We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent hotel in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #27 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a great hotel in a wonderful location for exploring the city on foot. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival which was a perfect space with great views. The free soft drinks and nespresso coffee were a lovely touch, the beds so comfortable you would want to stay in them all day and the bathroom simply stunning.

All staff could not have been more helpful, I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

What a shame there isn't a bar at a higher level as this would be the icing on the cake with the wonderful views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjg1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    245
    79
    35
    22
See reviews for
493
688
71
350
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband, Goddaughter and I stayed here for three nights in September 2012. The first thing I noticed when we entered the hotel was the scent. The Setai has the most beautiful, calming scent that to this day I think about! The staff was sincerely kind and helpful.
I had purchased tickets on line at home for the Empire State Building. Somehow, I lost them. I called the front desk to see if I could check our car that they had parked for us. They volunteered to do it for us. No luck. The concierge gave us tickets!
Ohhhh...AND they had a complimentary Maserati with driver available to take us where we wanted! We did stay in a suite. I don't know if Maserati was for all guests or guests in suites? It was really convenient and cool! The driver was so knowledgeable. He gave us some great ideas of little out of the was places to eat.
We got late night room service dessert as a treat for my goddaughter. Everything was fresh and delicious.
The room was immaculate and very modern. Our room had very high ceilings. There was a tv in the mirror in the bathroom. Cool!
I can not wait to go back to the Setai!!!!

Room Tip: While our room was perfect for us, it did not have a view. It doesn't matter to us, but if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am an Interior Designer and very "picky" about where I stay while traveling. Cleanliness, design, bed linens all so important to me. My experience at The Setai NY was amazing. The staff was extremely helpful, it could not have been more perfect! When I arrived my room was upgraded from a standard to a superior for no reason.....Made for a wonderful experience. Also, the flowers in the lobby were out of this world gorgeous!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teriby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved it from the minute we walked in. Everyone was so friendly. The rooms where so amazing. I slept till 10am the next day. I seriously could not get out of bed, in NYC! The Lux bed are the most comfortable beds. We loved the complementary mini bar, nice touch! Food service was fast and delish. We did the Aqua Lounge for $50 and it was a fun way to hang out with my friend. The spa was well kept and very nice. I want to move there....forever. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yayajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here in Feb this year, it was raining when we arrived so we were upgraded to a huge room - great news!

The rooms are stunning, immaculate, lovely walk in wardrobe and huge bath tub! The location is great too, a few buildings up from the Empire State.

The bar on the ground floor felt a little soulless though, it could definitely be made to be a bit more special - with nicer furniture/design, even a log fire. Bit of a shame as it made you not want to hang around at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExcursionHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Wow...The Setai Hotel is situated perfectly in the Heart of New York on Fifth Avenue.
The Hotel is new and the rooms are lavishly large with modern Italian styling, comfortable beds with fantastic en suite bathroom facilities.
We stayed for 4 nights recently in a Double Deluxe King Room booked through an agency in England and the package included breakfast which we enjoyed in our room every morning over looking 5th Ave.
The staff from the maids to management all have your best interests at heart and often go out of their way to display it.
Positives....Everything
Negatives.....Honestly we are struggling to write anything at all.

Room Tip: I honestly think if you can afford to stay here then you owe it to yourself to do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auris246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights with wife in a studio suite.

Positives:

Rooms: Very nicely done, spacious by NY standards, with all the amenities. Decor is modern (somewhat of a Zen concept). The only two nitpicks here would be that the lighting is dim, even with all the lights on, and views aren't that great.

Service: Top notch, gracious, friendly, and knowledgeable. They really go out of the way to make sure your stay is comfortable. I've been writing reviews on this site for a long time and don't usually spend much time talking about the service (wife and I generally prefer to be left alone), but here it's worth a mention.

F&B: Good bar, but not very private since there seem to be many non-guests. Breakfast was decent, didn't have chance to try dinner.

Negatives:

Location: Hotel is on 37th and Fifth, a few blocks from Korea Town, and quite honestly not the best-looking part of town. I used to live in NY for 15 yrs so I know my way around the city, and this location is not going to be to everyone's liking. It's somewhat centrally located (not that far from wherever you're going), but then again it's really not walkable from anything (other than K-Town and perhaps Times Square if you're in the mood for a long walk). I was at this hotel for a function and I liked this hotel a lot, but for us location wasn't ideal since we like to eat and hang out in SoHo and West Village. If your interests take you more uptown, similar concerns. I think this hotel's location is best suited for people who are relatively new to NYC, whose itinerary takes them all over the place. Otherwise, our personal preference is to stay downtown near our interests, or go for something upscale near Central Park

Overall, this is a solid choice for a trip to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,176 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#18 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,183 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#59 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing