We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel just like a New Yorker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary NYC Retreats to your Saves list
Sanctuary NYC Retreats
3.0 of 5 Specialty B&B   |   196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Feel just like a New Yorker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Stanton street property with a girlfriend in the Buddah room. It was such a great room with a private patio (which is really rare to find accom with an outdoor space in NYC!). It has a generous kitchen and really clean throughout. Location was great in LES and everything is really accessible either by walk, subway or a short cab ride. Didn't have the breaky or try the yoga classes but I'm sure it will be great! A little tip.... If you walk up Stanton to Clinton St and go left there's a little coffee shop with amazing pastries and bagels and great coffee!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brokov_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    52
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
72
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we stayed there 4 nights in July 2012 with my husband and 2 kids. Very good location and clean and charming. The manager Zach is very friendly. We were on 6th floor without elevator but a litle bit of sport killed nobody and you have a terrasse with a nice view. Starbuck is just at the corner and very closed to metro station and greenwich village !
I recommend this hotel and i will come back !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat91130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hi, at the fourth time I've been in Sanctuary guest suites in 4 years, I decided to write.
I've been there in all situation: two times in couple, with 3 friends, and with mother and child.
Everytime it was all perfect. what you see in photos it's what you found.
My preferred suite is the Nirvana, but also Bala and Kurma are fantastic.
location is great if you like to live new york city from the inside, like a citizen and not like a tourist.
Each time I found fantastic people working there, very kind and professional.
never a problem in 4 times: it does it mean something or not??
I'm planning my fifth time there.
I really feel like home and they make me feel a newyorker.
I love it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annalisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

First of all I want to make sure that people understand which place I stayed at. We read some reviews for these guest suites which were mixed.
We stayed at the guest suites at 196A Stanton Street in the lower east side. They also double as a yoga retreat and cafe I believe. I understand they have other properties and I can only review the place I stayed.

This place was amazing from the apartment itself to the area that surrounded it.
We were a late check-in and contacted the staff to let them know. We arrived at 11.30PM and there was someone waiting to show us to our apartment and even offered to show us the local bars if we were interested.
The apartment itself was great. We stayed in the one called Sita. It was essentially a one bedroom apartment with a huge queen or double bed in the living room. They had access to cable TV, a neat and modern bathroom and shower and a cool courtyard outdoor area to sit and soak up the sun.
The staff were really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this place. They also just set up a cafe out the back and although I didnt try it, it looked promising. The whole place is tied into yoga and spirituality but they don't impose this or even really talk about it to the hotel guests unless you ask.
I believe there is wifi here as well and the cafe at the back looked pretty cool. We didn't make time to try it but given the way they work I would drop in next time I am in NY.

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, taking time to help me print a document, even giving me contacts and sending emails to me on the fly.

Great place!! Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loki112000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Visited New York with a friend for 6 days, (we had already stayed on 34 th street for 4 days). Had an apartment on the 6 th floor so be prepared for stairs! Very tricky with lots of bags. Enjoyed the rooftop deck, great views of empire state building at night, by day you get rooftops. The futon was comfortable in the lounge room. Kitchen very small, no table to sit at but clean and fridge clean. The TV didn't work and wifi was not reliable. We got a small refund for the TV not working.Enjoyed the coffee shop on the corner 'the Bean' it has wifi and nice coffee. Lots of bars and restaurants around. Hells angels not a problem. We didnt use there breakfast facility as it was in another building and did not look like a comfortable spot to eat breakfast so we made our own in our room. Easy to get around on subway. I would not recommend for families, more ideal for a couple as you don't need the futon and you would have more room. Enjoyed our stay and thanks to Zac for taking our bags up 6 floors.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Cleanliness: we found long red hairs all ovr the place and since neiter me nor my friend have long, red hair...well that must have been someones elses....and that in an amount!!! My friend doubted that the linnen was changed at all... I don' want to speculate about that...
Noise: I actualy live in the center of a big german city... but there was no way to sleep here without earplugs, even in the sixed floor...very noisy!!!
No elevator|: very high stairs... very exausting to the 6th floor...really nothing for people who are older or not that fit. I am pretty fit and really got annoyed myselve.
Very poorly equipped kitchen: The kitchen itself is pretty nice but very rare cutlery, pots (we had one small one, only!!!!) and other stuff. When we used the washing mashine, the thing was leaking heavily... so be carefull:-) ...
Breakfast: well nothing for me...I dont like to be cramped together and looking for a place to sit and bothering other people... we pferred tonstay in our appartment and have a little mor relaxed breakfast...

all in all ok... more less than more...will try an other location the next time definitively...

Room Tip: Choose an other location, simply:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemensHummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Chakra room was our home for 6 days New York and we appreciate our stay in this quite new apartment very well. Is is located in a vibrant though nice and safe area. With some good restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. The apartment is clean, nicely decorated, efficient and well equipped. The only minus was that the doorlock was not working properly.
There is a Wholefoods Supermarket in walking distance for all your breakfast stuff.
If you want to rent bikes go to the bike-shop on 2nd avenue, very close and they have nice bikes.
The price of the apartment is also is very reasonable.
Be aware that only a few hours per day there is someone at the reception. You have to be fully self supporting.
We would definitely go back and recommend it to the (little bit) more experienced traveller.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bredero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#53 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#186 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,941 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary NYC Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Property: Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Address: 196 A Stanton Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary NYC Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary NYC Retreats was established by a group of health, eco, and spiritually conscientious travelers. They came together with two ideas in mind: To provide other travelers with a peaceful, retreat-like stay in NYC and to create an opportunity to give back to our community. Each suite at Sanctuary features a fully equipped kitchen and a flat-screen cable TV. The suites are decorated in warm colors and Indian folk art. Select rooms have a sofa bed and private patio. Complimentary continental breakfast is offered Monday-Friday only. The Lower East Side is the oldest neighborhood in New York City and presently one of the most fashionable in Manhattan. Once the home for working-class European immigrants, the LES has become one of the trendiest areas in the city full of cool boutique hotels, bars, restaurants, yoga studios, fashion stores, health food stores, art galleries and live music venues. Iconic artists like Marlon Brando, Robert DeNiro, Lou Reed and Leonard Cohen used to live on our street and countless movies and TV shows are filmed around throughout the year. Just blocks away is the Delancey/Essex Subway Station and a quick train ride to Midtown (Union Square, Flatiron District, Empire State Building, Times Square and Central Park) or Brooklyn (Williamsburg, DUMBO). A few minutes walking and you can be anywhere Downtown: East Village, SoHo, West Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and East River Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sanctuary NYC Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing