We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exellent this Hotel is heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exellent this Hotel is heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our family travelled to New York in June 2013 and we sayed at the Langham Place on 5th ave for the second time. The hotel staff recognised us from our previous vist which was nice. Our room was not ready but they offered us complimentary drink in the Bar during the wait. They also offered us to upgrade to a gorgeus suite for free. This Hotel is heaven. Excellent staff and premises. The location is very good, near empire state building, shopping and good restaurants. We had lovley causual dinners reccomended by the staff. The gym is very nice with all the needed equipment. I can recommend this Hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannuHak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    272
    91
    38
    23
See reviews for
557
767
79
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Location is obviously excellent, many attractions are within walking distance, the Empire State Building is just two blocks downtown, and the 5th Avenue is an attraction in itself -- the only inconvenience is that it is also very noisy. Soundproofing of our room on 10th floor was insufficient to keep traffic noise at bay.
My definition of modern luxury encompasses many things offered by Langham Place. Very large rooms in New York, for once. We spent eight nights in a room (not a suite, mind you) where the rollaway bed for our adult son neither encumbered passage, nor made us fell cramped. Then many details, such as the free WiFi (rarely offered in luxury hotels), the Nespresso coffee machine in room, or the tasty chocolate chip cookies and pistachio shortbreads that the turndown service left instead of the more ususal chocolates.
Bathroom also very large, with separate tub and shower. A further nice touch was the TV screen hidden inside the bathroom mirror.
Breakfast at Ai Fiori was excellent, if expensive. The best pancakes I ever had in my life. Breakfast can be also had at Measure (ground floor), however this bar with live piano music in the evening was not designed for buffet breakfast, furthermore food was lukewarm and just run-of the mill.
Be warned that the hotel is frequented by celebrities, during our stay we had one pop singer and a soccer team. For three days we had NYPD barriers at the entrance to keep at bay teenagers in one case and sports fans in the other.
Note also that the hotel was formerly known as the Setai 5th Avenue, it is still mentioned under this older name in various guides and Web sites.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking 5th Avenue (low floors only, possibly) can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChooseyItalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this beautiful hotel. The room was huge, comfortable, clean and had everything you could need...and more. We had an Empire Suite with a living room, kitchen area, separate bedroom, a huge luxurious bathroom and a powder room, too. We stayed on the 24th floor with superb views of The Empire State Building, The Met Life Building, The World Trade Center buildings, Fifth Avenue and even a peak at the "ball" at Times Square. Views were ever changing with the time of day...gorgeous sunsets...city lights. Every staff member we encountered was beyond friendly, welcoming and helpful. The in-room dining, both for American breakfast and dinner, was prompt, hot, full of flavor and well presented. The menu had many interesting and creative options. Enjoyed a salad, entree, unique pizza and desserts. All delicious! Our short stay kept us from visiting the spa or fitness facilities, but the hotel's location was great for exploring the city. The Personal Assistants were very friendly and made sure everything we spoke of, and even a couple of extra treats, happened just as planned. Definitely would return and highly recommend! For a special splurge, select an Empire Suite for the different views from every room and, even, the huge soaking tub!

Room Tip: Higher floor with corner room to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEC1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

we had fantastic stay at the hotel
clean new trendy freindly not really a boutic hotel but not too big
personal and very proffetional service
the best location i ever had in NYC
the only problem is the noice arrising from the 5th ave. in the morning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirrachmaninov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Arrived late afternoon to the hotel and had to wait for our rooms for a while but we were compensated with welcome drinks at the bar. Room that we stayed in was a very spacious and clean Premier Place -room on the 16th. Location on the 5th ave was great for shopping and sightseeing. Continental breakfast at the lobby bar was ok but the service was not systematically fast and clearly the service staff was partly poorly managed, unexperienced or understaffed compared to other 5 star places where we have stayed around the world. The service was however always friendly. Also the staff was not fully able to maintain cleanliness of the breakfast area throughout the morning.

Based on US (and NYC) standards the hotel was nearly perfect but compared to European and Asian standards not full five stars. I would suggest the hotel management as well as the staff spend some time to run through the end to end customer experience using e.g. Asian 5 star accomodation standards. In addition to telling verbally about all the services included and available to the customer at the hotel I would also place clear written instructions to the room. It's a bit inconvenient to have to separately ask from the spa what you need to bring with you to the spa floor. Spa (steamroom and sauna) however was clean and comfortable. Classic (Finnish) sauna should have a water bucket and a ladle to throw some water to the sauna stove. Without the water the sauna gets too dry and for that feels too hot. Also the steamroom produced bit too much steam for my taste.

Room service was quick and the food was good. We didn't unforntunately have time to visit the hotel restaurant due to preference to visit outside restaurants nearby. All in all a very good experience and we enjoyed our stay but for this price there is always room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sami U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I felt this was the best experience we have had in our many stays in NYC.
The staff was excellent in all areas.
Dining was exceptional ,rooms were spacious.
The staff is by far the most helpful in all areas.
Very impressed. We have found our home in NYC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdinolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Langham has some of the largest hotel rooms I've seen in NYC. We got upgraded to a suite which included a mini kitchen and living room on top of the already massive bedroom and bathroom. The beds were deliciously comfortable. We had two rollaway beds imported into the bedroom for our kids, and the room was spacious enough to accommodate everyone comfortably.

We didn't have a chance to try their room service or their restaurants, but at a glance, the prices on the room service menu were ridiculous ($25 for a pint of ice cream).

That they don't have a set check out time is portrayed as a "feature" of the hotel but it turned out to be a problem for us. When we arrived at 3 pm, our room wasn't ready, and we were told to come back later. Same thing happened when we came back at 4 pm, then at 5 pm. Turns out the previous guests had checked out late, since there is no set check out time, and the room had to be cleaned. (This is why we got the room upgrade.)

We'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,862 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing