We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Langham Place, New York
Ranked #21 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

For our stay in NYC we chose again the Langham Place (formerly Setai). We enjoyed every single moment of it. At arrival we were very warm welcome and we felt like at home. We reserved directly with the reception. We were delighted and overwhelmed by the courtesy and professionalism of all the staff but especially we'd like to mention Manuela and thank her for all her kindness, perfection and reliability. She made our stay perfect!!! Everything was set in advance for us. We got to our room without any delay and as we got in, we could not believe our eyes. We got an upgrade to a wonderful corner suite with breathtaking views of midtown and fifth. The suite is huge and very comfortable, with the best electronic appliances as well hdtv. The service was very good and the personnel everytime available to fulfill our needs. At checkout, we'd like to thank Dwayne who helped us so much with the cab. Bottomline: best stay in town. For sure we'll coming back!!!

Room Tip: the quality and the value-for-price is great. we recommend suites in the higher floors, with floor-t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole_Claudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,222)
There are newer reviews for Langham Place, New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 2,222 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is located in a fantastic location walking distance to Bryan Park in 5th Avenue and 10 minutes walking to Time Square. The size of the rooms are amazing and very comfortable bathroom.
Staff is very polite, understanding the meaning of the word service.
The restaurant in the second floor is very good with a considerable size bar.
Honestly, I have passed in front of the hotel many times in the past but never realised about it. Definitely to recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

First impressions...doormen...polite,warm,organised,charming
Then the desk...Derek,outstanding...not rushed,interested,helpful
Then the room...a suite...spotless,huge,great Nespresso coffee maker,enormous bath,great spacious shower
Then the cleaning staff....helpful,polite,great job on the room
Then the concierge...knowledgeable,helpful,engaging
Just what you expect for a Lanham hotel.Meets the highest expectation
BUT...make sure they give you the bar menu before ordering...$24 for a non-deluxe brandy a little stiff.

Room Tip: Ask for Empire State view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAQMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Look no further. Rooms are huge and modern, as is the bathroom. Midtown is probably not the preferred location, so you will need to get onto the metro for most things, other than Empire State which is close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations while staying at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We regret you did not find our location suitable. As you know, we are walking distance to many locations and many iconic sites: The Empire State Building, Times Square, Rockefeller Center and more.
Our house car is available to all our guests for any drop off service on the island of Manhattan, on a complimentary basis.
We hope to welcome you back to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue in the future and thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Anne-J Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff is over the top friendly and hospitable! Every person went out of their way to greet us and they remembered us as we came and went.

We received a free comp upgrade to an amazing corner suite, which directly faced the Empire State Building...what a view!!! The room was very large, and more like an apartment layout!

Nesspresso machine in the room along with complimentary soda and nice assortment of waters restocked daily in the refrigerator. Fresh baked cookies in the room every night when they turned down the beds. Slippers & robes provided & rainfall shower (a real treat after a long day of walking). The bed & linens are amazing!

Easy walking distance to Time Square, Grand Central Station, shopping and subways. Highly recommend the location. You can walk to all the busy areas, and enjoy the quieter area of the hotel location for nice sleeping!

You will have no regrets if you select this hotel, other than you'll have to leave at some point...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked a suite to stay in Manhattan for our son's graduation from NYU. We checked in on Wednesday AM and checked out on Friday PM. As soon as we pulled up to the door, the bellhop warmly greeted us and our luggage was instantly removed from the car. We were running late to the first graduation ceremony, and we wanted to just leave the car and get to Yankee Stadium. We told the doorman and the receptionist that we were in a hurry, and could they help us with directions. They could not have been more enthusiastic and helpful!!! They got us on our way armed with several options for public transportation and cabs to get us where we needed to be. It was a very warm welcome.

When we returned and go into the room, wow! The room was magnificent, the beds perfect, and every encounter with staff was warm and welcoming. They could not have been more helpful.

As our first day unfolded, we had a change of sleeping plans, and we suddenly found our 19 year old son and our 13 year old daughter we going to have to stay with us (as opposed to their brother's apartment). I informed the receptionist and asked if we need another room. Instead, they offered that we had a suite with plenty of room, and why not bring in roll away beds. They even waived the extra fees for the beds. Again they could not be more gracious and accommodating.

My kids LOVED the roll away beds. These were not your usual roll away, but rather full sized, perfectly made, luxurious portable beds. All good.

Over the past year, we have stayed at the Ritz in London, the Sacher in Salzburg, The Beau Rivage in Lausanne and The Angleterre in Geneva. Our experience at the Langham is as good as any of those world class hotels.

We are so happy to have found this home away from home in Manhattan. I will be staying much more often in the future. I highly recommend that you try it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

For a high-end hotel on Fifth Avenue, my overall experience was "average". The facilities were nice, staff were friendly, and my room was spacious and clean....all very much expected of a hotel of this calibre, nothing really “wowed” me.

My big disappointment came when I left a pair of shoes in the hall closet. Three hours after checking out, I realized this and went back to the front desk to retrieve my shoes. The desk clerks were helpful, but in the end, after only three hours, my shoes had disappeared and were never turned in by either new guest who had occupied the room after me nor the housekeeping staff. I contacted the hotel every day for a week following my stay. but my shoes never appeared. This to me is very suspicious and I'm disappointed that my shoes were not returned. So a tip for you, regardless of the quality of hotel, be careful of where you put your personal belongings, they may disappear.

Room Tip: Be careful of where you put your personal belongings, they may disappear.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We truly regret that we were not able to locate your shoes. When any item is reported missing, our Security and Housekeeping Teams "sweep" the entire guest room in question.
Would you be able to provide us with a photo of your shoes, date of purchase and cost?
It would be my pleasure to further look into this matter. When an item has been left behind in a guest room specifically, we have been successful to locate them.
You may reach me at 212-613-8733 or at anne.maurice@langhamhotels.com

Sincerely,

Anne-J Maurice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 468 in New York City
4,096 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,018 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $422 - $1,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Place, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing