We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly Recommended 5.5 STARS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #28 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended 5.5 STARS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel goes beyond the five star offerings. Our suite had a full kitchen, a small washer and dryer and the most luxurious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and there were baked goods left at the bedside in the evenings. The refrigerator was always fully stocked with complimentary beverages. There is a good coffee maker in the room, but if you like lattes or quick breakfasts there is a Prete a Manger across the street. The location is in easy walking distance to Times Square and a short walk to the subway.

The views were amazing. The staff was friendly and helpful. In particular, the concierge team was knowledgable and pleasant to talk with. Sometimes it is an excellent concierge that makes the hotel experience exceptional. It was so on this occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    241
    79
    35
    22
See reviews for
480
677
70
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I did a last minute booking for the hotel under the former name The Setai. It was a true find and very neat place. Sleek, clean, modern, large room with awesome bathroom and tub. The staff was terrific and it was an excellent introduction to New York. Price is not inexpensive but a wonderful experience. The mini bar is complimentary and the Nespresso machine is just awesome. SO many small surprises that added up to a huge success! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymcym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here on a business trip and really loved it. The room service was fantastic, Ai Fiori was amazing, and Measure (the restaurant/bar downstairs) was great too! We had a great view of Manhattan, and we loved the suite we stayed in. The maid service was excellent, and the rest of the staff was very friendly. I believe they have a jazz combo playing nightly at Measure, which was really fun. We got dinner/drinks down there and just relaxed and enjoyed the music, which was very impressive according to my jazzy piano playing husband. The hummus at Measure was the best we have ever had, and Ai Fiori was my favorite meal on our entire week long trip. The location of the hotel is wonderful, and the closest subway stop is only a couple blocks away. There is great shopping, the Empire State Building, the NY Public Library main branch, Grand Central, and more just within a short walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chingola, Central, Zambia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on the first leg of our honeymoon and it couldn't have been more perfect. The location was ideal, right in the heart of Manhattan and our room (we booked a deluxe) was incredibly spacious and so elegantly appointed, with all the mod cons you would expect from a hotel with such a distinguished address.

Our bed was so comfortable and the view was fantastic (we were quite high up). I particularly loved the bathroom which in addition to a lovely rain shower shower also has the most gigantic bath. There was even a tv in the bathroom mirror and and we loved using the Nespresso machine. The mini bar was well stocked and all complementary. Breakfast was amazing (the one meal we ate in the hotel every morning) and the staff were all so helpful and friendly, in particular Almira who made the most wonderful recommendations for places to eat and things to do.

The hotel also has a Michelin starred restaurant, spa, fitness centre, chill lounge and bar. Although we didn't take advantage of any of these fully, based on the rest of our experience I am sure they are great.

Langham Place (previously called The Setai) really was a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view. It really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiknaxZambia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel was amazing in every way.....from the reception, bed, to the concierge, and the support staff...fabulous! I would stay there every trip I made to New York! Next time I'll have to try the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We choose the Langham Place because it was a member of our Leaders Club affinity program. While we knew it would be a pleasant stay, we were blown away by the quality of the property and the service of the staff. - especially for a very, very busy hotel property. Our room was super comfortable and well maintained. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and helpful. We truly felt that they cared about our well being and experience. We travel to NYC for business at least once a year and they will have our business from now on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntheEdge05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family had the pleasure of staying at the Langham for a period of 4 nights over the recent Holiday. The staff and facilities were excellent and this hotel is certainly a jewel in the middle of Manhattan! The door staff was superb, as was the entire front desk and concierge staff. Of particular excellent service was Catherine You, who called and emailed notice as to check in times and otherwise.

The room was very generous in size the and the bathroom and dressing area was particularly spacious. The complimentary soft drinks and water, as well as turn down service (and nightly cookies/candies) were wonderful. The complimentary 4th of July cocktails in the lounge were particularly great!

The location of the Langham is central to all sights and attractions, making walking an easy option. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again as the attention to detail and quality of facilities is unequaled in NYC.

Room Tip: Enjoy all facets of this hotel while there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chipper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,126 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing