores, health food stores, art galleries and live music venues. Iconic artists like Marlon Brando, Robert DeNiro, Lou Reed and Leonard Cohen used to live on our street and countless movies and TV shows are filmed around throughout the year. Just blocks away is the Delancey/Essex Subway Station and a quick train ride to Midtown (Union Square, Flatiron District, Empire State Building, Times Square and Central Park) or Brooklyn (Williamsburg, DUMBO). A few minutes walking and you can be anywhere Downtown: East Village, SoHo, West Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and East River Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Sanctuary NYC Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing