We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"As good as it gets"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #19 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Setai Fifth Avenue is one of the great hotels in NYC and in the world. Having celebrated a memorable 25th wedding anniversary there, why not use some poetic licence! “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways”:
The welcome, the courtesy, the professionalism and the friendliness of all the staff. The extraordinary comfort, facilities and amenities in the rooms, the complimentary soft drinks in room minibar, the Nespresso coffee machine, and even the best bath tub in any hotel anywhere! The most important thing when you are not sleeping in the comfort of your own bed – the extraordinarily comfortable Duxiana bed for the weary traveller in need of a great night’s sleep. How can anyone forget the transportation treat of the Maserati and the magnificent city views ?
The Setai Fifth Avenue provides you with a superlative hotel experience and it sets the benchmark for any hotel striving for perfection. Please do not read this review or any of the other glowing reviews in disbelief. It is more brilliant than the reviews. Simply, this hotel is “as good as it gets”. As I mentioned when we checked out - What a start to the next 25 years!
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with view of Empire State!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Expectation123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,502 - 1,508 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Being a smaller hotel made it feel more friendly and the staff always remembered you and took time to talk to you. Will certainly use it again if in New York.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

a great stay punctuated by incredible service, a great suite, a top class spa, nice bar and premium location, with a maserati as the house car. this is for sure one of NYCs top hotels and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I surprised my husband for his 40th birthday with a trip to NYC. I was referred to Setai from a travel contact and was so happy I listened to their suggestion. The staff was pleasant, consistently used our names, Brett showed us to our room and highlighted all the features for us and even told us how to use the nespresso machine. We stayed in the standard King room that didn't have a view but really we didn't care. The room was wonderful. Clean, contemporary sleek design. The bathroom and the mini bar was our favorite parts. As a bonus when we came back to our room after going to dinner, we came back to chocolate covered strawberries with "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate. It was sooooo nice and a wonderful addition to our stay. Room service for breakfast was perfect!! They setup a table for the 2 of us. We were a little slow eating though enjoying our morning so they were ready for us before we were done but they quickly apologized and told us to take our time. The food was delicious!! The cookies left on our pillows each night was another favorite of mine (I have a sweet tooth!). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! The staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I simply can't imagine a finer hotel experience. From staff, to room, to facilities, to location, to cleanliness, to ambiance, you name it. The Setai is truly a 5-star experience. Also try the amazing restaurant - Ai Fiori. It is transcendent!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCD7131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a great hotel in a wonderful location for exploring the city on foot. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was a perfect space with great views. The free soft drinks and nespresso coffee were a lovely touch, the beds so comfortable you would want to stay in them all day and the bathroom simply stunning.

All staff could not have been more helpful, I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

What a shame there isn't a bar at a higher level as this would be the icing on the cake with the wonderful views.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband, Goddaughter and I stayed here for three nights in September 2012. The first thing I noticed when we entered the hotel was the scent. The Setai has the most beautiful, calming scent that to this day I think about! The staff was sincerely kind and helpful.
I had purchased tickets on line at home for the Empire State Building. Somehow, I lost them. I called the front desk to see if I could check our car that they had parked for us. They volunteered to do it for us. No luck. The concierge gave us tickets!
Ohhhh...AND they had a complimentary Maserati with driver available to take us where we wanted! We did stay in a suite. I don't know if Maserati was for all guests or guests in suites? It was really convenient and cool! The driver was so knowledgeable. He gave us some great ideas of little out of the was places to eat.
We got late night room service dessert as a treat for my goddaughter. Everything was fresh and delicious.
The room was immaculate and very modern. Our room had very high ceilings. There was a tv in the mirror in the bathroom. Cool!
I can not wait to go back to the Setai!!!!

Room Tip: While our room was perfect for us, it did not have a view. It doesn't matter to us, but if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 469 in New York City
4,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,747 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#26 of 469 in New York City
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, Fifth Avenue

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $397 - $1,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Place, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing