We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Chic, with Good Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue to your Saves list
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% off! BOOK NOW!
Ranked #24 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Modern, Chic, with Good Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights with wife in a studio suite.

Positives:

Rooms: Very nicely done, spacious by NY standards, with all the amenities. Decor is modern (somewhat of a Zen concept). The only two nitpicks here would be that the lighting is dim, even with all the lights on, and views aren't that great.

Service: Top notch, gracious, friendly, and knowledgeable. They really go out of the way to make sure your stay is comfortable. I've been writing reviews on this site for a long time and don't usually spend much time talking about the service (wife and I generally prefer to be left alone), but here it's worth a mention.

F&B: Good bar, but not very private since there seem to be many non-guests. Breakfast was decent, didn't have chance to try dinner.

Negatives:

Location: Hotel is on 37th and Fifth, a few blocks from Korea Town, and quite honestly not the best-looking part of town. I used to live in NY for 15 yrs so I know my way around the city, and this location is not going to be to everyone's liking. It's somewhat centrally located (not that far from wherever you're going), but then again it's really not walkable from anything (other than K-Town and perhaps Times Square if you're in the mood for a long walk). I was at this hotel for a function and I liked this hotel a lot, but for us location wasn't ideal since we like to eat and hang out in SoHo and West Village. If your interests take you more uptown, similar concerns. I think this hotel's location is best suited for people who are relatively new to NYC, whose itinerary takes them all over the place. Otherwise, our personal preference is to stay downtown near our interests, or go for something upscale near Central Park

Overall, this is a solid choice for a trip to NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    230
    77
    32
    22
See reviews for
465
662
67
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is location! Rooms are very nice: big, clean, comfortable. Hotel staff is also nice. The only reason i put 4 of 5 is probably service. Nobody has met us in the restaurant for the breakfast, so we were kind of lost. We were highly recommended to take a hotel city car, but we tried to do that we found out that there was only 1 car and it was gone and actually at 9pm it is pretty much done for the day. In general, for sure, nice hotel. I would recommend it to stay in

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC metropolitan area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A luxury hotel. Priced like a luxury hotel, service, staff recognize this and behave accordingly. Recommend it if you need a luxury hotel near the heartbeat of the city. They treat you right at the front door, and everywhere else in the hotel. Great for a special invent and you want to remain in the ciy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdcnyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I am a frequent traveler for leisure and work - and have stayed in hotels around the world and many luxury hotels in New York. It is always essential for me to find a place that will be comfortable to stay in, have a great workout facility, have modern features to allow for work on the road -- and frankly because I am away from home so much, excellent service. I am pleased to say that the Setai Fifth Avenue meets all of these expectations -- and on the service point exceeds even my very high expectations. The staff is phenomenal - including head concierge Brian F. They make you feel at home and treat you like you are a celebrity. In addition, the rooms are beautifully decorated in modern Italian neutral palette. The suites feature kitchens and washers and dryers, making it great for long-term stays or families. Spa on property is also a great feature. Michael is fantastic masseuse. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Book reservation through Fine Hotel and Resorts program or the Leading Hotels of the World for free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and i stay here around half a dozen times a year. We have stayed in pretty much most of the 5 star hotels in NYC ranging from The Plaza, New York Palace, Mandarin Oriental, Ritz carlton to name a few.... hands down The Setai is the best.

From the minute we exit the cab we are always greeted with a smile (and now a hug), everything is taken care of even down to personal requests such as more coke cans and less other soft drinks in the fridge.

They always escort me to my room and carry my shopping bags no matter how busy they are.

My favourite was a casual chat with a dooman about my love of american cookies and how every time i visit i find cookie stores. Within 15 minutes a complimentary plate of freshly baked cookies and a glass of milk was delivered with a note saying "now you don't have to find them, enjoy!"

Rooms service is always amazing. Healthy and naughty options always available, cooked with the freshest ingredients. Always delivered within 30 minutes, and if you stay for as long as we do they even remember what you like for breakfast!

The Italian restaurant is worth a visit too, highly recommended. The food and service here is consistently excellent.

Overall, the Setai is in my humble opinion is the best hotel in NYC and dare I say it, it has a lasting memory of being the best no matter where we travel in the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked the Setai for our 5th Wedding Anniversary and from start to finish it was an experience to be had. The service was impeccable and nothing like I have ever received. Newspaper to your door every morning, arranging of taxi's at a drop of a hat.
Il Fiori the restaurant was also fabulous. Although we never had dinner in the michilin star standard restaurant, we did have Breakfast each morning which was truly out of this world.

Located a block down from the Empire State Building and 7 minute walk from Times Square, it is in an ideal location for shopping and sightseeing.
Not really anything special in the form of views from the Hotel but if you are looking for views..go to a hotel in Tuscany or Florence, Italy!

I would highly recommend the Setai and just hope that whenever you get there you will have the privilege to meet the best bellman in all of NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Booked the Setai for my brother's honeymoon
really top hotel
I had booked a studio room and they were upgraded because of the honeymoon
the spa (expensive !) was good as well
ggod choice; the hotel was so nice they even had dinner in their room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariesaphir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,070 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#13 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,993 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection...
#39 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing