We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect place in East Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary NYC Retreats to your Saves list
Sanctuary NYC Retreats
3.0 of 5 Specialty B&B   |   196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place in East Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here multiple times now and this is my go-to when in NYC. I was actually one of the first guest who checked in when they first opened!
So far I have stayed in Govinda, Rama and Sita. Govinda is still one of my favourite, it is spacious (easily accommodate up to 5-6), with full size kitchen, comfy queen bed and duvets, even the pull out couch are firm and comfy. Although staff is not on site 24/7, they are responsive and house keeping is excellent. Only shower in the bathroom which is okay. Location is perfect. price is reasonable for NYC standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropicalgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    52
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
72
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stinson Beach, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Negative reviews of the Nitay apartment had me concerned, but one look at our big, comfortable rooms made me quite pleased. It was perfect for us. Two double beds, separated by French doors, plus a pull-out futon; lots of closet space, full kitchen. Simple, attractive decor with exposed brick walls. It's a push to get up the 3 flights of steep stairs, so this apartment is not for everyone, but we loved it. We stayed during the week and noise was not a problem. As so many have said, Zach and Vishnu couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The neighborhood is fascinating & trendy, with lots of small shops; we enjoyed being next to the Hell's Angels HQ, dedicated to one Big Vinny, whose motto, "when in doubt, knock 'em out", is written on a plaque over the door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryAnn0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the location at 196A Stanton St. Our room was 'Om' and it looked just like the photos on their website. Everything was spotless and we had a good amount of space in our room. Plus we had a full kitchen and good size bathroom with full size shower. We paid $229 a night for our room and for NYC, it was an amazing price. It was a little bit of a walk to the subway when you consider we probably made the trip two times each day, but it's only a 5 minute walk. The rooms all seem to be on the 2nd floor, so there was street traffic noise, but again it's NYC. Those are the only negatives and for that, it's still a fantastic bargain. The bed is super comfortable, too. The room also has your own heater/air conditioning unit that you can control. Plus having a full size coffee maker in the room was especially nice. There is a liquor store one block away and lots of good restaurants within walking distance--Katz's Deli and The Meatball Shop were two that we tried, plus there is good local pizza 2 blocks down the street. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank soonergirl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
774 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 942 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I and another couple have just spent a week in 2 apartments Chakra and Om at 196A Stanton St,in the lower East Side. Apartments on second floor and there is a lift.
Location: on a quieter area of Stanton St, opposite a Deli and close to lots of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. This is a residential area so you can live like a local which is a lot of fun. The apartment is a short walk to main roads to catch a cab, bus or train. Also close to the East Village which has fantastic restaurants and bars.
If looking for a good coffee try Tiny's Giant Sandwich shop in Rivington St.
Great restaurants in area are The meatball Shop, Katz's Deli for lunch, Inoteca, Spitzers, Mission Chinese, Sauce to list a few. Also great cupcakes at Sugar Sweet Sunshine Bakery on Rivington.
Apartment: Large clean with lovely decor, comfortable queen bed, pillows a bit lumpy.
TV, Wi Fi which worked off and on in our room, very frustrating works better near the lift or downstairs.
The kitchen is large and clean with all mod cons which we did not use, fridge large but very noisy especially at night.
Bathroom small and clean all you really need though, shower hot with good water pressure.
Breakfast : basic, cereal fruit,juice and breads the same each day.
All in all this was a very good place to stay in the LES and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend these apartments to anyone wishing to stay in an apartment in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ok, my mom and I (my mom is 75) stayed here for 4 nights. We were chatised for our plane being late and not being there when we said we would. Breakfast was bread and cereal. They claim there is fruit but the morning I "tried" to eat there fruit was nowhere to be seen. No one at the desk so when we checked out we had to just leave the keys. There was a price list for breakfast things but the girl running the breakfast area spoke no English so no breakfast other than what was out. Room was sufficient but where others have said something about a hotel room the a/c was every bit as loud as any hotel room I've been in. We also had to wait 2 days for someone to bring us washcloths. They say they are "green" but you were supposed to dry your dishes with paper towels. How green is that? Never saw Zach once although he was more than helpful booking the room. I would not go back. I longed for a hotel room in Manhattan.

Room Tip: This is definitely for the more seasoned NY traveler. Not for rookies!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlynnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Stanton street property with a girlfriend in the Buddah room. It was such a great room with a private patio (which is really rare to find accom with an outdoor space in NYC!). It has a generous kitchen and really clean throughout. Location was great in LES and everything is really accessible either by walk, subway or a short cab ride. Didn't have the breaky or try the yoga classes but I'm sure it will be great! A little tip.... If you walk up Stanton to Clinton St and go left there's a little coffee shop with amazing pastries and bagels and great coffee!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brokov_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we stayed there 4 nights in July 2012 with my husband and 2 kids. Very good location and clean and charming. The manager Zach is very friendly. We were on 6th floor without elevator but a litle bit of sport killed nobody and you have a terrasse with a nice view. Starbuck is just at the corner and very closed to metro station and greenwich village !
I recommend this hotel and i will come back !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat91130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#53 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#186 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,940 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary NYC Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Property: Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Address: 196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary NYC Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary NYC Retreats was established by a group of health, eco, and spiritually conscientious travelers. They came together with two ideas in mind: To provide other travelers with a peaceful, retreat-like stay in NYC and to create an opportunity to give back to our community. Each suite at Sanctuary features a fully equipped kitchen and a flat-screen cable TV. The suites are decorated in warm colors and Indian folk art. Select rooms have a sofa bed and private patio. Complimentary continental breakfast is offered Monday-Friday only. The Lower East Side is the oldest neighborhood in New York City and presently one of the most fashionable in Manhattan. Once the home for working-class European immigrants, the LES has become one of the trendiest areas in the city full of cool boutique hotels, bars, restaurants, yoga studios, fashion stores, health food stores, art galleries and live music venues. Iconic artists like Marlon Brando, Robert DeNiro, Lou Reed and Leonard Cohen used to live on our street and countless movies and TV shows are filmed around throughout the year. Just blocks away is the Delancey/Essex Subway Station and a quick train ride to Midtown (Union Square, Flatiron District, Empire State Building, Times Square and Central Park) or Brooklyn (Williamsburg, DUMBO). A few minutes walking and you can be anywhere Downtown: East Village, SoHo, West Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and East River Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sanctuary NYC Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing