We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specatacular hotel with spectacular staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #19 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at Langham Place in NYC for a mother daughter week-end with my two young daughters (13 and 9). What an unbelievable beautiful hotel. Not only is the hotel spectacular but the staff is there to wait on you hand and foot. The rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean, my daughters especially liked the TV in the bathroom through the mirror. The room was littered with all kinds of goodies all over the room for the girls, there was a plate of fruit with a note naming the kids by name welcoming them in chocolate, at night when we returned to the room there was a book for each girl on the respective bed for them to fill out, outlining their stay. The hotel is located perfectly in the City. Three blocks from The Empire State building, close to Central Park and Times Square. I would highly recommend this hotel for any kind of stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtics32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

First review I have ever written on Trip Advisor but I was so impressed with this hotel overall that I felt compelled to let others know about it. Beautiful modern hotel in the heart of New York, high standard of room which was spacious with a view of the Empire State Building, free soft drinks and coffee which was a nice extra. Great location on Fifth Avenue and was close to all the attractions and shops. All the staff were exceptional at all levels and could not do enough for you. We ate in the hotel a few nights, mainly downstairs because there was a Jazz Band and the food was good value. It was a welcome place to relax in the evening after a busy day seeing all the attractions. Beautiful restaurant upstairs which was more expensive and formal but lovely and well worth the extra cost. We had a wonderful holiday in NYC and the Langham Place Hotel made our visit even more special. Would definately go back in the future

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if it's a special occasion. They go our of their way to meet your requiremen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I staid here and found the hotel pleasant but not special as it lacks warmth and atmosphere ,which is evident even as one arrives.This was previously the Setai and was only rebranded about six months ago and they are still finding their feet.
This could be a great Hotel if the management get their act together and the planned refurbishment will address some of the minor problems in the rooms AND they employ more staff where needed.
The staff are very friendly and helpful on arrival and always through out our entire stay . The complaint was the slowness in actioning a request after an assurance of "Right Away Sir" being issued.THIS is the fault of the management as there is a chronic case of under staffing in many areas,making top class service difficult if not impossible to achieve.[the Langham in London a sister hotel,where the service shines]
There is no fixed check in or check out time,we were lucky and only had to wait a short time to be shown to our suite.
It was very spacious and even had a full kitchen and a first a washing machine and dryer within the accommodation a first in our40 years of travel which my wife loved off to CVS pharmacy at midnight for for washing powder!! A couple of small gripes there was lots of hanging space but no drawers or shelves and the bathroom amenities were below par for a hotel of this level and especially when compared with other hotels in the group.
Breakfast was very pleasant except there were only two waitpersons and a manager to serve all the room with drinks,clear tales and replenish the buffet. THIS is totally unfair on the staff and frustrating to the clients,who in some cases got very upset
Finally the Spa was a haven tranquility and luxurious pleasure here the staff were All charming and professional

Room Tip: Higher up for the views,avoid being next to young families as the rooms are not well sound proofed.B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent visit at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We rebranded in May this year however we have not made any changes in the design of the hotel. We have maintained our team and are constantly evaluating staffing levels to ensure we provide unparalleled service to all our guests. We are aware of enhancement needs, which we plan to address in the immediate future.
We greatly appreciate your positive comments regarding our flexible check-in times, the access to the private laundry facilities in your suite and the wonderful Spa team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. Please do not hesitate to contact our Executive Assistant to the General Manager, Natalie David-Szemes for assistance with accommodations at 212-613-8730 or at Natalie.david-szemes@langhamhotels.com

Sincerely,

Anne-J. Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel. When I looked out my bedroom windows all I could see was the magnificent Empire State Building. How fantastic was that!! The Langham Place Hotel is in the best shopping area in New York. First Class for everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cynlovat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed with my wife and teenage daughters at the Langham Place for a short mini break to NYC.

Excellent location for viewing the many sites.

I cannot praise all members of the hotel enough. The service was faultless at every level.

The rooms were spacious with a very comfortable bed - and surprisingly quiet for a city that never sleeps.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDixon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed in many great places in NYC, but the new Langham Place is my new favorite. The hotel is modern and decorated with the standard upscale Langham style. The rooms are a bit small, but this is to be expected just about anywhere in NYC. The bathrooms, however, are quite large with a soaking Japanese-style tub. Staff were wonderfully helpful in trying to find last-minute recommendations for my daughter and I on our short visit. They were super friendly and kind, as I've come to expect at the Langham hotels. Go for an executive room or club suite if you can splurge a bit. Those rooms are larger and the club access is a good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmgsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Don't normally write reviews, but just came back from a 4 night stay in NYC and I have to say this hotel was great.
The location was good (although high end stores are about 15-20 blocks up 5th avenue), close to Empire State Building, 10-15min walk to Time Square, Rockerfeller Center. The room size and decor was fantastic; modern, minimal and yet still had warm ambience. Very spacious bathroom with twin sinks, large shower cubicle and integrated TV in the mirror!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly Derek on the front desk and Frank on the door (who would literally run up and down fifth avenue to flag down a taxi for you!!). The hotel does have a complimentary car that will run you anywhere around the city but its usually always in use.

I appreciate the little extras that you often don't see in 5 star hotels like Free WiFi, free soft drinks in minibar, complimentary shoe shine and garment press on first night, free newspaper. In my experience these are services that many hotels charge.
I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sotiris z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 469 in New York City
4,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#26 of 469 in New York City
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $393 - $1,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing