We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Nights in New York, an awesome experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“5 Nights in New York, an awesome experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My daughter and I just stayed 5 nights at Langham and it was just fabulous. This was our first trip to New York, and we picked the hotel after reading the great reviews onn Tripadvisor. We where not dissappointet.
This was a surprise trip for my daughters 18th birthday, and when we arrived Derek, the PA had arranged for a cake, which was a really nice gesture. We had a large room with a super view of the Empire State building, and it was very clean and beautiful. The staff where all very friendly and helfull. We don't remember all the names, but a special thanks to Derek and Dennis at the concierge desk and the doormen John and Dwayne, and the lovely housekeeping staff.
We where lucky enough to make use of the hotel car, and it was our first time in a Maserati. Not a bad way to get to a restaurant.
The purpose of our trip was both shopping and sightseeing, and the location of the hotel is just great for doing both. I'm sure we'll go back to New York again, and when we do we will stay at Langham.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bente_foyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC, General Manager at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. I am so honored that you and your daughter chose to stay with us on your very first trip to New York.

I will pass your compliments onto our colleagues Derek, Dennis, John and Dwayne, all of whom were thrilled to be of service to you during your visit. I hope your daughter had a very happy and memorable birthday.

Thank you again for your business. I hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you again should your travels brings you back to New York.

Best wishes,

Francois-Olivier Luiggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    272
    91
    38
    23
See reviews for
557
767
79
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile


We stayed at this hotel for 16 nights! To be honest I've never stayed in one place for more than 10 nights, so for us this was a loooong stay. I booked this hotel because of certain features I thought would be suitable for us, it included a washing machine & dryer, it had a small kitchen, a bar area to eat and a separate lounge were the sofa can be converted to a bed. I was somewhat disappointed when I saw the room and there was no bar area to eat in, there was no room to actually prepare in the kitchen and there was no pantry or small cupboard or any area to put your food in. It wasn't a functioning kitchen, did I mention we were here for 16 nights? I mentioned my issues to the front desk about the room on day 2 but being the weekend they couldn't move us. I asked again on day 3, repeating my issues again to reception, they answered with yes we are looking into it and yes we'll move you soon. Then nothing else was done, no one spoke to us again, nothing was resolved. I really didn't want to waste my holiday talking to reception repeating myself over and over again. So the hotel did nothing, not even I'm sorry we can't help you, so we were left to think that they didn't really care, mind you we booked a suite and not just a room costing us $1000 a night, did I mention we were staying for 16 nights? Not the service you expect from a 5 star hotel, at least some communication would have been good, we got sent some complimentary cheese to our room, assume this was sorry but we can't help you?

Apart from that situation, the rooms looks like it's in need of an uplift. The walls needed re painting, the carpet was stained and it just looked tired. Not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. The housekeeping was annoying they kept taking stuff out of the kitchen but not returning it such as the saucepan, bread knife etc. We asked to restock the fridge with water & coke but they never got this right the whole time, they even took stuff out of the fridge once it was restocked. We could tell when the hotel was full as the housekeeping was kept to the bare minimum at these times. At the end of our stay it felt like the room was dusty and the bathroom a bit dirty.

There was no foyer area to relax in, there was a bar area but it wasn't suitable for little ones. Don't order breakfast downstairs, they had a small selection and it was very expensive for what you received. They didn't even know what a Bircher muesli was. The upstairs restaurant was ok but it felt like a corporate meeting place rather an an intimate dinner place. The service & food was just ok, you could find better & cheaper places in NY.

The only thing that made our stay bearable were the porters Saun & Jonathan. They at least greeted us and knew who we were, they made us feel welcome; sometimes (on rare occasions) we were able to use the hotel car which was a bonus. But from looking at the other reviews we didn't get any special treatments, no free tickets to the empire building.

If I was able to do this again I would definitely pick a different hotel. A hotel in the Soho area where there's more nice cafés and shops to go to, and just a nicer area. The langham is so close to the Empire State Building that you get a lot of tourist operators trying to sell you passes all the time, it's just not as pretty an area as Soho.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermyleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC, General Manager at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue in April. We strive every day to improve our guest experience and therefore take serious consideration of all feedback, positive and negative.

Our records show that you were initially booked into an Empire Suite but, based on your feedback about needing a sofa bed, we moved you to a Family Residence Suite. I apologize that this wasn't able to be done as quickly as you would have liked. We have a selection of suites with sofa beds but they are not available in all of our suites, so it was simply a matter of availability. I'm sorry, as well, that it wasn't clear to you that all the rooms didn't have this feature when you made your booking.

I have taken note of your feedback about our housekeeping team. I am sorry that you had that experience and will be working with them to correct it for the benefit of future guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. I hope that, should your travels bring you back to New York, you will give us another chance. I would be pleased to welcome you personally.

Best wishes,

Francois-Olivier Luiggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

By far some of the largest rooms in Manhattan. The kitchen is real with everything to cook your own meal. Attentive staff although the courtesy car was hard to get as it was always busy. Housekeeping and Bellmen were outstanding. Will return. Specially for long stays. Would only improve the size of TV's. They do not match the proportions of the room.

Room Tip: Family Suite was great. Would only add a second shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adbtesh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC, General Manager at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. I am so honored that you chose to stay with us when you were in New York.

I'm glad that we were able to ensure that you had a pleasant visit. I'm sorry that the house care was not always available to you. As it is available to all guests on a first-come first-served basis, the demand for its use can often be quite high. Thank you for understanding.

I hope we will have the privilege of welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Thank you again!

Best wishes,

Francois-Olivier Luiggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

When you arrive, the doorman says "Welcome to our place" and that sets the tone for the stay. The rooms are first class, the location is ideal and all the staff were attentive and helpful. A special call out of thanks to Lilyann who made a stay special from the very beginning. The Measure Lounge in the hotel is a great bar with an excellent atmosphere and wine and food menu. Also if you can, take the hotel car somewhere as that is a memorable way to get somewhere around Manhattan.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fred_Magee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Absolutely wonderful from the time you check in, till the time you leave. Everyone was extremely helpful and always had a smile on their face. Rooms were large for NYC and the bathroom was huge. Excellent location, easy walk to MSG. Special shout out to Patrick!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcgyver62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

WOW! This hotel was faultless! From the minute we stepped in on our arrival until we stepped out on our departure our experience in the Langham place was amazing. We got a complimentary ungraded to room 901 (pics attached) . We had a free mini bar stocked daily with 8 bottles of soft drinks and water, which in the heat was a very welcome service! We had an amazing view over 5th avenue with minimal traffic noise!
Cleanliness.... 100% room serviced day and night with daily fresh bed linen and thick fluffy towels
Staff..... Staff went out of their way to be helpful, there friendliness was genuine and very welcoming in a new city, they made every guest feel special and individual, and spent the time to ask how your day was and if they can help in any way,
Although we did not eat in hotel there was a vast source of info in the room telling the guests about the dinning within the hotel. On our last night we had cocktails in the bar, perfect end to a busy day, lovely cocktails with jazz playing in the background
Early morning until approximately 8am complimentary coffee and tea to take out we're available each afternoon this was replaced with ice cold flavoured waters, lovely touch
During our stay we didn't mange to take advantage of the spa but will def do this the next time we come
Thank u to all the staff at the Langham place for making our first visit to New York so perfect
Giving this hotel an EXCELLENT doesn't warrant how it was! Up and above excellent

Room Tip: We were room 901 and although looked onto 5th avenue we had no noise at all perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC, General Manager at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue! I am so honored that you chose to spend your 40th birthday with us.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you during your visit. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

I very much look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back should your travels take you back to New York.

Best wishes,

Francois-Olivier Luiggi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Langham Place hotel has an excellent location. we booked a family suite which was spacious and fully equiped with a nice view on top (25th floor). compared to many other big 5 star hotels, this one has the advantage that's it's not too big which makes it more personnel. the staff is very friendly and helpful, and efficient.
we enjoyed the small breakfast buffet at the ground floor which worked out well for us but for those that prefer a la carte there is plenty choice in the 1st floor resto.
evening time there was a good jazz band playing music and again we enjoyed the food on the ground floor resto.
a place we'll come back to.

Room Tip: book and upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,862 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing