We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite First Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite First Class Hotel”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Setai was a great escape from the crowds of New York City. God location in midtown. The Staff were helpful and had good attitudes. Our room was modern medium size but bar was nice extra with soda and water free. Large bathroom with extra tv in bath. Breakfast wasn't cheap but was very good. I would be happy to return to The Setai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    274
    91
    38
    23
See reviews for
561
772
80
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very good experience in deed - fantastic hotel - great sized rooms - lovely welcoming bar with Jazz played nightly and reasonably priced drinks and food - great location on 5th avenue - excellant staff and concierge services - managed to get us in a 2 Michelin star restaurant on a Saturday night with the same days’ notice - which in NYC as you will know is hard work! Make sure you take a trip round town in the "Town Car" - not your average, Maserati Quattroporte. Due to flight issues and snow back in the UK the front desk went out of their way to help and contact the airport and extended our check out time without hesitation which was very much appreciated ! I believe it’s just been bought by the Langham Group and I can see why !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Empire State - its quite impressive at night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesemolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our jazz at Bar on Fifth and were able to take advantage of our Maserati house car.
We offer on going special weeked offers; please do come back and visit and let me know if I can ever assist with future reservations.

Many thanks for your comments.

Anne-J Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Setai for 1 week in December 2012. I must say, I was a bit apprehensive as we stayed in the Setai in Miami a few years ago and yes it was lovely, but there were a few things that i was quite disappointed with. But not the case here. From the moment you enter the the people are friendly, its clean and modern, theres music (piano mainly) from the lounge and they had a lovely big tree in reception. The room was grand! We stayed in a corner room on the 11th floor, it was huge, walk through wardrobe area, beautiful large bathroom with a very roomy shower and windows overlooking the balcony. The balcony was really big and even though it was freezing it was nice to be able to open the doors get some air in the room and look over the hustle and bustle of 5th avenue from above.
Nespresso coffee machine, and soft drinks included - i was sold!
The one complaint I have to make is there was a draft coming from the balcony doors, we called someone who taped up various bits of it, which did make it much better. He, however, mentioned that other people had complained and nothing had been done - an oversight as New York winters are pretty cold and it did get quite chilly until the taping!
We had breakfast included which was the continental- very reasonable choice. They also gave us the flexibility of choosing whatever we wanted from the a la carte menu and we only got charged above the continental breakfast price. A lot of hotels would not let you do that.
Any tickets, restaurant information etc was always met with a smile, lots of information and personal experience.
The gym was decently equipped and a really good size.
We would definitely stay here again and great access to all of New York with a choice of subway lines only a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: cant remember the exact number but it was the corner room (1100, or 1010??) on the 11th floor with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Biscuit1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed hear with my wife for three nights in January 2013, the room on the 9th floor was of an excellent standard, bed was very comfortable, bathroom well appointed. Mini bar with complimentry soft drinks.
Breakfast was of a very good standard and service was excellent. The late check out at no extra charge was a bous on the last day.

Room Tip: Our room on the 9th floor had no view at all just a concreate wall (room 919)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having stayed in quite a few NYC hotels on business and for leisure, the setai has stood out time and time again. The staff makes the difference. Always warm, helpful, professional. Luxurious, large rooms by NYC standards. Coffee machines, well stocked fridge with complimentary beverages. Large, well equipped fitness centre, first class in house italian restaurant that serves amazing breakfasts. Apparently the hotel has been sold- I hope they are able to keep the same high standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Swanky mid-town hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are huge by NYC standards. Well decorated. In room coffee machine and complimentary water/soda. Staff was very very friendly and helpful. Did not use the fitness center, but peeked in and it was very large with a number of exercise machines. Truly enjoyed my stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REHTChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I travel to NY several times a year for business and my first choice hotel is always the Setai. Over the years i have stayed in most if not all of the top end hotels in mid town and I think the Setai beats all the others hands down. I travel quite a bit as part of my job and I can say this is the only hotel I actually look forward to visiting Highlights for me that make the Setai special:

The hotel is not pretending to be a nightclub.

The rooms are well decorated and of good size for NYC, it actually feels like home away from home.

All the staff are exceptional. they are always polite and co-operative.

The bar is sophisticated and well laid out. Service is great.

The food through the hotel (Al Fiori, Bar on 5th and room service) are all v good.

I have stayed here a dozen or so times and can not find anything to complain about. It really is by far and away the best mid town hotel. Yes, The Setai does charge more than other hotels in the vicinity but you do get what you pay for, as the Asian proverb goes "if you pay peanuts you get monkeys". I can promise you there are no monkeys at The Setai.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RST1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,897 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing